143 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! These were awesome! I used one package of Yves brand vegetarian ground round and 1 tbsp. cumin, 1/2 tsp. chili powder and 1 tsp. chopped garlic instead of seasoning. I used marble cheese and the sauce was soooo good!!! A keeper for sure and very filling!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jellie July 29, 2003

What a great recipe! Made this last night for the 2 of us and hubby and I both agreed it deserved 5 stars! I halved the recipe for just the 2 of us (however, I used 8 shells, not six). Used a little less onion to fit our taste, and used a mix of Monterey Jack and cheddar. Also, I didn't have any taco seasoning so I made my own: 1 T chili powder, 1/2 t salt, and a sprinkle of garlic powder. Sorry to "change" so much, but it was great either way! Had it again for lunch today; will definitely make this again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bug @< July 14, 2003

A 5 * change for us!Had these for supper last night, will be keeping this one in my hard copy for when the grandkids visit, they'll love it, as we did! Scaled the recipe to half and had lots left for lunch today. Used 6 shells. Worked out great, nice taste and just enough heat, using medium salsa. Had to use cheddar, had no Monterey Jack. Will certainly make these again, thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf April 13, 2003

Mix the filling in a large zip lock bag and cut off a large part of a corner. Pipe into shells and then throw out the bag. Simple and no clean up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth-boyardee March 26, 2014

When I first saw this recipe, I thought, there is no way this would feed my hefty family of four kids (ages ranging from 12-5) and two adults. I gave it a try anyway. I boiled one whole box of big shells and not limit myself to what the original recipe called for. Then I started to make the sauce and thought, Oh no I'm not going to have enough...I did add some cream cheese and like two different kinds of cheese to the sauce and boy was it delicious! All in All it made a huge batch in a 9 x 13 casserole pan and even had to double layer it. With great results I might add! Very easy to prepare! My kids loved it and so did I! I will be making this very often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakermarsha October 11, 2010

A little messy to prepare, but worth the effort. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kearl February 26, 2004

This was my first attempt at stuffing shells and I was so pleased with the results. The recipe was delicious with just the right amount of spices. I used cheddar cheese because that's what I had on hand, but next time I'd like to try the monterey jack. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess February 18, 2004

Made this for lunch and it turned out very nicely. My husband took some of the leftovers to work to share and all his buddies wanted the recipe. Even my picky 3-year-old cleaned her plate. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Desperate_Housewife February 17, 2004

This was great made a double recipe none left even my husband which is not much on trying new foods really enjoyed it

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue in illinois Anderson February 10, 2004

I feel bad but my husband and I just weren't that impressed with this, and we both love spicy Mexican type food. It wasn't bad, maybe just lacking a bit of a kick. We really couldn't put our finger on why we didn't care for this so I feel bad not giving it a good rating.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iluvmythomas February 04, 2004
Mexican Stuffed Shells (Oamc)