Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Tamales Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Tamales

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2011

      The taste of these was good, but we would prefer a lot more spice. It is a great starter recipe. This was my first time making my own and it was easier in some ways than I thought. It can be a little time consuming, but once you get going (espeically folding the tamales) then it isn't too bad. I didn't really understand how to fold them so I did what we do now days....I googled a you tube video of some people folding and it was GREAT!! I did have to add a little more sauce/broth to my masa to make it the right consistency (in one of the folding videos an older mexican lady said it should be wetter than most people make it). I did mine like hers and they came out PERFECT!! I wasn't sure when I tried opened them right after being steamed, but I let them cool a while and came back...they unrolled perfectly and stayed together great! Almost all of my kids loved them! The crockpot and the food processor definitely made doing this less intimidating for a beginner. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      I had heard how difficult tamales were to make. It wasn't that hard! I used a 10x10 inch piece of parchment paper to roll the tamales, since that's what I already had on hand. It worked great-no soaking time either. I'll use this again to use up leftover meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      OMG!!! I'm very picky when it comes to tamales..... but these where amazing!!! These were almost if not not better than my g-ma's! Thank you so such for posting this. The only thing I did different was I used the left over chiles and garlic with a tomato and some of the juices to make an additional sauce to put in with the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      Easier to put together than i thought. my .02 is that you cook the meat in a crockpot one day and then shred and then place back into the sauce for a bit to marinate all of the meat. I used a pork shoulder and it worked out great but i wanted a little more flavor to be all the way through, and i think you meant teaspoons not table spoons for the dough so that you can get 36 out. i jsut used as much as each husk would hold and i did not get near so i think i was trying to make it to thick. but stil easy to make and put together plus good flavor and smell off the meat. i will make this again with very minor modifications.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      After my first run at this recipe, I too thought they were a little bland so my next several batches I cooked them like I do everything else, with a little this n that added. I mixed some of the red sauce back in with the meat and simmer as some reviewers did, and also added more garlic and peppers and used garlic salt in the masa mix instead of plain salt. Every time I make them I think I should have doubled the recipe so I had a a few to freeze!! Very good starting point and while time consuming, easy if you take the time to get thru them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      This was a great recipe for tamales. I used beef and mixed some of the sauce into the meat filling before rolling them up and steaming. They turned out wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Great recipe, hen my neighbors found out what I was doing they ate them all and drank all my beer. Great and simple to make . I used my pressure cooker for the pork took about 1 hour to cook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      This was not only my first time making tamales; it was my (Mexican) bf's mom's first time as well. And they were delicious! However, we didn't get even close to 36 tamales. We also used a lot more harina and used lard rather than shortening because the mom kept telling me, "Everyone in mexico uses lard." Also, the meat was fairly bland, so we ended up making some hot salsa to go with them- in the future we will be adding sauce with the meat in the husk before steaming. We WILL be making these again soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      Living in Chicago, I have access to some really good tamales. On my way to work i pass about 3 or 4 stands selling their yummy tamales every morning.This recipe holds up to any of theirs. Now I can make my own. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Thank you so much for posting this.I used to make and sell these in Texas. I added paprika to the dough to enhance the color.Every year when the temp dropped everyone we knew was calling to place their order for tamales.They wanted them for Christmas parties and such.They would cut them in smaller pieces and serve on a platter.Some wanted them to take to their hunting cabins.Anyway this is almost identical to the recipe I used from a cookbook out of San Antonio,Tx.and I could not keep up with the orders.Usually ended up selling the ones I had frozen for my family.These are absolutely great!I plan on making them again soon to freeze.First batch did'nt last long.If you like tamales,this is it!!!!!!!!!Again,thank you for posting katie!I would love to give this one a zillion stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      Great recipe. First time I made them was for Thanksgiving Dinner. I decided to do something a little less than traditional. For the sauce, I opted to make a turkey gravy with the giblets, sage and rosemary, vice what was left from the crockpot. These were enjoyed thoroughly by everyone.

      The next time I used this recipe, I decided to go with chicken, a little cheese and lime with cilantro. For the sauce, I decided upon a creamy chicken gravy but with a little ancho chile powder and dried cumin.

      I'll have to try it with the pork, next time. Still, an excellent recipe. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      This is a great recipe. My only problem was I wanted to make tamales that day and didn't have time for a crock pot. Next time I will, though, and I bet it will be better yet. I put everything in the oven and cooked it low for about 3-4 hours. The sauce is amazing, I was very happy with it as I've tried other much more complex and not as good. Thanks for sharing, glad he was good for something!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      This was not complicated, just time consuming. I was able to use up the rest of a pork roast I had, and just added in the seasonings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      This was my 1st attempt at making tamales myself. The recipe was fairly easy to follow, but the end product I didn't think was great. This did not taste like any homemade tamales I have ever had. I thought they were more similar to the ones that come in a jar at the supermarket. Although the sauce did pick it up a bit, the flavor was just to bland for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Absolutely fantastic recipe! Story also reminds me of a recipe I have in the vault. Ex-bf's super secret family recipe, they would not give it up, finally did right before the break-up. I like to say it was the only good thing that came out of that relationship! I made these based on your story alone! LOL Thank you! Very very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      By far this is the least intimidating tamale recipe I have seen on the net. I Love it! Using the slow cooker is ingenious!!! Mixing the masa in a kitchen aid is way way easier than I thought. This was so easy and sooooo GOOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      This was my first attempt at making tamales and they turned out great! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      Hi Katie, I have been looking for a good Tamales recipe!!! This sounds so wonderful and fits just what I was looking for, with the red sauce. Thank you very much, Katie. Love, Becky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      Great REcipe... I found a love of making tamales and have been searching for the recipe with the homemade red sauce. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      This is a great recipe, Lots of work....but worth it. I used beef broth instead of chicken, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Tamales

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 361.0
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    43%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 86.9 mg
    28%
    Sodium 396.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 31.2 g
    62%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ripe olives

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites