15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

THIS RECIPE DOES NOT GET FIRM! I followed the directions verbatim. Triple checked my ingredients. Everything was spot on, but I have a dish full of runny chocolate mixture. I could not even freeze it hard -- it stayed runny. It tastes fantastic, but is runny goo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SouthernCookinChef November 28, 2014

To those whos chocolate seized up, try adding the marshmallo first, that cools the mixture enough that the chocolate wont burn or seize up. I have used this recipe for years and the uploaders note is important, ive noticed many people complaining about this recipe on other sites, and its because newer microwaves are much more powerful than the ones used years ago when this variation was originally created. Love the way you have it all laid out here, for most the microwave version is a footnote, (no kitty, im typing, not trying to play!!, its taken me five rewrites thanks to my kitten, spot

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie M. October 20, 2013

Wonderful! I am terrible with cooking candy to a certain temperature on the stove, so I was glad to find this recipe! This tastes just wonderful and I love how firm it gets at room temperature. I have a new 1800 watt microwave, and I cooked the butter mixture for a total of 9 minutes, stirring 3 or 4 times. I used 1% milk instead of evaporated. And instead of all chocolate chips, I used some Reese's peanut butter chips and some semi-sweet chocolate. (You really need a little more PB than chocolate for a great taste.) Delicious fudge!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn December 14, 2011

i followed the directions exactly, but when i added the chocolate .. the whole thing turned in to a lump of chocolate sand - no moisture what-so-ever... what did I do wrong?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef "just learning" December 09, 2009

I didn't find this fudge as creamy as other recipes I've tried. My favorite recipe so far from Zaar is #48600. I also didn't find this recipe that much easier than stovetop. To me, it was about the same. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabinKat January 18, 2009

I will never go back to the traditional Fantasy Fudge recipe. This fudge is fabulous and so quick and easy. Made a batch and had very little left after our neighbors tasted it. they kept coming back for more. I used milk choc chips as we don't care for too much chocolate. Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladonna helms best known as nana December 12, 2008

At first I thought this was going to be grainy, even though I followed the directions to a "T" (unusual for me!). However, once it had cooled enough to cut into squares and I got to try it, I found it was EXACTLY like the stovetop version I used to sweat and slave over--but no more! This is definitely a winner! Thanks so much for posting, Joyce! UPDATE: this has been getting very good reviews from everyone who has tried it--thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve February 15, 2008

I too used to make this on the stove and several years ago a friend told me how to do it in the microwave. If you didn't know any difference people would think you cooked it on the stove. You can make several batches in the time it takes to make one. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathie's Kafe December 28, 2007

I have made this on the stove before and I would say that the microwave makes it turn out better! This fudge is the perfect consistency and the taste is out of this world. I will never make it on the stove again. Thanks so much! KCShell

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KCShell December 27, 2007

This is essentially the same recipe my husband uses on the stove. This is easier, and equally delicious. However, I found it made a 9" by 9" pan rather than 9" by 13". I recommend highly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammamia #2 December 22, 2007
Microwave Fantasy Fudge