30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you so much Sue L., for a super easy sauce. I'm not supposed to eat dairy due to IBS, and though I was tempted b/c I have the "Real McCoys" in our fridge, I passed up the real milk and cheese, and subbed Soysations brand shredded Cheddar, Jack, and Mozzarella blend, Silk unsweetened soy milk, and margarine. I cut the recipe down also, since it was just me eating this, but I have to say I'm impressed by the results - thick, creamy sauce. I didn't think this needed any salt at all, so I didn't add any. I did add a drop of Tabasco though. I used 1 1/2 tsp flour and margarine, about 1/4 cup of soy milk, (think I added in more like 1/3 cup of the cheese, so I had to add a little more milk after all was melted b/c this thickened up very nicely), and micro'd the marg for 20 secs and a total of 1 minute (2 30 sec intervals) to melt the cheese. After I added the extra milk at the end, I zapped another 20 secs to rewarm. I was really craving cheese sauce, this did so nicely. I can just imagine how much more wonderful real cheese and milk would have been! Lol. This was yummy on carrot sticks. This would also be great w/celery sticks or any cooked veggie, and prob great on pretzels, too

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage May 16, 2007

Just what I needed! Was looking for some quick comfort food and this was perfect in a pinch. Very versatile: quartered the recipe, used Romano instead of cheddar, then added some pepper and garlic powder with the cheese. Was fantastic over leftover brown rice and meatballs with some broccoli tossed in!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Torricus September 22, 2014

This seemed too good to be true and it was. I made it to go over fresh steamed broccoli. My son-in-law who scarfs down just about everything I make, ate very little as did the rest of the family. I was left with lots of it left over to throw away. It tasted terrible, the texture was offputting and it is really easier to make cheese sauce on stovetop as it takes time about the same amount of time. Sorry, but not good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mundy44 May 06, 2014

Great cheese sauce! Thanks! We used this on baked potatoes...so yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennibear January 29, 2014

This recipe really is a great idea for quick cooking. I thought I would ruin it by cooking the sauce with precooked broccoli in it, but it turned out fine, even with cold milk (the broccoli probably helped heat the milk). Thank you for a good tip!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PleasantviewPeasant November 28, 2012

I was skeptical, but I decided to give this recipe a try. I"m glad I did, because it is a easy, quick and tasty. I will be making cheese sauce more often now. Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laineybo August 02, 2012

Thank you very much Sue Lau for teaching me how to make cheese sauce in the microwave!! :)

This very good recipe was very easy to use. The ratios of butter, cheese milk, and salt were perfect.

The first time I made the recipe, I followed the instructions exactly as the directions indicated. The result was a good cheese sauce that I felt was too thin and would not stick well enough to noodles or vegetables (which accounts for the one star deduction from my recipe review rating).

The second time I made the sauce, I used 166% of the recipe's indicated volume of flour, and that produced a very good result. For example: if the recipe yeild should be 2 cups, I used 3.33 tablespoons of flour instead of the 2 tablespoons called for in the recipe.

The third time I made the sauce I modified the procedures in the directions to make them simpler. Instead of using steps 3 and 4, I did this:
Add all the milk to the butter and flour mixture, and microwave on maximum power for one minute. Add all the cheese to the milk, butter, and flour mixture. Microwave on maximum power for 2 minutes. Stir the mixture thoroughly.
Note: my microwave outputs 1500 watts. The wattage of your microwave may differ, so cooking times may also differ.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michael Weston July 28, 2012

This is such a great and easy recipe. Always comes in handy in a pinch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CyanoGirl March 17, 2012

I have made cheese sauce on the stove before. Never again. This recipe turned out so yummy and easy. I added garlic salt instead of just regular salt and added a few drops of Tabasco sauce to give it a little more ZING. My family was trilled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefLara February 11, 2012

So, it's Superbowl Sunday. We aren't having a party or anything, but wanted to eat the same stuff partiers were. I lost the grocery store debate about Velveeta - DH was sure we had some. Yep, no Velveeta. This was fast, easy, and successful. Mixed it with an equal amount of salsa for the Velveeta-famous dip. None of that plastic-y texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc February 05, 2012
Microwave Cheese Sauce