Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Tortas De Milanesa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Tortas De Milanesa

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2005

      Robin, I've lived in Mexico most of my long life. I've eaten and made these scrumptious tortas A LOT!. Just a comment, they're so much better on warm bread, so just slightly toast them on stovetop pancake grill, as you assemble them, and serve them immediately or keep on low setting in regular oven until ready to serve. You may also add a strip or two of chipotle chile or jalapeƱos (or a drizzle of their juice) in the filling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      I have been meaning to rate this for awhile now. I have made it several times and am always pleased with the outcome. When I am especially concerned about limiting the fat content, I omit the chorizo and it is still good. Thanks for the post!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2003

      Wonderful & truly authentic recipe! My significant other is from Puebla, Mexico and firmly reccommends trying a variation, with refried beans & the bread most indigenous to the one they use in his family in Mexico is what the supermarkets call "Portegese rolls". Thank you so much for this recipe- its about time for a truly authentic recipe for tortas!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      This is a very good recipe and if you like torta's you should give it a try, you can vary the bread to your taste. The one thing I would recommended only because many may not do it. If you cook the chorizo and the beans together you can just spread it as one and use the left over bean/chorizo for a good start for a morning burrito. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      We made this for two people tonight, following your directions, with reductions in qty for two servings. Only modifications were that I didn't use the onions, used italian flavored breadcrumbs and I made my own chorizo from bulk turkey sausage and additional spices, (using substitution info for chorizo found online,) since we don't eat pork. This was as good as the Tortas that we get at our local authentic mexican restaurant. We will be making these at home from now on. BTW - after you make these once you won't need to look at the directions any more - very simple once you run through it. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Just like the tortas at our local torta place-- which Mexico City natives have informed me is "autentico!" The only change I made was using bolillos and once the sandwich is made, I put it in a hot, greased pan with a weighted greased pan on top to "press" the sandwich like our torta place does, and I don't like tomato so I leave it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      Fabuloso! I had some milanesa steak in the freezer that I wanted to use up and stumbled upon this recipe. I did not follow the recipe exactly and just sort of eyeballed all the ingredients. I used cotija cheese instead of queso fresco since it was what I had and used fresh bolillos (Mexican rolls) from the Mexican bakery down the street from our house. The bolillos were still warm when made the tortas and they were fantastic! I also refried the beans with the chorizo and seasoned the steaks with salt and pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      All I can say is, "WOW." These were soooo good. I love steak. I love chorizo. I looovveee avocados! This was just the best. The only things that I changed were that I put the sandwiches on ciabatta bread and squeezed a little lime juice onto the finished sandwiches. I absolutely loved this recipe, and cannot wait to make it again. Thanx! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      This recipe was fantastic. My whole family really enjoyed it and it is definitely a keeper. Thanks so much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2005

      I'm not going to rate this just yet, because I made a significant misstep. However, even with my goof, I really liked this, especially reheated the next day! I used thinly sliced bottom round steak and it was so tough I could barely chew it! So it is important to use tender cut of meat. The combo of the beans, cheese, onions and chorizo was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2005

      I made these and used another recipe from recipezaar for teleras or bolillos(a Mexican bread). They were excellent and enjoyed by a group of college students.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Tortas De Milanesa

    Serving Size: 1 (1740 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 955.9
     
    Calories from Fat 526
    55%
    Total Fat 58.4 g
    89%
    Saturated Fat 18.7 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 182.7 mg
    60%
    Sodium 1632.3 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.2 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 14.3 g
    57%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    26%
    Protein 41.4 g
    82%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    queso fresco

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites