Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Style Hot Pickled Carrots Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Style Hot Pickled Carrots

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2007

      Very tasty! I used one quart of water and a 12-ounce jar of jalapeño peppers. Black peppercorns were also added to the mix. My carrots were the little baby carrots. They were really thin and small so there was no need to boil them. I just packed them into jars and ladled the boiling mixture over them and capped and sealed. This makes a great crunchy snack to take the place of a high fat crunch from potato chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      For my taste, the carrots were overcooked after five minutes, and they were even softer after sitting covered while the solution cooled -- and continued to cook them. Otherwise, the flavor is good; the oregano could be doubled or tripled without harm though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Muchas Gracias!!! This is the hot carrot recipe I was hoping for. Hot carrots are so commonly served at authentic Mexican restaurants and taco shops where I grew up in San Diego, CA. Now that we live in Montana we really miss the great little things in life. Serve as an appetizer with chips and salsa before a Mexican meal. Best with a little crunch. We added 1 TBL of oil. Thank you for sharing. Muy delicioso!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      I read some of the reviews and like many I prefer a somewhat crunchy hot carrot like the ones to be had in San Diego (grew up there). I halved the boiling time, but with the cooling down period, it's still much too long. I'm thinking that really they don't need to be boiled at all, but rather bring the water to a boil, then remove from heat, put in carrots immediately along with all other ingredients and go from there. I also added some chopped cilantro, cumin seeds, and fresh sliced jalapeno peppers for even more heat. The flavor is great, just next time, not boiling the carrots at all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      Extremely easy to prepare and the flavor is fantastic. I'm in San Diego and this is so close to the authentic Mexican restaurant flavor you'll love it! From a non-cook's point of view, it doesn't get any easier. The flavor is best after chilling for 2 days, so make ahead...you won't be sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      This was a good recipe overall. I think 5 minutes is too long to boil the carrots, it takes all of the crunch out. Also, I think I will cut back on the oil next time and add more jalepenos for more kick. Thanks for posting, I have been craving these since I came back from San Diego!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      A lovely, flavorful treat quite easily made. We'll be making this one again. I like a little crunch in this type of pickle, so undercooked the carrots some.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Well, if I hadn't expected Mexican style carrots, I would have liked these, but I was expecting a true Mexican style carrot. The abundance of cider vinegar gave these more of a pickled carrot flavor, maybe this is TexMex vs. Mexican.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      Great nibbles! I never had these before, so not sure what they should be like. But we knew we would love them. How ever, I did add more salt and oregano, about doubled both and it really improved it for us. With jalapeno I was more careful and just 4 oz was right for us. Also, I cut the carrots in long sticks, so they are easier to crab and nibble on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2014

      Something old, something blue and something pickled! Ate all my vegetables as a kid and, yet, survived into adulthood. How'd dat happen?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2013

      Very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      This was great! I did alter though, I figured if there was going to be some boiling going on I might as well include the seasonings to the water to infuse the flavors into the carrots & onions. I doubled the recipe and added the onions, oregano, garlic, bay leaves and salt to the carrots and boiled it all together. I didn't boil for the full 5 minutes as others stated... I like my carrots to be a little crisp. When it was almost done (I testest the carrots often as I went along). When the carrots were to my liking I pulled them off the heat and added the rest of the ingredients. I did add more salt as I felt they needed it. Perfect! My container wasn't able to hold all the liquid so I have a nice base to start my next batch, just need to add the carrots and boil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      I was looking for easy to make Mexican carrot pickles and finally found it!

      This is an excellent basic recipe! I ommitted oils (since I am looking for low calorie snacks), and added black peppercorns just like at my favorite Mexican restaurant does.

      I prefer not so mushy carrots, so I only boiled them for 2 and a half minutes and turned out perfect!!

      Now I can make my own carrot pickles, I don't have to go to a Taco stand in Santa Ana and only to buy a taco so I can get their carrot pickles.

      Thank you soooo much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      Awesome,,not even the local taco shops makes them like this. Maybe one in Escondido is very close. The boiling time really depends on the carrots, baby carrots short time, regular need more time. Now I don't have to go out and have these great snacks:):):),, Thank You!! I love your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      This tasted very authentic! I halved the recipe and after marinating only an hour it was delicious. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      YUM!! This is exactly like the carrot/onion/pepper mix that is served before a meal in authentic Mexican restaurants in So Cal. Thanks for sharing the recipe so I can make them myself (out in the carolinas!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      I love this recipe..Its right on. I added a little red onion and some other veges to the mixture as well. Fantastic.!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      These carrots are declicious- the balance of flavors is perfect between spicy, vinegar, herb and oil. Even people who normally don't like pickled foods were piling these on their tacos and asking for more for their sandwiches. I always add extra garlic to give extra kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      I made this tonight to go with supper so it did not have time to marinade. So I boiled it a little while longer This was delishious and we will be eating it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Style Hot Pickled Carrots

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 62.8
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    46%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 611.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites