55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I agree with the other reviews. This is a great dish. Easy to make and great tasting. Everyone asked for the recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda R September 20, 2002

This makes a great side dish if you are doing a Tex-Mex dinner. I liked it with "hot" Picante Sauce instead of the "medium-hot". Very easy recipe, just dump everything in a casserole dish and bake.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enobmah September 05, 2002

This is Great Stuff!! We had it with tortilla chips and everyone raved! I used frozen corn instead of canned, and brown rice instead of white, low fat sour cream worked just fine and I added a can of pinto beans. Next time I will use 2 cans of olives on top instead of just one. Very yummy!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarynne March 30, 2010

Such a good and easy dish! It's a hit with everyone - even non-vegetarians.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jade76 July 31, 2011

This could almost be used as chip dip. Really tasty and easy, my favorite combination. Thanks for sharing!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Cook Therefore I Am November 21, 2009

I was looking for some simple bean&rice recipes to keep grocery costs down, and this is probably the best I've tried so far. Great flavor and stands well on it's own as well.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vigilant20 March 29, 2013

This is really yummy and has become a favorite meal at our house. I've substituted the green onions with leeks on occasion, which works out fine.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomOfCats January 17, 2008

Have been wanting to make this for a long time, but I'd been rejecting it because the fat content seemed excessive. So, I bought some 50% fat pepper jack cheese and decided to take the plunge. I substituted some Greek yogurt for the sour cream and used 1 1/2 cups cheese instead of 3 cups. I also happened to have kalamata olives at home so I used those instead of the usual bland black olives. Could not find Pace brand picante sauce so I used Green Mountain brand medium salsa instead. BF and I were very pleased with the outcome. We added extra hot sauce. Thanks for this recipe Merlot, I'd make it again with low fat adjustments:D

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend November 27, 2007

No need for meat in a dish this hearty. A great combination of all things Mexican. I served the leftovers wrapped in flour tortillas.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucy k. July 27, 2003

Oh man, this was soooooooooooo darn good. I have been craving Tex-Mex for sooo long and this just hit the spot. I halved the recipe for the two of us and still had some leftovers. I didnt have sour cream so substituted with yogurt. Also, as suggested by some reviewers, i mixed half the cheese in the salsa mix and sprinkled the other half on top during the last 20 mins of baking. We made burritos out of this. The only problem i had, or perhaps a short coming on my part for some reason was that the mix was too watery even after baking for the full time. Maybe next time i should drain the canned stuff. Nevertheless, this was EXTREMELY good. Thanks for sharing Merlot.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Viva Forever January 18, 2008
Mexican Vegetarian Casserole