116 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

5 stars for ease of preparation, but I thought it was too salty and also a bit too tart from the lemon juice, so I can't give it a full 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cali_love May 05, 2009

I skipped adding the water since our frozen broccoli seems to have enough moisture in it to steam properly. I will also have to play with the proportions to get them right for just the two of us. It was really tasty, though, and we gobbled a bunch down, while D suggested we could try it on the stovetop as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle from Central Time April 27, 2009

Amazing! I am on a crazy detox and since I discovered this recipe (last week), I have made this recipe 6 times. This is one I will make even after the detox is over. It is so easy and everyone seems to love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annette NC April 26, 2009

I made this delicious broccoli side dish as part of my Easter spread, and what a crowd pleaser! I loved the zip of the lemon juice and would even add a bit more next time. It doesn't get much easier than this and the broccoli was just perfect. This is a keeper for sure! It accompanied my chicken francese just perfectly. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PatriotsGirl April 14, 2009

I made this tonight for my Passover seder. Left out th salt and red peepr flakes. I used garlic powder. It was very good, but next time I will cut back on the lemon juice as it was a tad too tart for my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realst8Ace April 09, 2009

I really enjoyed this. I halved the amount of lemon juice, just as a personal preference. I didn't add salt, instead opting for a splash of soy sauce, since we were pairing this with an Asian-themed dinner. I tried it before adding the soy sauce, though, and it was really good that way as well. This is a quick and simple side dish that really would complement many different foods.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen March 14, 2009

This was good, plain, and very simple to prepare. Great to make when you're out of fresh vegetables and in need of something green on the plate. My only issue was that the garlic never lost the raw flavor. Next time I will cook along with the broccoli. Paired this side with grilled salmon and herbed rice. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oldbern January 18, 2009

Delicious! Took PaulaG's suggestion and cooked the garlic along with the broccoli (I never add water when cooking broccoli in the microwave), then tossed with 1 T olive oil and 1 T fresh lemon juice. Sprinkled with Kosher salt. Will definitely try with red pepper next time. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 29, 2008

Nice recipe. I made this to go along with lemon rice and grilled fish, and it complimented it all very nicely. So simple and yet so tasty, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour December 09, 2008

Super recipe! Loved the ease of prep and cooking method and had wonderful flavor. I used fresh broccoli as I don't really care for frozen. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama October 21, 2008
Microwave Lemon Garlic Broccoli