16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this cake twice. It's so delicious and you can't get enough. I baked the cake for 45 mins. at 325 degrees in a 7.5"x12" Pyrex pan and it was perfect. After baking, I poked holes all over the cake with a fork so the liquid would soak in. I substituted 1 TBSP vanilla for the rum.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chutneyluv July 25, 2010

This is very good. The first time I forgot to put the plastic wrap over the soaking cake, and we ended up with a cake float. The second time I followed the instructions explicitly and it turned out fine. Note to eaters: this is also very good without the frosting... try a little whipped cream and fresh berries on top... YUM. Thanks for posting Mille®™!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Titanium Chef May 13, 2002

This cake tasted great and received many compliments. I made it the evening before a party. By the time I took it out of the pan, the next day it was quite soggy (more like flan than cake). It looked fine after I frosted it and garnished it. I think next time though I will use a little less milk and make it the day of my party.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klincko August 27, 2011

Had the same problem as in another review, my pan was too small. Also followed the advice of poking holes with a skewer to help the tres leche sink in, probably wouldn't have had to do this if I owned a bigger pan! This cake is SOOO yummy though and worth the effort!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
micro_ang April 08, 2010

Love this cake, it's like the Mexican version of pound cake, except it isn't as heavy as you would think. The only thing I do differently, is after the cake part has baked, I take a skewer (the wooden type for kabobs), and I puncture holes all over the top of the cake, and then VERY slowly pour the milk mixture over it---that way the milk soaks in nicely, and you don't have to weigh it down while it's in the fridge. Because of this, the cake doesn't look too pretty, so I usually serve it with a nice fruit salad topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brook2 December 20, 2009

This cake was simply fantastic. I used my oval corningware dish and cooked it for an extra 5 minutes. I did use the whip cream frosting as it covered the small holes in my cake as I had used a fork to make a few holes so the liquid could be absorbed a little easier. The cake was made the night before and I poured th liquid in after it cooled down a bit. I frosted it just an hour before serving. THANKS for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sashagnb November 30, 2009

This cake turned out perfect!! I actually made it in a round baking dish and the measurements were spot on! I love the hint of rum in the milk mix. Can't wait to make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eriemusic17 September 20, 2009

My husband fell in love with the Tres leche Cake on our honeymoon in Cancun. This recipe does not copy the cake, but it is pretty darn close to it. My husband LOVES this cake !!!!! And it is so simple and easy to make. Great recipe !!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paulinewho March 09, 2009
Mexican Tres Leche Cake