Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Microwave Bread & Butter Pickles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Microwave Bread & Butter Pickles

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2010

      Hubby has made these three times. We grew our own pickling cucumbers this year and we all love these. They are so easy to make. We have made them with sugar and splenda. We liked them both ways. We also made them once with less sugar and enjoyed them like that too. Great versatile recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      I do NOT like cucumers or pickles, but I do like B&B pickles and I hava a bunch of cukes. So I tried this. It was so easy and tastes just like the ones from the store. Next time I will cook them a little less than 8 minutes and slice them a little thicker. I used powdered yellow mustard for the seeds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      A friend gave me this recipe attached to a jar with a circle of red/white checked fabric over the top. How cool was that? The pickles are excellent, easy, and great to give as gifts too. I use 1 tsp celery salt and eliminate the celery seeds and it's perfect every time. I also made a red potato salad and use the onions and pickles in it. Yum! Thanks for sharing this awesome find.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      I had to come back, I forgot the stars last time. This was my second attempt at pickles and they were wonderful. I reviewed it before and couldn't find my copy so when I came back I saw I was so excited I forgot the stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      These are REALLY good and SO simple! I'm sure to make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      As much as I like these, I will have to buy new refrigerator for a 5 gal bucket. Beats all other recipes. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      The cukes really cook down. I ended up using the liquid twice after the first whirl in the microwave to fill the jar. Yummy. My mother used to make these and slave over them all day long. This was so quick and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      Made these last summer, and just kept making batches as pickling more cukes became available from the garden.. I added each new cooled batch to a very large Ikea jar, and we have been eating them all winter. (kept refrigerated of course) This is an excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      I had a ton of cucumbers given to me so I figured this was a quick way to get rid of them. This recipe worked really well and the kids loved them. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      I followed the time and directions exactly but my pickles were very limp. I am going to try again this weekend and if they turn out not limp I will change my star rating. Great flavor. Made for Top Favorites of 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      It was my first time doing Bread and Butter Pickles. It's so easy that way. There is no need to buy store-bough. I cooked them 9 minutes like said in the recipe. Next time I may try with splenda to reduce the calories. Thanks Cathi :) Made for TYM tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Sorry to be the lone dissenter here but I followed the recipe exactly and the pickles are very limp, not at all "crisp". The taste is ok, though rather sweet. I plan to grind it all up and use it for relish but won't be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Awesome! This recipe is very similar to one my mom gave me, but hers needed to sit in the fridge for days before they were ready. These taste just like them and they're ready in no time! I decreased the celery seed a little bit, but that's just personal preference. Thank you so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      Easy and delicious. Gotta love that combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This was my first try at making pickles, and it was so quick and easy. I only had a few cucumbers from my garden, not bushels, so this recipe was perfect for me. These are delicious, and the pickles are so nice and crisp. Thank you for posting a recipe I'll definitely use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      My family loves this recipe! The Cukes stay so crisp. TY cathi for a wonderful recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      My gosh, how EASY to make bread & butter pickles! I couldn't believe the pickles were so crisp and I just loved the flavor. This is a recipe I'll have to make every week because 1 little pint doesn't last long in my house! After the pickles and onions (which were fantastic too) were gone I put some raw cauliflower in the pickle juice and let marinate for a few days. Just yummy. I hated to waste that wonderful brine. Thanks Cathi, this is a great find and a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Back in the late 80's I clipped this recipe from a magazine (BHG?) and our whole family just adored it. I was really upset when the recipe got lost in a move. My husband just found the folder that the recipe was stuffed in and I ran to Zaar to check and this is it! Easy and delicious. The fastest way to make pickles ever! Thanks Cathi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      These were easy to make and turned out delicious. I used home grown cucumbers that were smaller than usual so I put a little more than two cups to make up for it. I didn't have celery seed, so I sprinkled some celery salt instead. I was surprised how much juice they ended up with but after refrigerating and stirring everything evened out and tasted delicious. I will definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      These were awesome! I cut down on the sugar to about 3/4 cup and they were perfect. Also, after cooling, added a datil pepper for a little kick. OMG! Nobody but me eats these. WOW! More for me, LOL! Great recipe, thanks bunches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Microwave Bread & Butter Pickles

    Serving Size: 1 (655 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 883.6
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    65%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2339.9 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 219.6 g
    73%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 208.3 g
    833%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites