30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were the best wedding cookies I have tasted. Everyone that tried them liked them. They just seem to melt in your mouth.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda Hall January 13, 2002

What a bonus! These actually came out looking like the picture..lol Loved these, nice and crispy on the outside and melt in your mouth. I got 32 'cakes' from the dough. Thanks for posting. =)

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* May 06, 2002

This is my absolute favorite cookie recipe! I make these every year for Christmas. I use ground walnuts instead of pecans, and have also used almonds successfully. For a little variation, roll in a mixture of powdered sugar and cocoa powder. These freeze well too! They are so easy to make, and turn out right every time. Thanks for posting Steve!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl November 01, 2002

These are spectacular! I used my food proccesor, which made it quick and easy. The texture is to-die-for good. These are going into regular holiday rotation!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s'kat December 24, 2002

I think I mucked this one up a bit. I changed the recipe to metric, and the amount of butter was way too much, but I made them, and though they were a little oily, they all dissapeared and everyone said I should make them again. This time I will follow the US recipe, I guess a cup is a cup no matter where you are!! I used walnuts, and the biscuits turned out bigger then they should have, probably because I didnt have the right proportions, so if they taste good, even when you make them wrong...........its a pretty good recipe :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills November 20, 2002

I don't know what I did wrong, but these all flattened out like normal cookies. Taste great, just not a pretty round shape.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 November 30, 2008

These are so yummy. I used pecans, which took 10 min. to toast in my oven. I got 32 cookies, but I knew I wasn't accurately measuring the spoonfuls of dough as I was forming the balls. No problem! Just made each cookie a bigger treat. My hubby also said he really liked these tasty morsels. Will definitely make these again. Thanks, Steve.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IdahoGardens January 04, 2004

I'd give this 0 stars if I could. I am so aggravated. After getting my family all excited about how wonderful Mexican Wedding Cakes are, I searched around and decided to try this recipe. I followed the recipe to the T and as they baked the round balls flattened out to flat cookies! I nearly cried. I did some research and nearly every other recipe for Mexican Wedding Cakes had at least 2 cups of flour, not the 1 3/4 cups this one has! I was so disappointed. These are NOT the cookies I was hoping for or have ever had before. Keep looking until you find a recipe with more flour. Grrr!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purplehorse60 December 26, 2012

No, I won't be using this recipe. I followed it exactly and the cookies flattened out. Even when I practically froze them. I am wondering if the flour ratio could be off. The way I scoop my flour into the cup and measure could be it. But scooping into the cup is how it should be done. Sorry, tasty, yes, like your picture, no.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leighmcl December 22, 2011

Sooooooo good! Melted in my mouth. I made these to freeze for Christmas. In the words of my friend "You need to make another batch". They didn't stay as round as i would of liked but the flavor was like an explosion of happiness, that's why i gave the five stars. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paige992 December 06, 2010
Mexican Wedding Cakes