Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Micronesian Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Micronesian Coconut Chicken Curry

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2013

      I used 3 large chicken breast pieces, which I think would have weighed more than 1 lb, 3 large potatoes that I cut into about 2cm chunks, and about 600 mls of coconut milk. This recipe took longer to cook than I expected, but it was worth the wait. For US cooks, the chilli powder used in this recipe is not blended Mexican style chili powder, but the ground Asian style chilli powder. I pretty much think this would also be a good vegetarian curry by omitting the chicken and adding in extra vegetables. Reviewed for March 2013 Recipe Swap in the Aus/NZ forum. Photo also to be posted

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      This had mixed reviews at our house. DH loved it, for me it was so, so. I made mostly as written, I cut down to one pepper as DH doesn't love them and reduced the curry so it wouldn't be so hot. I found it to be a bit one note flavorwise, and finally added a little cilantro for some nuance. We both enjoyed how creamy it was - I did use and extra 1/2 can of coconut milk as mentioned in the note. It took much longer to cook than I expected, I ended up just putting everything together and just letting it simmer until the potatoes were done, which took 15 -20 minutes after frying. Made for PRMRT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      I only made once change to this recipe, I substitued zucchini instead of green capsicum, as I had a lot of zucchini to use up. The rest was as per recipe.
      This is a simple and easy recipe to make, and was not too spicy or hot at all. The family loved this curry and it was enjoyed with plain rice and salad for dinner.
      Thanks awalde, for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      We enjoyed this coconut curry dish very much. I especially love dishes that serve as a complete meal all on their own, except of course, a little rice to go with it. I used only 2 tbsp. curry powder and only 1/8 tsp. chili powder because the chili powder I use is extremely hot. Great post - I will definitely make this dish again. Made for the AUS/NZ Holiday tag, December, 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      What a beautiful and delicious dish! I don't care for onions so left them out and I used boneless skinless chicken breast. I used the full amount of curry and hot chili powder as we like spicy. The veggies are wonderful in this and the coconut sauce with that spice is just great. Served with your Original Indian Naan Bread and loved this - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      My experience with curry has not always been that great, so when I made this recipe I did cut it back to just 5 teaspoons instead of the larger amount listed! Other than that, though, I pretty much followed it on down, & we were very satisfied with this great tasting chicken dish! With this keeper of a recipe, I'll certainly be making it again! Thanks for posting it! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars recipe tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      Very yummy!! I used chicken breast, 1 can of coconut milk and just half of the curry. I also only used 1 tbsp of oil which was plenty. I will make this again for sure! Made for ZWT 7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      Excellent curry, quickly and easily prepared and I really liked the addition of vegetables to this dish. Since I made it on the spur of the moment, I had to sub a yellow pepper and a few baby zucchini for the red and green peppers, but I think this dish lends itself to some flexibility. I used roasted garam masala for the curry powder, and I kept it to 2 tblsps since DH no longer tolerates 'heat' well, but I think the 3 tblsps would have been perfect. Very much enjoyed, thank you awalde.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      Wow, we loved everything about this dish. It was tailor made for my dh & self. The spices were right on, everything balanced each other out beautifully. A bold full bodied curry. Made exactly as written, except that I used red curry, it is all I had in the house. What wonderful flavor. We will be enjoying this tasty dish often. Thanks so much for posting another winner Awalde. Made for the Witchin Kitchen, ZWT7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      Made for ZWT 7. Wow, we love an exotic combo of flavours! I used considerably more chicken pieces than 1 lb even if we are only 2. Yes, there are leftovers: will be eaten or frozen! I used a can of coconut milk, less than stipulated in the ingredients, but it seemed enough to me, it's about 420 g. Instead of shop curry powder I used masala (basically a mild curry) which I buy in Cape Town from a Malay spice shop. Added some dried, flaked chilli (did not have the powder). I also simplified the directions, by adding the chicken, potatoes and carrots all at once in a large pot. Made brown basmati rice to go with it. Lovely, awalde, thanks! (Sorry no photo -- this afternoon both my cameras' batteries went flat, no kidding! They're loading at the moment!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2011

      I made this for ZWT #7's trip to the Pacific Islands and it is a fantastic curry. I like spice so I used 3 T of curry powder and that was plenty. I might cut back to 2 1/2 T next time. Thank you for posting such a delicious dish awalde!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Micronesian Coconut Chicken Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (520 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1045.5
     
    Calories from Fat 501
    47%
    Total Fat 55.7 g
    85%
    Saturated Fat 29.7 g
    148%
    Cholesterol 85.0 mg
    28%
    Sodium 167.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 112.8 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 83.6 g
    334%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites