13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow. I never thought that I could ever be impressed by oatmeal 'cause, let's face it, oatmeal is usually just not that impressive. But you have gone and done what I thought was impossible. This was really good. My only complaint is that the apples (I used honeycrisp.) were a bit too sour for me. Then again, I am very sensitive to sourness; so, I wouldn't say that's your fault. The only thing I can think of that might make this taste any better is if the apples were sweetened and cooked before being added to the oatmeal. But then, it probably wouldn't be as healthy. But I might try it sometime anyway. :) Thanks! UPDATE: I made this again today, but I didn't have any apple juice. So, I pureed 1/4 of an apple with the water to make my own juice (for just one serving). Since I am watching what I eat, I used a packet of Splenda and 1/4 teaspoon molasses. And it still tastes great! Neither my husband or I could really even taste the Splenda in it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire December 31, 2013

Way too much effort for me in the morning although it was very yum! TY kitty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aleigha Nicole April 26, 2010

Yummy breakfast this morning, thank you for posting! I used Johnagold apples with great results. I also used apple cider instead of apple juice; worked well. Mine was cooked in 3.5 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride November 21, 2009

Tastes absolutely wonderful! I would recommend cooking it for 2 min in the microwave and letting it cool for 1 min. This recipe is very simple and easy to make, and tastes fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myfavoritenumberis2 August 10, 2009

I just made this. It was really good! I used 2 apples and only 1 tsp. of brown sugar. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hot Pepper November 09, 2008

Very yummy! The apple taste was so nice. I may try heating the liquid and adding oatmeal to it after (like I do with oatmeal packets), because I don't like my oatmeal lumpy. Thanks for the great easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisajean77 November 05, 2008

I loved this recipe! I'm an any time of year oatmeal eater. And this recipe just took 1st with me! Thanks for such a great post!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
picklzon2 August 20, 2008

If it says "kittencal", you know it's good!! Thanks for this and so many others!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltbunny March 11, 2008

I doubled this recipe and thank goodness I did! 4 of us ate it all and wished there was more. I followed the recipe exactly except I made it on the stove-top. I will make this again - delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandyberry January 14, 2008

MMM MMM Good, followed the recipe exactly (skim milk) and it turned out great! We didn't peel the apples, but they tasted wonderful, peeling would probably have been more trouble than it's worth. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikey & ev January 13, 2008
Microwave Creamy Apple-Cinnamon Oatmeal