Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Vegetarian Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Vegetarian Casserole

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2002

      I purposely left out the sour cream before baking this and saved it until last, then added cool sour cream atop steaming casserole when done. Superb! Also added about 1/2 cup more Pace salsa to the recipe. This one gets its stars for its ease in preparation as well as eye-appeal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      Wonderful recipe Merlot. I served this as a side dish for our Mexican menu. This was so easy and full of great flavors, colors and textures. My family gave it their hands-down approval. You are right, it would make a great dip as well. Will try that next time. Thanks. Gladys

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      This was delicious, and I liked it better (both nutrition-wise and taste-wise) with the following changes:
      I swapped out the canned corn for frozen, to reduce sodium
      I added a diced and sauteed onion
      I added diced red and green bell peppers
      i added a clove of garlic, diced
      I swapped out the 8 oz sour cream for 2oz sour cream and 2 oz fat free greek yogurt
      I swapped out the 2 cups cheese for 1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar and 1/2 cup low fat cheddar cheese
      I added oregano, cumin, black pepper, and a packet of Goya Sazon (it's in the spice aisle or else the mexican food aisle)
      In addition to olives and cheddar cheese, I added some coarsely broken Fritos corn chips at the end of the cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      Thank you for a wonderful recipe! I had a few green peppers that I wanted to use so I stuffed them with this recipe...turned out delicious! I did add the sour cream while eating instead of while cooking as others suggested but want to try adding it while cooking next time to use dish as a dip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      My family loved this! I didn't have any rice so I used Spanish Rice flavored Rice A Roni. I also used a little less cheese to cut down on some of the fat. Yummy! Will definitely make it again since it is so easy to put together. This is a great vegetarian dish, but you could easily add cooked chicken or ground beef to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Easy to prepare & delicious, with all of the flavors! I used fat free sour cream to good effect and served the olives on the side since most of my guests wouldn't eat them. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      This was really good for the simple ingredients. I did not have black beans so used kidney beans. Impressive for simple ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      I have made this for big family dinners and it is always a favorite! I did substitute a 16 ounce jar of mild salsa insted of the hotter picante sause and rotel and used pepper jack cheese. Also saved the sour cream for a topping when served. Thanks Merlot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      It was easy to make and very tasty. I'll be putting this recipe in my cook book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      I made this yesterday for company. It was very easy to prepare. It was a huge hit with everyone! The flavors were very good too. I served this with fajitas, corn and flan for dessert. I will definitely make this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      I agree with the other reviews. This is a great dish. Easy to make and great tasting. Everyone asked for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2002

      This makes a great side dish if you are doing a Tex-Mex dinner. I liked it with "hot" Picante Sauce instead of the "medium-hot". Very easy recipe, just dump everything in a casserole dish and bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This is Great Stuff!! We had it with tortilla chips and everyone raved! I used frozen corn instead of canned, and brown rice instead of white, low fat sour cream worked just fine and I added a can of pinto beans. Next time I will use 2 cans of olives on top instead of just one. Very yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      Such a good and easy dish! It's a hit with everyone - even non-vegetarians.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      This could almost be used as chip dip. Really tasty and easy, my favorite combination. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2013

      I was looking for some simple bean&rice recipes to keep grocery costs down, and this is probably the best I've tried so far. Great flavor and stands well on it's own as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      This is really yummy and has become a favorite meal at our house. I've substituted the green onions with leeks on occasion, which works out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      Have been wanting to make this for a long time, but I'd been rejecting it because the fat content seemed excessive. So, I bought some 50% fat pepper jack cheese and decided to take the plunge. I substituted some Greek yogurt for the sour cream and used 1 1/2 cups cheese instead of 3 cups. I also happened to have kalamata olives at home so I used those instead of the usual bland black olives. Could not find Pace brand picante sauce so I used Green Mountain brand medium salsa instead. BF and I were very pleased with the outcome. We added extra hot sauce. Thanks for this recipe Merlot, I'd make it again with low fat adjustments:D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2003

      No need for meat in a dish this hearty. A great combination of all things Mexican. I served the leftovers wrapped in flour tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Oh man, this was soooooooooooo darn good. I have been craving Tex-Mex for sooo long and this just hit the spot. I halved the recipe for the two of us and still had some leftovers. I didnt have sour cream so substituted with yogurt. Also, as suggested by some reviewers, i mixed half the cheese in the salsa mix and sprinkled the other half on top during the last 20 mins of baking. We made burritos out of this. The only problem i had, or perhaps a short coming on my part for some reason was that the mix was too watery even after baking for the full time. Maybe next time i should drain the canned stuff. Nevertheless, this was EXTREMELY good. Thanks for sharing Merlot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Vegetarian Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (392 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 593.4
     
    Calories from Fat 294
    49%
    Total Fat 32.6 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 19.6 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 89.9 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1104.4 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.5 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 28.7 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes