Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Spirals Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Spirals

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2003

      Wonderful appetizers. The filling is rich and zesty. I used 1 cup shredded MJ cheese. Very easy to make. I have always served my spirals cold but they were very good baked and served hot. A little crisper texture. I highly recommend this for any party or just as a snack. Thanks Dorothy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2003

      I made these for a SuperBowl party. After making these, I was going to rate them 4 stars, because I thought they were kind of a pain (cooking and dicing the chicken, and it didn't spread very easily on the tortillas). But after tasting them and getting everyone else's response to them, I decided they were worth the work. I didn't get time to bake them (the oven was full), but will try that next time. I also didn't add the coriander to the mixture, but cooked the chicken with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2003

      I served these for our appetizer supper. They were fabulous. I used dried coriander because my little herb garden is caput right now. The filling was so delicious--spicy and very zesty. I made two batches and froze one because I have a party in a few weeks and I plan on serving them. I also wanted to see how well they freeze and rethaw. We love your recipes, Dorothy and this one is another one of your greats. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      DorothyI made the whole recipe and I am going to try freezing the uncut rolls. I only made two changes; I used whole wheat tortillas and instead of sour cream I whipped 2% cottage cheese added a pinch of sugar and followed the recipe as is. Wonderful taste, we really enjoyed them. As usual Dorothy I love your recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2003

      I have been making this recipe for years and it is excellent. I cut the rolls and freeze them uncooked which allows me to take out as many as I want. This works very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      Had these over the weekend as a 'dippy' course. We really liked them. And they look great too. Followed the recipe to a T and will make again. Thanks for posting. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      It is the baking, that makes the medely of flavours come to life. I slice mine on an angle this way they are a little larger and for some reason stay together.I also brush them lightly with olive oli jsut before placing themon the tray. Always try to make a few extra rolls and wrap individually and freeze them Fantastic for the unexpected guests or inpromptu invites for dinner or drinks. "Sure, let me bring an appetizer" you look like a star.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      I thought these were just okay, but my husband devoured them so I'm giving 4 stars. I didn't really enjoy the coriander in it for some reason... and I usually love it. I did use diced green chilis instead of diced jalapeno as my husband asked for a mild dinner and no spices. They were super easy to put together and I used a store bought rotisserie chicken... served with a dollop of sour cream for a finger foods weeknight dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      Great make ahead item. Made these twice recently. First time I substituted pepper jack cheese for the canned chilies and montery jack cheese. The next time I made them with the correct ingredients. My repeat guests preferred the pepper jack cheese spirals. All the hints about spraying with oil, and adding parmesan cheese, are great. They really perk the recipe up. Also, don't skimp on buying the coriander, you will be making these again. Just make sure you buy a quality tortilla shell. My Christmas Eve batch, were not as good due to a low quality tortilla.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      Great finger food. Make note to self - very similar to 15988.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2004

      I've made these several times in last 3 months. They always receive rave reviews. Made them veggie using olives and tri-colored peppers. They were great. YOu can freeze them ahead and use them anytime.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2003

      LOVED these....I thought the recipe made a lot, but not after we started eating them! I began to wonder if I should have doubled it! Very yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      I made these using canned chicken (which I usually detest) reduced fat cream cheese, reduced fat cheese and low carb tortillas. The spirals turned out great, even with those substitutions. No one bothered adding sour cream and salsa, they were fantastic with out. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      Great recipe. Easy, quick and they disappeared faster than lightning! I added some tobasco for a touch more spice.
      Everyone liked them and I got many requests for the recipe.
      Will definately make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      These are GREAT appetizers! Just a few minor changes: I used canned white meat chicken, pepperjack cheese and left out the peppers. Sprayed with cooking spray and sprinkled parm cheese on top before baking. Baked on parchment and served with salsa and sour cream. They are always a hit! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      These were awesome, my boyfriend and I loved them. We also made these for super bowl night. Also great with pico de gallo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      Great appetizer. Served with Chicken Poblano Chowder and Peach Enchiladas for dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      I've actually been making this dish for a few years! I got the recipe from my mom who also cut it out of the newspaper lol! I love it and always get rave reviews from my guests and the only thing I do differently is to mix the cream cheese with the cumin and spread that and then sprinkle the other ingredients over the top. It's easier to get an even mix that way. When I cook them, I do it on parchment lined sheets and they brown beautifully. They freeze wonderfully...just slice and freeze on cookie sheets and then transfer to zip lock bags. Just add a couple of minutes to the cooking time. Super yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      So many of my friends asked for this receipe that anytime there is an appetizer dinner someone makes this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      very good and something different. I did add a little more cheese and some green onion to it. Its nice to make ahead of time and store in the fridge. So when its time to eat just cut into slices and cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Spirals

    Serving Size: 1 (710 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.1
     
    Calories from Fat 249
    59%
    Total Fat 27.7 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 91.2 mg
    30%
    Sodium 557.9 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 18.9 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites