11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the closest restaurant style rice I have found! My favorite so far!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drkpriestess April 04, 2012

WOW!! This has the same consistency and taste as the restaurants do. I've been looking for it for years. It's wonderful, but I added an extra teaspoon of salt to help bring out the flavor. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lakerchick8888 January 13, 2009

Followed this recipe perfectly other than cutting down on the amount of olive oil. I rinsed my rice 4 or 5 minutes until it ran clear. I cooked it in my dutch oven as directed, but it turned out very mushy. The general flavor was just okay and the taste of tomatoes was much stronger than I've ever had in Mexican rice. For my taste it isn't worth tweeking, I'm tossing it out. I'm so happy that I tried it out the day before I was planning on bringing it to a Mexican potluck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elizabeth.bishop April 25, 2015

Good flavor but did not turn out dry and fluffy like the restaurant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
don544 May 06, 2014

This recipe is fantastic!! I love Mexican rice, but I've never been able to get the right flavor or consistency at home. This recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
820647 July 12, 2013

We have to give credit where credit is due. I have made this rice about 5 times. Today will be 6th. I am making it for a monthly "cook-off" my family has. This is absolutely phenomenal rice! My wife and I agree: this is the best Mexican rice we ever had!!
Update: The rice was a hit at the Mexican "cook-off"!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rothiii February 10, 2013

I have been trying different recipes to come up with one my husband thinks compares to restaurants. I think this deserves 5 stars, but my husband gives it 4 stars. He thinks it still needs something else added, maybe garlic. Thanks for the recipe.

Update: We had the leftovers of this recipe by making fried rice, adding 2 scrambled eggs, one heaping teaspoon minced garlic and sprinkling of soy sauce. I also added some zucchini and chopped cabbage that I fried in butter before adding the rice. We did enjoy this as we often have fried rice for breakfast or supper. Again, thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni in Colorado May 04, 2012

I don't know what I did wrong, but the rice turned out as a tasteful, yet globby mess which resembled cornmeal. The rice dissolved into nothing. Made a second batch my usual way nd it was fine. Loved the flavor though. Any ideas? My normal rice is fluffy, but not quite the way a restaurant does it. Sorry for the bad review but the consistency was the worst. Don't let this stop you from trying. All the other reviews raved about it. Interested to see if anyone else had this issue.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookl8tr March 11, 2012

Proper. I used this recipe for the first time and it was a hit. Even after I left out the garlic and tomato paste because I was in such a rush, everyone was none the wiser but it was gone at the end of the night. Coked in a Lodge porcelain lined dutch oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ryancrow January 29, 2012

This was AMAZING!!!!! I didn't realize that I needed a dutch oven to make it, so I started out in my regular large stock pot (non oven proof) and when it came time to put it in the oven, I transferred it to a large baking dish and covered it with a sheet pan.
The only thing I changed was I added some salt at the end, to taste.
Thanks so much for this recipe!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chicagoatheart77 June 02, 2011
Mexican Rice Restaurant Style