22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very tasty! I used one quart of water and a 12-ounce jar of jalapeño peppers. Black peppercorns were also added to the mix. My carrots were the little baby carrots. They were really thin and small so there was no need to boil them. I just packed them into jars and ladled the boiling mixture over them and capped and sealed. This makes a great crunchy snack to take the place of a high fat crunch from potato chips.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge March 22, 2007

For my taste, the carrots were overcooked after five minutes, and they were even softer after sitting covered while the solution cooled -- and continued to cook them. Otherwise, the flavor is good; the oregano could be doubled or tripled without harm though.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stanford June 27, 2006

Muchas Gracias!!! This is the hot carrot recipe I was hoping for. Hot carrots are so commonly served at authentic Mexican restaurants and taco shops where I grew up in San Diego, CA. Now that we live in Montana we really miss the great little things in life. Serve as an appetizer with chips and salsa before a Mexican meal. Best with a little crunch. We added 1 TBL of oil. Thank you for sharing. Muy delicioso!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gemgal August 08, 2009

I read some of the reviews and like many I prefer a somewhat crunchy hot carrot like the ones to be had in San Diego (grew up there). I halved the boiling time, but with the cooling down period, it's still much too long. I'm thinking that really they don't need to be boiled at all, but rather bring the water to a boil, then remove from heat, put in carrots immediately along with all other ingredients and go from there. I also added some chopped cilantro, cumin seeds, and fresh sliced jalapeno peppers for even more heat. The flavor is great, just next time, not boiling the carrots at all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keestadoll October 05, 2012

Extremely easy to prepare and the flavor is fantastic. I'm in San Diego and this is so close to the authentic Mexican restaurant flavor you'll love it! From a non-cook's point of view, it doesn't get any easier. The flavor is best after chilling for 2 days, so make ahead...you won't be sorry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbgiggler May 21, 2011

This was a good recipe overall. I think 5 minutes is too long to boil the carrots, it takes all of the crunch out. Also, I think I will cut back on the oil next time and add more jalepenos for more kick. Thanks for posting, I have been craving these since I came back from San Diego!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristina K January 16, 2010

A lovely, flavorful treat quite easily made. We'll be making this one again. I like a little crunch in this type of pickle, so undercooked the carrots some.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 September 29, 2008

Well, if I hadn't expected Mexican style carrots, I would have liked these, but I was expecting a true Mexican style carrot. The abundance of cider vinegar gave these more of a pickled carrot flavor, maybe this is TexMex vs. Mexican.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup December 13, 2007

Great nibbles! I never had these before, so not sure what they should be like. But we knew we would love them. How ever, I did add more salt and oregano, about doubled both and it really improved it for us. With jalapeno I was more careful and just 4 oz was right for us. Also, I cut the carrots in long sticks, so they are easier to crab and nibble on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare March 12, 2007

Something old, something blue and something pickled! Ate all my vegetables as a kid and, yet, survived into adulthood. How'd dat happen?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 17, 2014
Mexican Style Hot Pickled Carrots