Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Shepherd's Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Shepherd's Pie

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2010

      This was a great base recipe!! I added onions and garlic to the beef when I put in the corn & taco seasoning. I felt the beef was a bit dry for my DH's liking so I added about 1/3 cup beef gravy and some red pepper paste to increase the heat. I already had the pots boiling so I left the beef on low heat while I mashed the potatoes which I did as I normally do - sour cream, butter, roasted garlic, salt, pepper, and left over boiling water to make it the right consistency. After I had it all assembled I spinkled cayenne and garlic salt on top. My husband had two servings and will also enjoy eating the leftovers later this weekend. Thanks for a great dinner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Very tasty family meal! I made just a couple of changes: I sauteed a small onion with the beef, then added a drained can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilies. The rest was as written, with a sprinkling of saved taco seasoning over top of the mashed potatoes for color. The teenagers loved it and said it was better than Taco Bell.... High praise, indeed! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      This was a big hit. I used 1/2 lb. ground turkey and added chopped squash and zuchini. We got 6 servings from this. Thanks Terri Newell!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      The only thing I added was about 1/2 cup of frozen chopped onion to the ground beef. Oh, and I used boxed "Loaded" mashed potatoes. It was good and hearty. I appreciate how filling it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      I made this for lunch, reduced to two servings, using one very large potato, half a can of corn, a half pound of ground beef, with half a batch of Taco Bell Taco Seasoning Clone/Copycat and half a cup of cheese. As written, it was pretty good but not much more impressive than my usual shepherd's pie. But, once we added salsa and sour cream (and, in my husband's case, Taco Bell taco sauce), it was definitely something different. Thanks for bringing a nice twist to a classic dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      All 3 children (plus hubby) loved it! I made it as posted just upped to 6 servings. My 4 yr old said it was a little spicy but ate his entire serving (just drank 2 glasses of milk to wash it down). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      This is sooooo yummy! Made it as-is in the recipe (including adding some butter & milk to the potatoes). Just let it bake a little longer so it got a little crispier on top. Was a hit with the whole family. Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      We found it very dry. Even though I love the taco seasoning, it just didn't work in this recipe. I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      What a great way to use up leftover potatoes! The only thing I did different is add the whole package of taco seasoning and added 1/3 cup water that it recommened to do and let it cook down with the corn...it turned out perfect...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      I used one can of corn and one can of cream style corn. Flavors in this were excellent and we loved it. Total Mexican comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      This was delicious! I added some picante sauce to the meat while it was absorbing the taco seasoning, and also added some peas. When I was placing it all in the dish I added two cut up peices of bread just to add a little more texture to it. It made a really nice family meal :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Both my husband and I liked this dish, but my kids did not. I may try again with some variations to see if my two boys will eat it and I will repost if I am successful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

    • on August 21, 2009

      This was good but was missing something. If I make it again I will add some green chilies and garlic. It is worth trying again with some changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      This is my DH favorite dinner! He would eat it every day if he could! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      This was pretty good. It lacked a wow factor that could have been made up for by using additional spices to enhance the taco seasoning but overall this is a really good hearty comforting recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

    • on February 10, 2009

      Pretty good. I had to add salt to the potatoes because they were a bit bland. I followed the recipe otherwise though. Although good, we probably won't make again because my husband prefers more traditional Shepherd's Pie and my younger son didn't like it all together. Thanks though!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      delicious! make exactly as directed but used instant (real) mashed as I was in a hurry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      We all loved this. 5 empty plates is about as good as it gets! Will definately be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Shepherd's Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (459 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 615.5
     
    Calories from Fat 246
    40%
    Total Fat 27.4 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 106.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 1243.5 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.2 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 8.3 g
    33%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 34.8 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites