Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican-Style Green Chile Chicken Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican-Style Green Chile Chicken Casserole

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2008

      Being from New Mexico, I thought my way of making this casserole was the best..WRONG!!! I tried your recipe, similar to mine, but yours is SOOOOOO much better! We loved it!!! I used 3, yes 3 jalapenos, and next time will add more Hatch chile. I (we)like things HOT and SPICY, just how I like my men!! LOL Kittencal, I have tried numerous recipes from you and they ALL have been wonderful! Thanks for sharing with us!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      Eh - followed the recipe to the tee, even adding a jalapeno as suggested. We still thought it was very bland and mushy. If I were to ever make it again, which I won't, I'd only add half the soup mixture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      Delicious with a capital " D " ! I call this comfort food and this is now on regular menu rotation in our house. Simple to prepare and so easy to make too. I roast a chicken a day in advance but certainly you could use a store bought roasted chicken. Serve with sour cream. Thanks for such a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      This was delicious! I'm in the process of freezing meals for when my baby arrives this fall and the recipe worked perfectly to split into two 8"x8" pans. No modifications to ingredient amounts necessary! Since I was using 8"x8" pans, I used burrito-sized tortillas and just trimmed the edges a bit to get them to fit the square shape and it worked perfectly. This was a delicious meal that I can't wait to have again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      This was great! I made it today and took to the peanut field. They all seemed to enjoy it. I served it with pinto beans, cornbread and salad and chocolate cake for dessert. <br/>Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      Another great recipe! I didn't have any tortillas, but had chips from Qdoba, they went on the bottom, and spicy Doritos on top. The dish was terrific!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      I loved this casserole. Simple to make. Delicious! I made black beans and white rice to go with this dish. My 6 year old son loved it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      A very dependable recipe that will work well with a lot of variation. I didn't see the value of separating the soup mixture and applying it in three different steps, and then when it was bubbling in the dish, I understood how it helped everything come together. I made mine hotter--more jalape?o, a sprinkle of chili powder, and some chipotle sauce--the way my family likes it. But I could just as easily toned it down for folks of different taste. Very simple and very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2012

      This recipe was great! My family really liked it and I plan on using more jalape?o peppers next time since we love our food even more spicy. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      followed recipe to a tee. was super good. loved it. way to go

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      I don't usually use Cream of soups, so I made my own. This was excellent and just the right amount of spiciness for us! What a great casserole!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      Made this recipe as written and just cut it in half - it was FANTASTIC! I was worried that the amount of green chilies would be too much for my 11 year old and his buddy, but they were just the perfect amount. The only thing I'd do differently next time is I'd make the full recipe (and maybe top my serving with a tiny dollop of sour cream)! Yum! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      my husband and i had this last night and it was delicious. i didn't change the recipe at all, just halved it to fit a smaller baking dish. i made Corn and Black Bean Salsa as a side and served with blue tortilla chips, and served some fresh pineapple as a second side. received a big thumbs up to put into regular rotation. looking forward to leftovers tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Just made this! OMG so yummy! I cheated and used canned chicken. So easy and so very good. Will make this again..soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Wow! This is soooooooo good! A real keeper. I will make this again and again. Easy to make too. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      Tonight was my 2nd time making this. The first time it was a little dry and didn't look like the pictures, so I thought I did something wrong. I made it again today and it was AMAZING. The flavor was better and it wasn't so dry (must have left out the broth before or something). I'm a vegetarian, so I made some substitutions: I used veggie broth (Better Than Bouillon), Cream on Celery, and Quorn Chik'n Tenders in place of the meat products. I didn't use the jalapenos, but I used a 7 ounce can of green chilies and it was the perfect amount. Thanks again for another wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      Awesome recipe! I love green chiles so I added some extra! I could really taste the cumin, too! (I used 2 teaspoons.) Also, I used 2 cream of chicken soups. I cooked it for my husband and his friend and they thought it was "MMMHHMM!" Very very good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Very good! I wish I would have had all the green chilis the recipe called for, but I went ahead with what I had (one 7oz can) and it was still good! I added cayenne - about a half teaspoon - to spice it up and I thought it was wonderful. Used one can of cream of chix and one can of cream of celery as that was what I had. Very good! Thanks, Kittencal. Another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      This casserole is soo good. I made it tonight for dinner and did not change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Kittencal...this is some yummy dish. My husband requested I make a 'tex-mex' casserole from leftover roast chicken and some Anaheim chilis from the garden. I had to substitute flour tortillas for the corn and a cup of sour cream because I was a can shy of the cream of chicken. Served with a fresh salad of diced tomatoes, scallions and avocados....so sooo good. Of course had to have the pre-requisite Margarita to go with it all :-) Thanks for the inspiration!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican-Style Green Chile Chicken Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (331 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 504.4
     
    Calories from Fat 210
    41%
    Total Fat 23.3 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 95.4 mg
    31%
    Sodium 910.8 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    21%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 32.0 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes