Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Microwave Caramels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Microwave Caramels

    Average Rating:

    88 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 88

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2013

      These caramels turned out great. They look and taste like they were made be a professional. I didn't have any problem getting they out of the dish. I did spray and coat with butter just to make sure I could get the out after reading the other reviews. After they cooled I turned the dish upside down on wax paper and nudged the caramel with a butter knife and it came right out. Then I cut in small pieces and wrapped in wax paper. It made about 70 caramels.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      I found this recipe on Pinterest and had to go to the store right away for the ingredients to make some! Cooking it was very easy! Make sure to put it in a roomy glass container to microwave it bc it will puff up a bit and overflow. I stopped the candy at 6 minutes, and poured it into silicone molds; coming out of the microwave it had thickened a lot but the color seemed light, I figured it probly wasn't done yet but I wanted to test the recipe so I poured them and cooled them. They are very tasty but I can still taste the sweetened condensed milk, and not *quite* caramel-y, and my microwave is pretty powerful. The good thing is though that the recipe is small enough quantity that these will still be gone in a matter of hours and I will make another batch and increase the time a couple minutes. Even with that being said I still give 5 stars bc you can not predict time and wattages on other people's microwaves. I think in the recipe though, it should be added that times may vary, and give a description of how it should look when done. They had to be in the fridge for a while to firm up enough to pop out, and I live in FL so they quickly warmed up out of the fridge. I made some with pretzel goldfish in them and some with a sprinkle of kosher sea salt and they are both FANTASTIC. I think I want to try marshmallows next! super amazingly yummy. Will be making this recipe forever.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      Very easy, quick and tasty!<br/>BUT - mine would not set....I added 1 tsp vanilla but other than that, I follower the recipe to a tee. I cooked them 6 min. and took them out every 2 min. to stir them. Poured them into a lightly buttered pyrex pan, and let them sit on the counter about 20 min.<br/>I tried to cut them but they ran back together almost as quick as I could cut.<br/>I put them in the fridge over night and can cut them nicely right when I take them out, but after a minute I can't work with them anymore.<br/>We cut as many as we could and put the plate in the fridge where the kids can serve themselves using a fork -- too sticky for fingers.<br/><br/>If anyone have any advise for me for next time feel free to contact me - the boys just love them, and I would like to be able to serve them on a plate, wrapped in wax paper 'n all without having to bite/lick them off the paper :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      Four stars only because I think it will help if you've had some experience with toffees and caramels. If you haven't, TRY IT ANYWAY! Just be prepared to make a few batches to perfect your technique.

      This taste a little more "milky" than store bought kraft caramels. I like this best with nuts (I've tried walnut and almond so far) and sometimes dipping them in milk chocolate.

      I used salted butter and add a pinch of salt to ingredients and also add about 1/4 tsp vanilla extract after pulling from microwave for the last time.
      I totally recommend using a silpat(or similar) liner. SOOO much easier than the (bad) foil experience I had.
      I used the cold water method to help determine when my caramels were ready. The first time I had to keep adding 1 minute until it was setting firm enough. If your caramels are too soft for you, please try again, but add more time. Don't give up, these are tasty and give a great sense of accomplishment :).


      I recommend parchment paper to wrap, as I found that the wax paper will not peel well if caramel got a little warm (like in my niece's pocket). Parchment paper did not have that problem.
      Thank you Debbwl for the recipe, everyone has really enjoyed these! My sister is thinking to use them for small Christmas gifts to co-workers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      Great recipe! A few notes though: I added slightly less than 1 tsp of vanilla and it kind of overpowered the flavor at the end, so I would use maybe 1/2 tsp next time. Also, these don't quite have the browned butter taste of stove top caramels, but they are sooo good for something so simple. I microwaved them for 2 mins to start with, stirred, and then in 1 minute increments after that to ensure that there were no sugar crystals left in the mix after that. I microwaved for 7 minutes and 30 seconds. The caramels turned out soft and chewy but not great at holding shape. I would probably try microwaving them for 8 minutes and maybe 8.5 or 9 after testing. I also tried the cold water test to see how they were and they were about soft ball stage when I stopped testing and pulled them as it seems like when I make caramels I tend to not account for the few minutes at the end where the temp is still rising because the mixture has so much heat in it. My microwave is pretty old- a Panasonic 1200W Inverter series, so hopefully that will help some of you. =) Good luck!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      This is really good. I made a half batch so I halved the time in the microwave also I stirred after every 1 1/2 minutes. I greased pan then lined with aluminum foil for quick release and then greased that also so I could get out of pan and away from candy easily. I brought over to share with a friend and she asked me for the recipe. Hard to believe you can get such good candy in less than 10 minutes. A must have recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Very easy. Be careful though, as with most candy, this gets incredibly hot! I used an 8x8 square pan and I thought that made a nice size. I liked them even more after I wrapped them in wax paper and put them in the fridge. Some of the people I shared these with asked for the recipe! Thank you Debbwl.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      These are incredibly easy. They taste a little more "milky" than I prefer in caramels but the ease makes up for that.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      I'm too ashamed to admit how many times I've made these caramels in the last month. Everyone loves them! I poured the caramel into a flexible cake pan so that when it cooled it was very easy to flip out, cut, and wrap. My pan is 9x9, so I made a second batch and poured over the top so that they're a bit thicker. Thanks so much for a great, and very easy, recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      I altered the recipe a little-- I don't keep corn syrup around so I lowered the brown sugar and used maple syrup instead, and 1 tsp vanilla; kept everything else the same. Problem is, when I nuked it the third time it overflowed (and I nuked it in a deep dish yet!) But that's how I made the fascinating discovery that white vinegar will clear up sticky messes off your microwave with no problem; so I lost some "batter" that way. The rest of it I refridgerated, and it took about 3 hours to set-- but was worth it for the milky vanilla maple smoothness. Made as a VIP recipenap for Veggie Swap 17.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Delicious and so easy! The hardest part was trying not to burn my tongue on the hot caramel as I tried to get a taste while transferring from the bowl to the dish. Yum! I used an 11x7 glass dish which worked well. Then an hour in the fridge and they were done!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Yeze arz goodz! Forgive me, I've caramel stuck in my teeth. Made for Newest Zaar Tag '09

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      Found the recipe a while ago and have made it many times since. They're a hit wherever they've gone! Each time at least one person asks for the recipe. TRIED AND TRUE ! ! !<br/><br/>SO EASY, so scrumptious, so dangerous. I don't dare make them unless there is someplace to bring the majority of the caramels! They really are one of the few treats I simply can't resist. There's no sentimental attachment or history or other reason -- they're just so tasty and have such a smooth consistancy.<br/><br/>Thanks -- from me, family, and friends... but not my waistline! TOO wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      VERY easy caramels!!! I crisped up some bacon and added them on top. Also made some with just sea salt. I have to say the bacon ones were AMAZING!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      These were super easy and good. The only reason I am giving 4 and not 5 stars is just personal preference. These turn out a little blonde and milky instead of the dark cooked sugar that I prefer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      I just made this. I doubled the recipe and added most of the 14 ounce can of sweetned condensed milk. I was really worried about the outcome because most of the way through the 12 minute cooking time, it appeared very thin. I had been covering the bowl with plastic wrap and then stopped this at about 6 minutes because I realized that the recipe didn't say to cover the container. I think that I was just worried about overflowing the bowl (which it did). I just put a plate under the bowl after I took the plastic wrap off. I ended up nukeing it another 2 minutes. I poured it onto a piece of parchment paper and it hasn't stuck to the paper. I love the taste of these caramels and it might be a little difficult to part with them even though I made them for the cookie trays... Thank you for posting this recipe. I know that I will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      Great recipe as is, but on my second batch I added chopped walnuts (a handful of toasted), and a teaspoon of vanilla. The vanilla definately gave it the richness I was looking for, and toasted walnuts and caramel just go together! For the next batch, I will dip in chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      Super easy, super delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      Oh GURLFRIEND! This be the bestest recipie I ever tasted. My boy Bruce thought it be so delicious, honey you a supa star fo postin this recipie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      real easy and delicious..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Microwave Caramels

    Serving Size: 1 (49 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.1
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    24%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 14.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 61.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 27.9 g
    111%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes