Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Yellow Rice and Black Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Yellow Rice and Black Beans

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2012

      It's great to find a healthy dish that's delicious too. We had it just by itself since we are trying to cut back on meat. It looked so colorful and was full of flavor. I didn't have any turmeric, so I subbed a packet of Sazon Azafran. And since my son doesn't like cilantro or limes, instead of dressing it with them, I just mixed the juice and cilantro in with the dish. I love the flavor they add, and he didn't know the difference. LOL. Thanks for sharing this -- as others said I think it will make a great filling too for burritos and tostadas. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      Made half a recipe but used white rice. Excellent with our pork verde.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      I had some leftover yellow rice, so I just made the bean part. I used green, yellow, and red peppers since I had a bunch that were starting to soften. I was a little afraid the flavors would be too mild/bland, but it came out delicious. I served it with some sliced avocado. Even the teen gave his stamp of approval, although he did comment he would have liked it a lot better with a little ground beef added in. It was quick and easy to make, made a pretty plate, and definitely getting saved for the future!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      We really enjoyed this recipe served this our veggie burritos. In the picture the rice matches the title and looks yellow. This made DH think perhaps the recipe started with white rice? Despite adding turmeric to our brown rice, our rice was still brown (not that this bothered us, but it was incongruent with the title). I made no modifications to the recipe and thought it tasted delicious and was good for leftovers the next day as well. I will be making this again. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      This was COLORFUL and WONDERFUL! I used chicken stock and fresh ground cumin seeds. I omitted the jalapeno. Very FLAVORFUL and FILLING. This was great to eat on the South Beach diet phase 2. Made for 1-2-3 hit wonders.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2014

      This rice is kind of amazing. As simple as Mexican yellow rice is, it was hard for me to find a recipe that was just right. I followed the directions, but mixed in the beans/veggies/seasoning right in before serving, then added a bit of Adobo seasoning and fresh cilantro (I left out the cheese- it's so flavorful and delicious even without it). Just perfect really. I will be making this often... thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      This is such a delicious, healthy recipe. I served it as a side dish, but I'll be making it again as a meal in itself. The only thing I did aside from the recipe was to add dried minced onion to the rice as it was cooking and I would do that again. The cooking time was perfect for the rice. Thanks for sharing this keeper, healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      This is just delicious and makes a great meal by itself or as a side dish to just about anything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      Delicious! This was flavorful and colorful, with a nice little kick. Thanks for sharing! All You Can Eat Buffet Winter '12

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      Paula --- This is a great recipe!!! We aren't diabetic, but are trying really hard to eat healthy! This is a WINNER!!! Went well with our tostadas. Made for Let's P-A-R-T-Y Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      This is a great recipe. I found it from the same book and it's a keeper for my dh and I who are diabetics.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      I was looking for a way to make yellow rice to go with tacos; used to buy the prepackaged kind, but too unhealthy. I made only the rice part of this recipe (stopped at step 4) because my husband doesn't tolerate beans. It tasted almost the same as the packaged yellow rice, but maybe needed more salt. I will use this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      This was fantastic. I would highly recommend this dish. The limes and cheddar add a nice flavour at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      This is wonderful! My husband and I loved it and plan on having it again. This is so flavorful and low on fat! I didn't have ground tumeric so I used dry mustard and I didn't have jalapeno so I used jalapeno sauce. We will have this again soon, thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      Great recipe! Bursting with flavor and color, everyone asked how to make this... Luckily, I doubled it to make wraps the next day. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      Delicious, fresh, simple, healthy and colorful. I could eat this every day. Used very little cheese and thought it could be omitted if desired without sacrificing too much flavor. The lime and cilantro was a nice touch. We'll have this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2006

      Very good! In placve of the red and green pepper I used a yellow pepper. I skipped the salt just because I try to keep my salt intake low and with can beans It`s getting up there. I used 1/2 tablespoon cumin and long grain brown rice. This makes great wraps if you have leftovers for a nice lunch which I added salsa and don`t forget the cheese whch helps keep it all together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Yellow Rice and Black Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 348.6
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    25%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 386.0 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 10.0 g
    40%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes