58 Reviews

I purposely left out the sour cream before baking this and saved it until last, then added cool sour cream atop steaming casserole when done. Superb! Also added about 1/2 cup more Pace salsa to the recipe. This one gets its stars for its ease in preparation as well as eye-appeal.

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fauve September 16, 2002

Wonderful recipe Merlot. I served this as a side dish for our Mexican menu. This was so easy and full of great flavors, colors and textures. My family gave it their hands-down approval. You are right, it would make a great dip as well. Will try that next time. Thanks. Gladys

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gladys58 September 12, 2002

Thank you for a wonderful recipe! I had a few green peppers that I wanted to use so I stuffed them with this recipe...turned out delicious! I did add the sour cream while eating instead of while cooking as others suggested but want to try adding it while cooking next time to use dish as a dip!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
renny4 July 25, 2010

This was delicious, and I liked it better (both nutrition-wise and taste-wise) with the following changes:
I swapped out the canned corn for frozen, to reduce sodium
I added a diced and sauteed onion
I added diced red and green bell peppers
i added a clove of garlic, diced
I swapped out the 8 oz sour cream for 2oz sour cream and 2 oz fat free greek yogurt
I swapped out the 2 cups cheese for 1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar and 1/2 cup low fat cheddar cheese
I added oregano, cumin, black pepper, and a packet of Goya Sazon (it's in the spice aisle or else the mexican food aisle)
In addition to olives and cheddar cheese, I added some coarsely broken Fritos corn chips at the end of the cooking.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allknowingtomato September 22, 2010

Easy to prepare & delicious, with all of the flavors! I used fat free sour cream to good effect and served the olives on the side since most of my guests wouldn't eat them. Thanks for sharing!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews May 06, 2010

This was really good for the simple ingredients. I did not have black beans so used kidney beans. Impressive for simple ingredients.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz March 21, 2011

My family loved this! I didn't have any rice so I used Spanish Rice flavored Rice A Roni. I also used a little less cheese to cut down on some of the fat. Yummy! Will definitely make it again since it is so easy to put together. This is a great vegetarian dish, but you could easily add cooked chicken or ground beef to it.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loricrenshaw February 02, 2011

It was easy to make and very tasty. I'll be putting this recipe in my cook book.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ahentz.jones April 05, 2010

I agree with the other reviews. This is a great dish. Easy to make and great tasting. Everyone asked for the recipe.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda R September 20, 2002

This makes a great side dish if you are doing a Tex-Mex dinner. I liked it with "hot" Picante Sauce instead of the "medium-hot". Very easy recipe, just dump everything in a casserole dish and bake.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enobmah September 05, 2002
Mexican Vegetarian Casserole