143 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is 5 stars with these corrections: switch the water out for milk and decrease the sugar & flour to 2T each instead of 4T.

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keptinmylocket January 06, 2013

Yum!! I tried it by the recipe first, then made some alterations... I used self raising flour instead of plain. Also, I halved the sugar to 2Tbs but I used 1Tbs white sugar, 1Tbs brown sugar which made it nice & fudgy :-) Cooked for 60sec in 1200w microwave :-)

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candypawz August 08, 2012

I needed something quick & easy that didn't require the oven on this hot summer Friday night. Just wanted a little end-of-the-work-week treat. This fit the bill! It would have been great with ice cream but I also had limited ingredients so, again, this worked nicely. I got a little confused because the recipe ingredients call for melted butter but there is no mention of it in the recipe...then I noticed the directions called for "oil" ... which translated to melted butter, although it's not the term I would have used. Thanks for posting!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie July 22, 2011

A wonderful recipe! Make it a peanut butter chocolate brownie by replacing the butter with 1-1/2 Tbsp creamy peanut butter and increase water to 2-1/2 Tbsp. I also replace the water with milk and reduce sugar by half. Mix the peanut butter with the water (milk) until smooth before adding the rest. Comes out yummy and there is still about an inch and a half left in the 12 oz. mug for a bit of ice cream!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steelshade July 06, 2012

I'm leaving this review for the people who, like me, have searched through multiple brownie-in-a-mug recipes that ended up tasting like total dirt to find a good one. I have tried a handful of recipes that had good reviews and when they end up tasting like crap even though I followed the directions exactly, I wonder where I went wrong. This is FINALLY a decent recipe that actually tastes like a brownie and doesn't end up dry and bitter (but that can happen to any recipe if you microwave it too long, be wary). I think one of the secrets is to use melted butter instead of oil. It is essential to the way it cooks but doesn't give it an oily taste. If you don't like it to be too sweet, cut the sugar by a tablespoon or two. I also substituted milk for water, which I suggest doing in any cake/pancake/muffin recipe. I cooked it in a 1500 watt microwave for 60 seconds and it was just a bit too liquidy/molten for me so I gave it another 15 seconds and it was great. My end conclusion is that you're honestly just not going to be able to make a perfect tasting brownie like you would by baking a box mix in an oven for an hour by just throwing 5 or 6 ingredients in a mug and microwaving it for a minute, but that when you are craving a chocolate fix and want a decent brownie this recipe will definitely satisfy you! I really hope my review helps someone!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hannahamazesyou June 13, 2013

I enjoyed this at midnight when I could not sleep. It was warm and comforting. I used a sugar substitute and coconut oil. They both worked fine.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Fannie April 23, 2013

I added 3 crushed peppermint candies and a bit of chocolate syrup. It was amazing! My little sister and I could get enough of it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samgcool March 20, 2013

Super quick and easy when you're wanting something sweet... Only downside was that it was EXTREMELY rich and that's coming from a big time sweets eater :) We put ice cream on top of it and I'm not sure I could've eaten it without ice cream. I couldn't finish the entire mug due to the richness of this brownie! If you love chocolate though, this is definitely for you :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leilei1202 August 28, 2012

Perfect sweet, which is made really easily and fast without any dirty bowles and other stuff :)
I only used half of the suggested amount of sugar and it was perfect.
Thanx for posting this recipe :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hot-Milk September 25, 2011

Okay, it's total instant chocolate gratification. But did you look at the nutrition facts? ONE serving, one brownie, one cup, one recipe is 535 calories! 24 grams of fat! OMG! Then I looked at the Dietary Fiber....4.4 grams per serving? How can that be, if you are using only 4 tablespoons of all-purpose (white) flour? You're not getting any fiber from butter, sugar and cocoa powder. hmmm. Something is suspect here. It's a nice, easy, one-person treat, but how am I supposed to figure this into my diet plan if the nutrition facts seem to be screwy?

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingTink April 23, 2013
Microwave Chocolate Mug Brownie