144 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been meaning to make this for a couple of years, but never did...then one day I had company coming for dinner...and my oven quit working! I decided to give this a try to replace my original dessert...and it was a huge success. Everyone was tickled by the novelty of it and it tasted great. Plus it took a lot less work and time that my original dessert idea. I think I might try this for our next school bakesale!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Backwoods Foodie August 31, 2012

The perfect amount for one person to not over do it. I liked the flavor and liked the consistency. I made a quick glaze to pour over it because I prefer my brownies with a glaze.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blacksky_ms October 20, 2011

Not bad at all. Considering it's a quick fix and from the microwave, this is definitely worth 5 stars. I was concerned with the 2Tb of oil/butter so I only opted for 1Tb and it still came out moist. Probably no need for the 2Tb really. I WILL be making this again for my emergency chocolate fix. It'd taste even better if last minute you folded in a few chocolate chips then nuke it. Omg, gotta try that. Thanks! Almost forgot, if your microwave's output is 1150W only cook for 60 sec on high power. It's perfect!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Veganista January 03, 2010

Added about a tablespoon extra of sugar and some melted dark chocolate. I'm pretty sure it's the definition of an orgasm.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane Crocker November 17, 2013

I really wanted something to satisfy my sweet tooth, with little effort. And that I got. I microwaved it and changed the recipe to make it a bit healthier.

I used 3 tablespoons of water and only 1 tablespoon of oil(I used smart balance vegetable oil)
I added 3 dark chocolate chips to the middle
Instead of using plain sugar, I used splenda baking blend, which is part sugar part splenda. And because it has a tendency to be so sweet, I only used 2 tablespoons of it.

What I got was a gooey center(from the chocolate chips) in 1 minute and 10 seconds without all of the guilt from the original recipe. It was super rich, i don't think I could have eaten another bite. Awesome! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ncbeckster June 20, 2012

4 Stars for taste when right out of the oven, wonderful chocolaty richness, but after setting for awhile got so hard we couldn't eat it and that was a real shame as we loved it. I'll make it again but will make sure we eat it straight out of the micro. A very nice, fast treat when you are craving just a single serving (don't want to much sitting around)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 June 16, 2012

Delicious! This recipe is so easy to make with ingredients on hand. You can easily substitute milk for water, other flavorings for vanilla, and canola (or other) oil for the butter. It's also good with a sprinkle of cinnamon in the flour. I find that spraying the inside of the mug first with non-stick spray really helps with clean-up. I also cut down the sugar in favor of a more "bitter" chocolate. In my microwave it was ready in 55-60 seconds. When in doubt, check it early. It will continue to cook a little as it cools. The recipe is also a good choice for those who cannot or select not to eat eggs, or for those concerned with slightly underdone batter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjcrays February 28, 2010

I tried this last night with my mom. We used her GF flour. We have a REALLY old microwave, and I put them in for the 90 seconds, and they were still really molten. I put a scoop of ice cream in my cup, and it sunk! If your microwave is as old as ours, I would suggest maybe 2 minutes, to 2 1/2.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spotie January 31, 2009

This is my first microwave brownie and I pretty much followed the recipe but just had a few drops of vanilla extract. I think it turned out pretty good. I would like to try it with the milk and less sugar and less flour but I'm chomping away at is as we speak and have enjoyed it ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 26, 2015

I halved the sugar and it was plenty sweet. I used peanut flour and it had a great Reese's taste. I used 4 T, but that was too much. I'll try 3 next time. 2 made the mix look more watery than cake mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 23, 2015
Microwave Chocolate Mug Brownie