Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mickies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mickies

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 29, 2010

      These turned out WONDERFUL! And so easy! Thanks for a great tasting potato :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Finally the perfect baked potato!!! I put these in the oven at 450 and they came out with crisy skins and a soft center. This will be the only way I make baked potatoes from now on!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      After reading so much about these in the forum I just had to try them. I don't know where the name came from but I've been baking my potatoes like this ever since I was old enough to use the stove. My belated husband of 40 years said he learned how to do it on a campfire when he was a boy scout. When we went camping he'd bury the spuds in the hot coals before we went fishing. It was so nice to come back to camp and fry up the trout, warm a can of pork and beans and dig up the potatoes. I sure miss those days! Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      MMMMmmmmmm! I have been making Linda's Fantabulous Baked Potatoes for a million years. (What would they be if they were German or Italian???). I think everyone should turn up the heat when they bake potatoes and never ever wrap them in foil. The kids used to call these 'rocky' potatoes. And during a power outage I baked them in the fireplace! Viva La Tater!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Who knew that this style of making potatoes had a name! LOL I've been making my baked potatoes like this my entire life; that's 57 years worth of "taste-testing" this recipe. :) I've read on other websites where people will make it like this, but will roll the wet potato in Kosher salt before putting in the oven. I don't care for salt so I'd never do that but as this recipe stands, it's the BEST way to make "Mickies" or baked potatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Excellent potato!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I have enjoyed these many times using an open fire while camping in the great outdoors. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      Classic in our family with any meat and some vegtables. Although we perfer it with cottage cheese. Thanks for posting. Miss Pixie x x x :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      Since I don't have a wood stove, I bump the temp up to 450 degrees F. Yes, agreed, the skin is the best part. Totally awesome! Sour cream and butter and fresh-ground pepper are musts!~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      There is *no* other way to bake potatoes. I had these just the other night. Food for the soul!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      These are indeed fabulous, in the month of August we set aside two Saturday morning to help our parents can about 200 jar of tomatoes. We do everything outside including boil the jars to seal them it is a big production and we always throw potatoes into the fire to eat at dinner. They are great just like you said hard and crusty and brunt on the outside but fluffy on the inside with a wonderful flavor. Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mickies

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.2
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    26%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 15.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 84.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes