Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Microwave Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Microwave Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 01, 2012

      It came out perfect. Later I added some parsley and cheese and used it as stuffing for pierogies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      It's the easiest way to do mashed potatoes. It was perfect. Thanks foodtvfan :) Made for the best of 2011 tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      Tasty, quick, easy technique. Hand mashed them as my casserole container was too shallow for a mixer-would have had flying mashed potatoes instead. I like that these did not have sour cream or cream cheese in them. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      This was a wonderful recipe! My husband pouts every time I make mashed potatoes from a box so I figured I would give this a shot since I didn't have time to boil potatoes. He never knew that they were from the microwave! I did not have any problems with them being sticky (or maybe that's just how I like them and I didn't notice) and I used a hand mixer to smash them up. My son who is very anti-homemade potatoes said that he would eat these any time. I did wind up adding some more milk and a bit more butter than the recipe called for, but I think I also used more potatoes. Either way, this was a great recipe and I will be using it from now on when I make mashed potatoes (including for Thanksgiving dinner when the extended family comes to town for dinner!). Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      These are very easy to make. I found that you needed a little more liquid since the potatoes are not boiled in water. When the potatoes were tender I just put the milk and butter in bowl and microwaved 1 minute. Hand mashed them and then onto our plates. I told my son, I made homemade mashed potatoes. The expression on his face was like he did not believe me. I don't understand why, I just made mashed potatoes in May of 2007, I remember it well. lol But with this recipe in hand, I will be making mashed potatoes more often. Made for Please Review My Recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      Very easy to do and tasty results! I added garlic powder (as I do with all our mashed potatoes), and I used a crock with a lid and added an extra 5-minute heat cycle to compensate. These turn out very starchy/sticky, which has more to do with the prep method than anything else; without the water to boil-out and drain-off the starch you get mashed potatoes that are more thick and sticky than fluffy. But they tasted great! Top-notch recipe! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      I loved making mashed potatoes so quickly and all in one dish!!! I used 3 extra-large potatoes and followed the cooking method as written. I drained off any liquid and added the butter, but used sour cream in place of the milk as DD was here for dinner and this is how she likes them done. I served it with a beef roast, gravy and corn on the cob. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful and easy recipe. Made for PRMR Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Hopefully, I'm not the only who is time-challenged when it comes to the kitchen. I don't usually have a lot of time to cook, but I also never seem to organize my time well & end up with the main dish almost cooked & the sides just starting - ha! This was so easy. Not as creamy as I would have liked, as I found I had to add a bit more milk for my taste (maybe this is because I halved the recipe?). However, I wouldn't hesitate to make this over my regular/favorite mashed potatoes recipe because it is just so easy to make (& tastes great, too!). I didn't even bother to peel the skins--just cleaned 'em real good before cooking. Another winner, foodtvfan - Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Very easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I used my hand masher instead of my mixer. We all enjoyed these and I enjoyed the ease in making them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Fab! Very easy and 'mess-free' mash doesn't seem as fluffy as regualar-done-in-a-pan mash, but will see what son and hubby say when the sausages are ready! Thanks for that (have just uploaded a photo too)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Thank you for sharing this recipe. I am so sick of boil overs, too!! Plus the extra time & space on my stove that it takes up. I only used one large potato, since my husband is the only one who eats them. I used a microwave safe bowl with a vented lid, and microwaved for 4 minutes. I should have done it for 5 minutes since the potatoes weren't quite soft enough to mash easily, but he still liked & ate them! I used about 1/4 cup skim milk & 1 tbsp light butter, and added salt & pepper to taste. I had to add a little more milk for creaminess. What a time-saver! Thanks so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Easiest mashed potatoes I've ever made, and they came out great! No more pots boiling over on the stove, this was easy and tasty!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Very yummy mash, I don't normally use my microwave for cooking (only reheating) so it was good to find a recipe that Little Miss (DD) enjoys and I could get it to her plate quickly. We used lactose free milk and margarine so Little Miss is able to eat it. Everyone enjoyed it but next time I may cut down on the butter/marg. Thank you foodtvfan

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      This is a awesome dish to make on a very hot day when you still want some comfort food. My DH was begging me for some homemade Mashed Potatoes but I just didn't feel like heating up the kitchen. He loved these!! They are very easy to make. I will be making these again!! This is a keeper, Thank for posting this foodtvfan!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2014

      Than you, thank you, thank you for posting this recipe! I LOVE mashed potatoes. I HATE making mashed potatoes...until now. This was so simple and fast, not to mention wonderful! This will be the ONLY way I make mashed potatoes from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Microwave Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (242 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 367.2
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    31%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 34.7 mg
    11%
    Sodium 135.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.2 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites