143 Reviews

This was good. I felt like it was a lot of work, but my husband loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pitterpat4353 November 12, 2009

I made this in an all weekend cooking frenzy for my OAMC. My DH absolutely loved this! I used a frozen chopped onion, pepper, celery mixture for the chopped onion. Also, I used Peach Pineapple Chipotle Salsa which gave it a real kick!! We will put this in our OAMC rotation for sure!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Thang October 30, 2009

I made this vegan by subbing vegan ground round (Yves brand) for beef and Daiya vegan cheese for the cow-y stuff. Otherwise, I followed the recipe pretty faithfully. I think I added a bit too much chili powder and made them a bit too spicy for my wife. Next time I'll have to tone that down. Also, I will probably try adding in some roasted green chilis for a bit of extra taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elsaturnino October 21, 2009

Following some suggestions from other members, I added a can of black beans & minced chiles along with some chopped black olives. I also added a bit more chile powder and omitted the step of stuffing the shells but added 1/4 lb of bow tie pasta. This was absolutely delicious and am now printing it out to put it in my "favorite" box.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michellejacobus October 16, 2009

I made this last night for my family and they loved it - definitely a "do again." I changed a couple of things to add more flavor -- after browning my beef and onions together I added 3 cloves of garlic, taco seasoning (Bulk Taco Seasoning Mix - much better than packet taco seasoning); increased the water to 3/4 cups (maybe a little more), increased the salsa to probably 1 cup+ of my homemade salsa. I did not measure my shredded cheese (I used Mont. Jack/Cheddar) but I am sure it was more than the recipe called for. I let everything simmer for approx. 10+ minutes -- so flavors could mix together and thicken. When making my tomato sauce I used a pint of my homemade salsa and 1/4 teas. of chili powder for flavor. Proceeded to fill my shells after spreading a thin layer of sauce in 9x13 pan. After pouring remaining sauce over the shells I topped it with a few jalapenos, added my cheese (I just sprinkled the cheese on top, not sure how much). I cooked it for 45+ minutes and let it stand for 5 - 10 minutes before serving. Each serving was topped with a small amount of sour cream and spanish rice was served on the side. Definitely a "do again!" Prep time is definitely more than 15 minutes -- but that was fine with me. Serves 6-8 adults. It was filled with calories, but ohhh so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef lindav #2 October 14, 2009

My familiy loved it -- even the picky 11 year old ate it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mxhanna October 07, 2009

Very tasty meal. My husband is not a fan of ricotta, so it was nice finding a recipe in which I could enjoy jumbo shell noodles. I think this dish has a lot of potential for maybe adding to it. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bittersweetened October 04, 2009

These were very good, but I can't give them a 5 star rating. They just didn't make my tastebuds explode or anything. I was actually a bit disappointed because of the great reviews this gets. Maybe I'll try making again with a few changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Chance September 18, 2009

Very good, I hate stuffing shells, so I might just use a different pasta next time and throw it all together and bake. But this is a real keeper of a recipe, one that can be tweaked pretty easily to each person's tastes. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merrilife September 02, 2009
Mexican Stuffed Shells (Oamc)