42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Hubby has made these three times. We grew our own pickling cucumbers this year and we all love these. They are so easy to make. We have made them with sugar and splenda. We liked them both ways. We also made them once with less sugar and enjoyed them like that too. Great versatile recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol August 02, 2010

As much as I like these, I will have to buy new refrigerator for a 5 gal bucket. Beats all other recipes. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catdaddy1gg August 05, 2013

I do NOT like cucumers or pickles, but I do like B&B pickles and I hava a bunch of cukes. So I tried this. It was so easy and tastes just like the ones from the store. Next time I will cook them a little less than 8 minutes and slice them a little thicker. I used powdered yellow mustard for the seeds.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead August 18, 2007

A friend gave me this recipe attached to a jar with a circle of red/white checked fabric over the top. How cool was that? The pickles are excellent, easy, and great to give as gifts too. I use 1 tsp celery salt and eliminate the celery seeds and it's perfect every time. I also made a red potato salad and use the onions and pickles in it. Yum! Thanks for sharing this awesome find.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita May 06, 2007

I had to come back, I forgot the stars last time. This was my second attempt at pickles and they were wonderful. I reviewed it before and couldn't find my copy so when I came back I saw I was so excited I forgot the stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chilepepper1231 September 24, 2003

These are REALLY good and SO simple! I'm sure to make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mer@ August 24, 2013

The cukes really cook down. I ended up using the liquid twice after the first whirl in the microwave to fill the jar. Yummy. My mother used to make these and slave over them all day long. This was so quick and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ambervim February 07, 2013

Made these last summer, and just kept making batches as pickling more cukes became available from the garden.. I added each new cooled batch to a very large Ikea jar, and we have been eating them all winter. (kept refrigerated of course) This is an excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Jelly Room May 29, 2012

I had a ton of cucumbers given to me so I figured this was a quick way to get rid of them. This recipe worked really well and the kids loved them. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Philip_Bedard November 09, 2010

I followed the time and directions exactly but my pickles were very limp. I am going to try again this weekend and if they turn out not limp I will change my star rating. Great flavor. Made for Top Favorites of 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn February 18, 2010
Microwave Bread & Butter Pickles