Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Vegetarian Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Vegetarian Casserole

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-54 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2011

      Made this for my family today and it was well received. I also subbed plain yogurt for the sour cream and added a little Cajun spice mix as well. I did not bake it for as long as the recipe stated, as most all the ingredients were already cooked. I found that a bake time of about 20 minutes was sufficient. Any longer and it would have been dry. I served it with "Cantaloupe With Honey Ginger Dressing" by Littleturtle. Thanks for posting a nice, versatile, recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      I thought this was a super easy & tasty recipe! I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      This was good and I am also trying as OAMC. Just put in the freezer after being refrigerated, so I can't wait to try it in a week or two. I would suggest doubling the salsa from 8 to 15 - 16 oz. It seemed a little on the dry side after cooking but I just added extra salsa on top of my portion and mixed in. It was fine this way. This defiantly had some kick without adding any spices! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      This was good but a bit to cheesey even for me, and needing something...something to break up the consistancy. And it was also very watery when I took it out of the oven. The juices didn't really absorb until it had been left in the fidge overnight. I think Fauve's idea of adding the sour cream after baking might help that, but I'm not sure. A good try, I like the rice mixed in. It does make for a very filling dinner, and easy to throw together. Next time i would maybe throw some crushed tortilla chips over top and some shredded lettuce. Thanks Merlot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      This is a great recipe because it is so easy to put together, it is healthy, most of the items are things I usually have on hand, and is very filling...very important for us guys. :) I only had enough Monterey cheese for the filling and had to use sharp cheddar for the top, which I will never do again since the cheese almost overpowered all the other flavors. Even so, it is good enough to make again. I did substitute fresh sliced jalapenos for the olives because I don't think olives have any place in Mexican dishes, and I will use a hotter salsa, and maybe try a version with taco seasoning just to see how it turns out. Overall, a good recipe and a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Maybe add some garlic or cumin to spice it up some, or pepper flakes even.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      This had good flavor and was easy to make. It was a little bland for me though. However, the kids LOVED it, so I will definitely be making this again. I would suggest making sure the tomatoes are diced small. I had diced tomatoes and they ended up being a little overwhelming, but that was my fault. This was great with some jalapenos on top and tortilla chips on the side. Makes a ton! I would say more like 8 servings. ***Addition Aug. 14, 08 - If you are going to make this an OAMC recipe, do not make the same mistake I did by completely putting it all together and freezing it, then baking it. It turns out very mushy. In the future I will make a kit. One package of the liquids, one beans, one chicken, and one cheese. Freeze it all then thaw and put together right before baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Found this just ok. Nothing too exciting = a bit bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      Pretty delish! We ate it with chips as well as plain. It reheated well and was quite tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      I made something based on this. I used 2 cans of beans, though, and left out the rice (I was in a hurry). I used Tofutti brand vegan sour cream and some vegan pepperjack cheese (just on top). I didn't have any black olives on hand, but it was still good. I baked it for about 30 minutes and then put it under the broiler for about 5 minutes to melt the "cheese." It was really good and my husband liked it too. I used the leftovers as a dip and it was awesome! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2006

      I made this for my family of four and there was nothing left. It was a fantastic recipe and I would reccomend it to anyone who loves south of the border food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      Great and a crowd pleaser, especially if someone brought their cursed children to the gig. I use it as a party dip all the time. It clears out quickly. Add the final layer of cheese at the last twenty minutes. Otherwise you end up with a shield o'cheese. I anticipate this can also be jazzed up with some chorizo or chicken to make a more ample main course. Thank you, I love quick recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2004

      I *loved* the flavors of this dish -- easy to put together and a delicious, hearty meal. I do think I would prefer it with chunks of squash or perhaps diced potatoes instead of the rice, however, because it seemed to me to be a little lacking in texture. It is definitely a make-again in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2003

      I would think this dish would be very much appreciated by vegetarians. For me it was tastey but a little too ricey as a dip and not quite the consistancy I like in a casserole. I will say my 4 year old who usually frowns at rice enjoyed it on his chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Vegetarian Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (392 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 593.4
     
    Calories from Fat 294
    49%
    Total Fat 32.6 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 19.6 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 89.9 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1104.4 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.5 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 28.7 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites