16 Reviews

Rating the dressing only. (3+ stars) I found this tasty but a tad sweet, I will cut back on the honey next time. I loved the taste of cilantro in this dressing. I will add more cilantro next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour April 11, 2013

Thank you I used your recipe for the dressing it was so good! A hit with even our cilantro hating family :P

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kween_bee3 August 17, 2012

I threw all the dressing ingredients in a chopper, and it came out perfect. It was absolutely delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mondoma June 24, 2012

Absolutely delicious salad - loved the dressing as well. My friend came over for dinner and she ran off with my recipe -- she absolutely loved the salad; especially, the cilantro in the dressing. Will definitely make this wonderful salad again! Served it with Vegetarian Enchilada Casserole.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry May 03, 2012

Fantastic salad. I made this for the first time tonight for company, to accompany burritos. I was a bit nervous, but I wanted to keep with the mexican theme. My friends and their kids all raved about the salad. Flavorful, interesting textures, and not overpowering. This recipe is a definte keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
topdog ollie December 27, 2011

This salad was so good. We're enjoying it for a second night and I feel as though I could eat it every night. I substituted baby spinach for the romaine, red onion for the green onions, used a whole avocado and increased the cilantro. I included jicama because I had it on hand, but for those who find it difficult to obtain I don't think its absence would be significant. Thanks, MathMom, for such a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Omm July 20, 2011

I made this recipe only for the dressing, and put it over a simple salad of red onions and tomatoes.it was really very tasty, and went well with the low carb Mexican chicken I was making. Loved the honey, really cut the acidity of the rest of our meal. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morgan Khan April 29, 2011

I made this delightful salad a couple of days ago for dinner. Yum! I pretty much followed the recipe except I already had garbanzo beans so threw in a couple of handfuls of those instead of the black beans and used canned red peppers. I didn't have any fresh jalapeno but had an open can of chipotle peppers in adobo so threw in one of those instead. I made the dressing in the food processor to blend up the chipotle pepper really well. I absolutely loved the "fresh" taste of this salad with the crunchy jicama and great blend of flavors. Thanks for posting this gem, MathMom.calif, it's great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick November 22, 2010

I found this recipe doing a search for Mexican salad dressing. (I already had the salad made) so I'm rating the dressing. And....It's great!!!! I added just a pinch of kosher salt to the dressing, and pulsed it quickly in the mini food processor. Didn't have a jalapeno on hand, so I added a pinch of dried crushed red peppers. It was very refreshing with just the right balance of tang and sweet! I put it on a salad of mixed spring greens, green onions, tomato, cucumber, diced avacado and cotija cheese. It was just perfect. Thanks so much from one Calif.Mom to another! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imatrad October 06, 2009

Took this to a Mexican themed dinner party and everybody loved it (especially the dressing). The only change was that I left out the jicama. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meggers718 October 07, 2008
Mexican Salad With Honey Lime Dressing