Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Taco Pinwheels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Taco Pinwheels

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2011

      I've made these pinwheels many times, and always get rave reviews. After reading some of these reviews,let me give some tips that I hope will be helpful. Don't attempt to slice the rolls, until after they've chilled in the fridge for at least a couple of hours, and the cream cheese has "set up". Also if you put a tortilla shell (I do one at a time) in the microwave, for about 12 seconds,on high,before you spread on the filling, they roll up much easier. Also, the kind of fillings you can make are only limited to your imagination. The cream cheese is the only primary,and necessary component. (oh, and the tortilla shells, of course). Hope this helps.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      10 Stars aren't enough! Within one week, I made them for a family get-together and a campground pot luck. I got "mega" compliments for the pinwheels but you deserve the "all" the praise for a "super" easy and "super" tasty recipe. Printers are still making copies, including mine! I used all your ingredients but did do things a little differently. I mixed the chilies with the cream cheese but sprinkled the pimento and black olives & cheese on top after I spread the cream cheese mixture. After rolled & chilled, they looked so pretty when I sliced them. I did slice them in a 1/2 inch slice and served them with a med. hot salsa. I have no doubt that sour cream, grated lime rind and a bit of lime juice and minced celantro would work too. I plan to try that the next time I make them. I think a "key" to success is patting the chilies, pimento and olives dry. Thank you Marg, This is a "keeper" and a "favorite". :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Just made these to take to a potluck at work. My only problem was slicing them nice after they were rolled up. Kinda messy but that might just be my technique (or lack there of.) They taste good, and light. I am a fan of all the "chipotle ranch" dressings now and that is what these remind me of. I did add shredded cheese. I saw a mention or two that this was too salty so I bought the Low Sodium packet of taco seasoning.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

      These are a great little party snack! Everyone loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      These are fantastic, I made them for a family dinner and they were a bit spicy for a couple of people but everyone else loved them. I used Philadelphia Cream Cheese (the best). I am in Australia so I couldn't find some ingredients. I used a jar of jalapenos, sliced olives and oven roasted piquillo peppers and chopped them all together. Also couldn't find dry ranch dressing but used a home-made version. It helps to spread the mix right to the edge of the tortilla and roll nice and tightly to avoid gaps in the middle when cut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      This were very good and easy. I didn't think that it was too salty for our tastes. The only thing I added was once I spread the cream cheese mixture on the flour tortilla, I put some shredded cheese on top and then rolled them up. I made the cream cheese mixture the night before I needed them. Then the next morning I rolled them, left them whole, covered in plastic wrap, and then cut them right before I needed them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      These were good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Very good recipe. I omitted the green chilies but added cayenne pepper. I would definately make this again for a party. This recipe is full of flavor. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I made this for my church Sunday school Christmas party and everyone loved them. I had to make them again just so I can have some more for myself. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      I took these to my sons wrestling meet for the hospitality room. I returned to the room 30 minutes later and they were gone! They didn't even make it to lunch time...lol. I made a double batch but that wasn't enough. I really liked the flavor of these and will use this recipefrom now on. Thank you so much for another terrific recipe....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      I had to see this recipe because I make something similar. I am not a fan of anything "chunky" in my food...like pimentos so I make mine with cream cheese, McCormick Hot Taco seasoning, and finely chopped jalepenos. My MIL hates spicy food and loves these. Even my 5 year old niece exclaimed "these are good, how do make these?" so cute lol. Nice recipe, will try for parties. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      they were a huge success at a party, I used chopped red bell pepper instead of the olives and some German seasonings instead of the once in the recipe for obvious reasons...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      This recipe was a huge success at work. However, I used a bit less ranch dressing mix and didn't have pimentos. I also made them two days in advance and wrapped the rolled tortillas individually in waxed paper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      I made this last night and sliced them when I got home from church. I did add some shredded cheese. they are so yummy. I know my family will love these, if there is any left when they get here. Thanks for a great appetizer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      I have made these many times, and they are absolutely delicious! People can't leave them alone. I get rave reviews every time I serve them, and the plate is always one of the first to be emptied! For those that have tried it, and thought it was too salty, try less dry mix next time to suit your taste...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2005

      These were good, but much too salty us. I added another 8 oz of cream cheese but next time we'll have to cut down on the dry ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2005

      I'm glad we tried these, but for our tastes they were too salty and too mushy in texture. The filling needs something to balance all the saltiness, maybe some shredded chicken or some type of nuts for crunch. I chilled mine for 4 hours but when you bite into one it tastes like your eating a spoonful of cream chease with taco seasoning and the tortilla sort of mashes into it. I think if you like rich tasting foods you will probably like this one, it just didn't fly with my family. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2005

      Excellent! I brought these to two different functions and they were devoured!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Taco Pinwheels

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 220.7
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    43%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 20.8 mg
    6%
    Sodium 398.2 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dry ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites