Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Stuffed Shells (Oamc) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Stuffed Shells (Oamc)

    Average Rating:

    143 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 143

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2008

    • on December 20, 2008

      I made this for my parents when they came over for dinner. If you love tacos, then this is the recipe for you! We thought they were great and my DD said I can make them for him again soon! I used the Mexican blend cheese, and added in about 2 T. chopped jalapenos into the meat mixture. Spicy but not too hot. This is a keeper Pamela!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Thanks for posting this great recipe. We enjoyed it and are looking forward to making it again. They were so good, we wanted to keep eating them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      These lend themselves well to improvisation. I had no tomato sauce so I just used salsa. I put a cube of pepper jack and cheddar on each shell and covered the whole thing with shredded mozzarella that I had in the fridge. I think cheese in the beef mixture would be a plus (it was slightly dry after baking) and maybe cover it with foil and cook through (my noodles got a little tough around the edges). Then top with cheese until it melts. Sliced avocados complemented it well. DH suggested shredded lettuce and extra salsa. We enjoyed. Wasn't was timed consuming as I thought, though it did dirty up 3 dishes to make this one thing...something I try to avoid. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      Thank you for sharing this was a great meal. I used manicotti shells in place of the jumbo shells and turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Oh my! Everyone loves this dish! Freezes well too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      Made this for dinner this week and the hubby LOVED it! Used Frog Ranch medium salsa. Said it was even better reheated the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Five stars because my husband judged this recipe a "keeper" -- and he's a picky eater. Couple of notes: I added just a bit of sugar to the sauce mixture because straight tomato sauce is too acidic for us. Also, I live at high altitude, and the baking instructions didn't work for me. I wound up baking for approximately 40 minutes at 400 degrees to get the shells warmed thru. All that said, this dish is truly delicious and a snap to make! I threw a bunch of these in the freezer for future use. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      I think my pan was too big for the amount of the shells, so they were a little on a dry side when I took them out of the oven. Also found out that they were a little too salty, probably because of the type of seasoning (I used store-bought) and salsa. Next time I'll make my own seasoning (as suggested!) to avoid extra salt and sodium.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      We enjoyed this. For some reason ours ended up a bit on the salty side, so next time I need to use lower-salt taco seasoning or check the sauce and make sure it's low salt. Other than that, we thought this was great, and we have the other half in the freezer waiting for a busy day. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Really great! We did this as an OAMC recipe, and it was excellent. I don't know if maybe my shells weren't big enough or what, but this made a *lot* of shells. We sort of had mexican stuffed shell casserole by the end of it, but the flavor was amazing. I added crushed red pepper to the portion on my plate just to kick it up a notch. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Great recipe! These were a huge hit at my house. Will definitely make again and again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      My family gave the thumbs up for this recipe. It is going in the keeper box. I added jalapeño peppers to the meat mixture. Very yummy. I also served on a bed of shredded lettuce and added a dollop of sour cream to mine! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      This was really good! I used all salsa instead of tomato sauce and chili powder, and will definitely be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      GREAT!!!!! I made my shells with diced chicken and sauteed a vidalia onion. I also used more salsa instead of using tomato sauce. Very tastey meal....there was not a single one left! Will definitely make this again and again:).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      Yum... quick, easy and delicious. I made extra to freeze for camping. Added some fresh jalapenos with the green onion garnish. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      I made this for dinner last night and it was great! I made a few modifications - substituted ground turkey for the beef, only used 1/2 an onion, and added 1 cup of refried beans to the meat mixture. I cooked half of the shells and froze the others. Looking forward to having this again. Yummers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      This was amazing! Even my two incredibly picky eaters couldn't wait to try it and they loved it. They even ate the leftovers. I used manicotti instead of shells and ended up making a batch like a lasagna. Stuffing just seemed rather time intensive. It was yummy nonetheless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      This dish had awesome flavor! I agree with the previous reviewer that it's a little more work intensive to put together in the shells and I was thinking about also making it a mexican lasagna or with macaroni. I highly recommend it though because the flavors are incredible and it's a nice break from a standard mexican meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      We really liked this, but after making it the first time we found it hard to eat. So I started making it as a hotdish, just mixing everything together with a smaller macaroni. Thanks for posting. I make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Stuffed Shells (Oamc)

    Serving Size: 1 (1965 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.4
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    51%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 31.7 mg
    10%
    Sodium 698.6 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pasta shells

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes