11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a very good tortilla soup, but too spicy for me. I didn't use Hatch brand products, and used "salsa verde" instead of enchilada sauce. It was supposed to be mild, but I guess it was spicier than I thought. Otherwise very nice, and very easy to make. I made it in a regular soup pot on the stove because I couldn't wait for a slow cooker. I didn't even cook the chicken first, I just cubed it raw and threw it in. The soup was yummy, in small amounts. I can't wait to make it again so I can fix the "heat".

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Casual Cookie April 11, 2008

Used black beans instead of pinto, Rotel for the diced tomatoes and green chilies. Love this soup! Added toppings, Sour Cream, Cheddar Cheese, Avocado, tortilla chips. Was so good with both had seconds! Spice level was just right - Mild to Medium. Even better the next day. Will be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
animageofgrace March 10, 2014

This was fantastic! I used Mexican Rotel instead of the green chilis. It was a little too spicy for the kids, but mom and dad loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dteague February 19, 2014

Definitely wasn't too spicy for me! I'd add a bit more chili powder next time. :)
Don't bother using cooked chicken if it's not immediately on hand - I used chicken breasts straight out of the freezer and cooked on high for about 5 hours, and they were fine. Also, I wouldn't add the corn until an hour or so before serving, because if it's in there the full time it just turns to mush. Also also, I didn't want to make a special trip to the store for avocados, but that would have been a better idea. I think the avocado is the extra step that makes this soup perfect (e.g. definitely add some as garnish).
In any case, though, it was really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bangss June 21, 2012

Forgot to add - use a rotisserie chicken when short on time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'RN November 04, 2011

This recipe has appeared on the back of the label of the Hatch Green Chili Sauce Cans for years. It is really a great alternative to regular beef chili.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hmryan72 February 05, 2011

Thank you for posting!! I lost my copy of this recipe and no longer live in Texas, so no access to Hatch brands :-(
I almost always double this recipe - big hit at potlucks or freezes well. When serving with sour cream, avocado and tortilla chips, I rarely get complaints about it being too spicy.
Instead of pinto beans, I prefer black beans. For anyone who hasn't tried it - you must!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayro December 05, 2010

I love this soup ! Many people seem to find it a bit spicy , but if you are like me and LIKE fire , use a can of Rotel with habaneros instead of the can of diced tomatoes . Ummm... perfect with a slice of avacado and some sour cream .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dibob April 07, 2010

We love this soup! Found it to be a bit too spicy for us old folks, so will eliminate the canned chiles next time. I didn't have time to make it in the crock pot, so simmered it in a soup pot on stove top for an hour and a half. Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmn1 October 19, 2009

Yummy, I did not put any of the extras on my soup to save some calories. This still was yummy without cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jessamy October 27, 2008
Michele’s Crock Pot Chicken Tortilla Soup