40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful appetizers. The filling is rich and zesty. I used 1 cup shredded MJ cheese. Very easy to make. I have always served my spirals cold but they were very good baked and served hot. A little crisper texture. I highly recommend this for any party or just as a snack. Thanks Dorothy.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarabeth123 January 19, 2003

I made these for a SuperBowl party. After making these, I was going to rate them 4 stars, because I thought they were kind of a pain (cooking and dicing the chicken, and it didn't spread very easily on the tortillas). But after tasting them and getting everyone else's response to them, I decided they were worth the work. I didn't get time to bake them (the oven was full), but will try that next time. I also didn't add the coriander to the mixture, but cooked the chicken with it.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sydsmama February 03, 2003

I served these for our appetizer supper. They were fabulous. I used dried coriander because my little herb garden is caput right now. The filling was so delicious--spicy and very zesty. I made two batches and froze one because I have a party in a few weeks and I plan on serving them. I also wanted to see how well they freeze and rethaw. We love your recipes, Dorothy and this one is another one of your greats. Thanks.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' March 13, 2003

DorothyI made the whole recipe and I am going to try freezing the uncut rolls. I only made two changes; I used whole wheat tortillas and instead of sour cream I whipped 2% cottage cheese added a pinch of sugar and followed the recipe as is. Wonderful taste, we really enjoyed them. As usual Dorothy I love your recipe

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy May 06, 2002

I have been making this recipe for years and it is excellent. I cut the rolls and freeze them uncooked which allows me to take out as many as I want. This works very well.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 January 22, 2003

Had these over the weekend as a 'dippy' course. We really liked them. And they look great too. Followed the recipe to a T and will make again. Thanks for posting. =)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* May 06, 2002

It is the baking, that makes the medely of flavours come to life. I slice mine on an angle this way they are a little larger and for some reason stay together.I also brush them lightly with olive oli jsut before placing themon the tray. Always try to make a few extra rolls and wrap individually and freeze them Fantastic for the unexpected guests or inpromptu invites for dinner or drinks. "Sure, let me bring an appetizer" you look like a star.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Loves to cook January 09, 2011

I thought these were just okay, but my husband devoured them so I'm giving 4 stars. I didn't really enjoy the coriander in it for some reason... and I usually love it. I did use diced green chilis instead of diced jalapeno as my husband asked for a mild dinner and no spices. They were super easy to put together and I used a store bought rotisserie chicken... served with a dollop of sour cream for a finger foods weeknight dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melvin'sWifey April 09, 2008

Great make ahead item. Made these twice recently. First time I substituted pepper jack cheese for the canned chilies and montery jack cheese. The next time I made them with the correct ingredients. My repeat guests preferred the pepper jack cheese spirals. All the hints about spraying with oil, and adding parmesan cheese, are great. They really perk the recipe up. Also, don't skimp on buying the coriander, you will be making these again. Just make sure you buy a quality tortilla shell. My Christmas Eve batch, were not as good due to a low quality tortilla.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Always in the kitchen Connie December 30, 2004

Great finger food. Make note to self - very similar to 15988.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay February 18, 2004
Mexican Spirals