16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It came out perfect. Later I added some parsley and cheese and used it as stuffing for pierogies.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsPia August 01, 2012

It's the easiest way to do mashed potatoes. It was perfect. Thanks foodtvfan :) Made for the best of 2011 tag game

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette February 06, 2012

Tasty, quick, easy technique. Hand mashed them as my casserole container was too shallow for a mixer-would have had flying mashed potatoes instead. I like that these did not have sour cream or cream cheese in them. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal November 10, 2011

This was a wonderful recipe! My husband pouts every time I make mashed potatoes from a box so I figured I would give this a shot since I didn't have time to boil potatoes. He never knew that they were from the microwave! I did not have any problems with them being sticky (or maybe that's just how I like them and I didn't notice) and I used a hand mixer to smash them up. My son who is very anti-homemade potatoes said that he would eat these any time. I did wind up adding some more milk and a bit more butter than the recipe called for, but I think I also used more potatoes. Either way, this was a great recipe and I will be using it from now on when I make mashed potatoes (including for Thanksgiving dinner when the extended family comes to town for dinner!). Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness November 08, 2011

These are very easy to make. I found that you needed a little more liquid since the potatoes are not boiled in water. When the potatoes were tender I just put the milk and butter in bowl and microwaved 1 minute. Hand mashed them and then onto our plates. I told my son, I made homemade mashed potatoes. The expression on his face was like he did not believe me. I don't understand why, I just made mashed potatoes in May of 2007, I remember it well. lol But with this recipe in hand, I will be making mashed potatoes more often. Made for Please Review My Recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J August 01, 2011

Very easy to do and tasty results! I added garlic powder (as I do with all our mashed potatoes), and I used a crock with a lid and added an extra 5-minute heat cycle to compensate. These turn out very starchy/sticky, which has more to do with the prep method than anything else; without the water to boil-out and drain-off the starch you get mashed potatoes that are more thick and sticky than fluffy. But they tasted great! Top-notch recipe! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grungezombie July 13, 2010

I loved making mashed potatoes so quickly and all in one dish!!! I used 3 extra-large potatoes and followed the cooking method as written. I drained off any liquid and added the butter, but used sour cream in place of the milk as DD was here for dinner and this is how she likes them done. I served it with a beef roast, gravy and corn on the cob. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful and easy recipe. Made for PRMR Tag Game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 June 19, 2010

Hopefully, I'm not the only who is time-challenged when it comes to the kitchen. I don't usually have a lot of time to cook, but I also never seem to organize my time well & end up with the main dish almost cooked & the sides just starting - ha! This was so easy. Not as creamy as I would have liked, as I found I had to add a bit more milk for my taste (maybe this is because I halved the recipe?). However, I wouldn't hesitate to make this over my regular/favorite mashed potatoes recipe because it is just so easy to make (& tastes great, too!). I didn't even bother to peel the skins--just cleaned 'em real good before cooking. Another winner, foodtvfan - Thank you!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud January 27, 2010

Very easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I used my hand masher instead of my mixer. We all enjoyed these and I enjoyed the ease in making them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol December 29, 2009

Fab! Very easy and 'mess-free' mash doesn't seem as fluffy as regualar-done-in-a-pan mash, but will see what son and hubby say when the sausages are ready! Thanks for that (have just uploaded a photo too)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katybean August 03, 2009
Microwave Mashed Potatoes