Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican-Style Rice (Sopa Seca) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican-Style Rice (Sopa Seca)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2009

      "It's soooo good." -DH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      While this takes a bit more effort than I'd like for a side dish, it is absolutely worth it! I have donet this now with both canned and fresh ingredients. I've also used jarred jalepenos and sweet onions. While fresh is best, this recipe is totally worth doing if you don't have the fresh stuff on hand, It tastes even better the next day. I like to use a mix of corn and peas for color and sweetness. My one year old loves it, too! (He likes spicy stuff.) Don't leave out the salt, it is important and I am not a salt fan. When I make this as a side dish, I usually eat more of this than the main course and tend to wolf it down in the middle of the night when no one is looking. Thank you a million times over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      amazing! added more jalapenos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      This is wonderful! I love the texture of the rice when prepared this way. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes or chilies, so I used 7 oz. can of original Rotel tomatoes. I doubt I'll ever make traditional Spanish rice again. With a green salad, this made dinner for me. Thank you for this recipe, Cookgirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      This had a lot of steps but it was very tasty. I think my onion was pretty large as there was a very intense onion flavor that burned the kids eyes as it cooked. I loved it but will use a little less as the kids weren't as fond of it. We used corn instead of peas due to kids again and it was very good. I used a shorter grain of rice, the name escapes me butit is a specialty Mexican rice, so I needed to add aother cup of broth. Worked just fine. Thanks for a fun and yummy new dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      Delicious! I wouldn't change anything about this recipe, except to double it next time I make it. :) It makes a good vegetarian meal with refried beans. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2006

      This rice came out perfect the very 1st time! I did use 2 fresh jalapenos and 1 fresh habanero in the blended sauce though as we like things hot hot hot!! This is a good base recipe that can be modified by playing with different spices/ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2006

      This rice had great flavor. Mine came out a little wetter than I wanted, so I turned up the heat and let it air out a little and then was great. Could be due to my modifications (used what I had on hand) 1 8oz can tomato sauce, 4 slices jarred jalapeno. Will definitely use this again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      Made this delicious rice for the 4th time.This time I added a little pablano pepper and brown sugar,we love this recipe!Thank you for this sopa seca.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      This is wonderful. I ate 2 1/2 servings and enjoyed every bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      I have never made rice like this before (the boiling, drying, frying, sauteing, and simmering LOL.) I am not a big fan of tomato sauce so this review is from the other two eaters who scarfed it down in seconds flat. They loved it and there was even complements in between bites. One of the first sentances uttered during dinner was "this rice is great!". Thanks Cookgirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican-Style Rice (Sopa Seca)

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.9
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    24%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 298.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes