116 Reviews

I made this recipe almost exactly as specified and it got rave reviews from 3 broccoli HATERS! I did used minced garlic from a jar rather than either powder or mincing my own. I chose to use the optional red pepper flakes and I highly recommend them. This had SO much flavor and actually made me *want* to eat the broccoli (I'd bought it to be healthy, I honestly think that plain broccoli tastes like lawn clippings). It was so good I made it again the very next night but with only 1 tbsp of olive oil and a bit more lemon juice. Result was the same...delicious. Overall I suggest only 1 tbsp of oil and adding the red pepper flakes.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebookworm March 20, 2013

We loved this. I did not change ingredients, only technique. Cooked the frozen broccoli in the microwave for six minutes; while it cooked I chopped the heated the evoo in a frying pan and added chopped garlic. When the microwave was done I added the broccoli to the oil and garlic with the red pepper flakes. I squeezed fresh lemon juice into the broccoli dish and tossed the hot sauteed mixture in it. The flavors were perfect together!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rutharriet December 12, 2013

I think this has just the right amount of lemon to garlic and it is so easy. I used fresh broccoli and left out the red pepper flakes. I loved the ability to use fresh garlic and not get the raw garlic taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 April 16, 2011

Well this was fast and easy! I will use this recipe for those rushed dinner nights (with sports nights, that happens a lot!). I used the garlic powder. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood April 15, 2011

This will become our newest fav broc recipe. Quick and tasty!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay April 14, 2011

Quick and easy... loved the garlic flavors. Made for My review tag; Dreamer in Ontario.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby April 08, 2011

Delicious! Even my picky 13 year old ate it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KansasChef April 06, 2011

Excellent way to fix broccoli. I used fresh broccoli and cooked it in my steamer (rice cooker). I did not add any salt or red pepper flakes, but I did let the mixture sit while the broccoli was steaming. The garlic flavor really came through and made other seasoning unnecessary (for me). My kids weren't overly impressed, but my husband and I both enjoyed it very much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F March 21, 2011

Very nice way to liven up broccoli! I used frozen broccoli, fresh lemon juice and left out the pepper flakes. Next time I'll use fresh broccoli and include the pepper. Made for Best of 2010 Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario February 23, 2011

Great and Easy! I don't love broccoli. We are trying to eat healthier foods and I don't love to cook. So, this is perfect. It is flavorful and so easy to make. My husband liked it to. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngieBee February 03, 2011
Microwave Lemon Garlic Broccoli