Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Spaghetti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Spaghetti

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2010

      Have to rate it 3 stars...being of mexican descent this is what we call FIDEO but not used with spaghetti pasta but instead vermicelli (fideo). Although the taste were almost similar. Pretty good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Delicious! I made as directed (using 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne) and this was just yummy for lunch. I shredded up some medium cheddar and chopped up some green onions to throw on top. My dad stopped by as I was setting the table for my hubby and I, and he grabbed a plate and ate with us - he LOVED this, raved about how it was better than my regular spaghetti sauce (which he really likes, too). He liked it so much, in fact, that he took the left-overs home with him. Hubby & I thought this was tasty, too. Groovy GastroGnome travelling the ZWT5. Thanks for posting this recipe for the tour! I will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      We all enjoyed this combo and will make it again with a couple of spice adjustments for our (wimpy) palates. The plates were licked clean so I would say it was a hit! We often put our chili over rice and this would also be great served that way. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Charmie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      Great sauce! Loved the kick! This is so fast to put together and then just let it sit on the back burner til you are ready for supper! Fantastic! The family said they would rather have this over elbow noodles but that is just their opinion! lol Thanks Charmie for a great weeknight or any night meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      We thoroughly enjoyed this dish! I used ground turkey, red and green pepper, served it over campanelle pasta, used probably 1/2 of the chili powder and even less of the cayenne. That is only because we have little ones who needed to eat dinner too! We will definitely be using this recipe again. We might give it a go over baked potatoes, in a wrap, etc. but we like it just as well over pasta. Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      Very good! DH loved it and even better the next day warmed up. I used ground turkey, mexican style beans, not quite all the chili powder, and elbow macaroni. This is wonderful for a easy and simple dinner or lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      I loved this!! I disagree with the other reviews, I thought this was perfect over pasta. It was different from a regular spaghetti sauce since it is like putting chili over pasta, but I really liked that. I made this vegetarian by using Yves Vegetarian Ground Round. The spices were great, although personally I wouldn't have wanted to go with any more than the 2 tbsp chili powder. I did use some red bell pepper along with some green as I ran out. I really enjoyed this dish and will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      Don't like kidney beans so I used chili beans. Needs a little more heat. I agree with sylie it would be better over rice or in a taco shell.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      This makes a sauce with well blended, intense flavours, thanks to the long simmering time. It's not much work to do though, because once all the browning is done, it pretty much looks after itself. I realised that I had run out of red kidney beans, but not until after I had started to cook, so I used white kidney beans (canellini beans) as a substitute. I like the kick the chili powder and cayenne add, but think I'd prefer it served over rice, with corn bread or as a filling for a jacket potato, rather than over pasta. It makes a nice change from a standard bolognese or other pasta sauce though. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Spaghetti

    Serving Size: 1 (639 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 763.3
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    23%
    Total Fat 20.2 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1666.5 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 105.2 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 13.6 g
    54%
    Sugars 15.6 g
    62%
    Protein 42.5 g
    85%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites