Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Wedding Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Wedding Cakes

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2002

      These were the best wedding cookies I have tasted. Everyone that tried them liked them. They just seem to melt in your mouth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      What a bonus! These actually came out looking like the picture..lol Loved these, nice and crispy on the outside and melt in your mouth. I got 32 'cakes' from the dough. Thanks for posting. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2002

      This is my absolute favorite cookie recipe! I make these every year for Christmas. I use ground walnuts instead of pecans, and have also used almonds successfully. For a little variation, roll in a mixture of powdered sugar and cocoa powder. These freeze well too! They are so easy to make, and turn out right every time. Thanks for posting Steve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2002

      These are spectacular! I used my food proccesor, which made it quick and easy. The texture is to-die-for good. These are going into regular holiday rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2002

      I think I mucked this one up a bit. I changed the recipe to metric, and the amount of butter was way too much, but I made them, and though they were a little oily, they all dissapeared and everyone said I should make them again. This time I will follow the US recipe, I guess a cup is a cup no matter where you are!! I used walnuts, and the biscuits turned out bigger then they should have, probably because I didnt have the right proportions, so if they taste good, even when you make them wrong...........its a pretty good recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      I don't know what I did wrong, but these all flattened out like normal cookies. Taste great, just not a pretty round shape.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2004

      These are so yummy. I used pecans, which took 10 min. to toast in my oven. I got 32 cookies, but I knew I wasn't accurately measuring the spoonfuls of dough as I was forming the balls. No problem! Just made each cookie a bigger treat. My hubby also said he really liked these tasty morsels. Will definitely make these again. Thanks, Steve.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      I'd give this 0 stars if I could. I am so aggravated. After getting my family all excited about how wonderful Mexican Wedding Cakes are, I searched around and decided to try this recipe. I followed the recipe to the T and as they baked the round balls flattened out to flat cookies! I nearly cried. I did some research and nearly every other recipe for Mexican Wedding Cakes had at least 2 cups of flour, not the 1 3/4 cups this one has! I was so disappointed. These are NOT the cookies I was hoping for or have ever had before. Keep looking until you find a recipe with more flour. Grrr!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      No, I won't be using this recipe. I followed it exactly and the cookies flattened out. Even when I practically froze them. I am wondering if the flour ratio could be off. The way I scoop my flour into the cup and measure could be it. But scooping into the cup is how it should be done. Sorry, tasty, yes, like your picture, no.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      Sooooooo good! Melted in my mouth. I made these to freeze for Christmas. In the words of my friend "You need to make another batch". They didn't stay as round as i would of liked but the flavor was like an explosion of happiness, that's why i gave the five stars. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      These were my absolute fave growing up!
      The taste amazing.
      I don't know what I did wrong .....but my cookies flattened instead of staying in the ball shape.
      Not quite sure where I went wrong there but I can't stop eating them anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      As I started to make these I got very concerned... How was something that was so easy to put together ever going to be good enough to impress my dinner guests... But when I took my mixture out of the fridge and had a taste, I knew I had no reason to be concerned and I was right. Every one of my guests loved these, many asking for the recipe! I used the food processor method (super easy) and made a half batch. The only ingredient change I made was to use a vegan butter substitute. Thanks for an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Turned out perfect, thanks! I've never used my food processor to make cookies, but I did with these. They are perfect. Can't wait to share with family and friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      these gentle cookie are a mouthful of yumminess cookie tray christmas 09

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Mine flattened out, too.. wish I knew what I did wrong, these are my favorite Christmas cookie, and the first time I've ever tried to make them myself. Still tasted great though..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Delicious flavor and texture. I agree with other reviewer, if you are using chopped pecans, do not toast for as long as it says, I did 4 minutes. I also only baked them 14 minutes, so watch the baking time. I used the mixer method after chopping the pecans in a food processor and they turned out beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Ok, so really great TASTING recipe, but I had to start over several times so it was a bit frustrating. First off, I started to toast the pecans. The recipe said about 10 min, so I left mine in for 7 min and went to check on it. The pecans were burnt! So I ditched the toasted idea. I then started the food processor method (recommended). When I started adding the butter, it clumped immediately, and to the point where I couldn't add the total amount because the blade stopped spinning. I then tried to the mixer method which turned out to be a lot easier! The final product (although more stressful than I thought it would be) was fantastic! I didn't toast the pecans and I still felt the taste was very true to what I had eaten in the past. I will definitely continue this recipe, but will start with the mixer!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      Wonderful cookies! My old recipe for Mexican Wedding Cakes did not use toasted pecans, but I think that really added alot to the flavor, so this is the recipe I'll be using now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      Definite 5 stars! This dough was easy to work with (I used the food processor method), and aside from impatiently waiting an hour for the dough to chill, were quick to make. The surprise is when you bite into them expecting something soft (cake-like perhaps), but encounter a flaky crispness that melts on your tongue. The flavor and aroma of the toasted nuts are heavenly (you simply must toast the nuts). All of my "guinea pigs" said these were awesome. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      My father LOVES these, these are his favorite cookies during Christmas. I use walnuts not pecans and always roll them at least 2 times. (Be prepared your hands from rolling do get a little sore since your rollin many cookies w/ chopped nuts.) Roll one time while warm then a few minutes later roll again then one more time before plating or storing. We call them butterballs. Is a staple of my Christmas cookie platters. **Update I made a batch of these without the nuts but used mini semi sweet choc chips and they were GOOOOOD!!***

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Wedding Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (16 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 48

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 82.0
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    50%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 3.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes