10 Reviews

Great salad! We like the way it was spicy also. Made with Ranch chicken thighs. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1baytown September 16, 2013

I thought this recipe was great, my family thought it was too spicy. Good thing I do the ratings :}. I cut the recipe in half, but still used two cloves of garlic. From the reviews I knew it would be spicy so I served it with a plain poached chicken breast with colby jack cheese on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gadgetsmidnight November 08, 2009

We thought this was a good way to have cabbage as a side dish. It was a little spicy so next time I think I'll try 1 can of Rotel and 1 can of plain diced tomatoes. I also used turkey bacon to reduce the fat a little bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookn4mytwins October 21, 2007

Made for ZWT3(Mexico). Great! I had never used Rotel before -- I think they're a bit spicy for me, but that's not the recipe's fault. I thought this was a great way to cook cabbage without using much fat. I used turkey bacon, so there wasn't a lot of bacon fat to cook in -- but I don't think it mattered. Very flavorful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts June 26, 2007

This was a most enjoyable way to have cooked the cabbage. I divided the recipe in half using the full 2 cloves of garlic. After about 15 minutes, I removed the lid, turned up the heat and allowed the liquid to cook away. Made for ZWTIII. Thanks Lacy for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 25, 2007

We loved this new way of preparing cabbage. I made exactly as directed, except instead of using 2 cans of Rotel tomatoes, I used one can of Rotel and one can of Mexican Stewed tomatoes....which are basically the same thing....it just happened to be what I had on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen June 21, 2007

An easy side dish with a nice amount of heat. I used tomatoes with jalapenos in place of the Rotel's. It's a great change from regular Cabbage!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog June 20, 2007

I made this tonight for ZWT3. I'm not sure how authentic Mexican it is, but it tasted good so who cares. Our bacon in New Zealand doesn't really tend to crumble (I used home cured which has only salt & smoke, no preservatives etc), so I cut the slices into small pieces, then fried them off in the pan. I also used savoy cabbage (about 4 cups), & a 400g can of tomatoes & 1 chipotle chilli in sauce as we don't have Rotel in NZ. This was really yummy and had a nice amount of heat. I would definitely make this again in a heartbeat, thanks for such a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilKiwiChicken June 20, 2007

Yummy! I used more bacon 'cuz we love it and I intended to just have this for dinner not a side dish. Didn't have any Rotel, but I did have some diced Ortega chiles and diced tomatoes so used them instead. DH is hinting that I should make this again soon!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Freya February 26, 2006
Mexican Skillet Cabbage