Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Rice Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Rice Casserole

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2010

      This is an easy recipe for a quick dinner! I did not use the corn salsa, since I did not have any in my cupboard. I subbed the salsa for Diced tomatoes with green chilies. For my sides: Corn bread and Jalapenos Poppers! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      Very easy, quick, make-ahead meal. I, like someone else said, used taco seasoning in place of chili powder, and I use 1 cup salsa, 1 cup tomato sauce instead of 2 cups salsa....and I just use frozen corn as we don't care for canned.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      Added chopped celery and onion to the ground beef. Used my home made salsa. Used frozen corn. Didn't add chilli powder nor cumin since my salsa is quite spicy. Added the cheese and stirred it in before baking. Very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      This was good, but i had to change it. I couldn't bring myself to put two cups of salsa in it. So i did one cup salsa and one cup pizza sauce (had some leftover). It was very good, and the whole house ate it. From now on i'll use the salsa and some tomato sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      This was really easy to make. I used Jasmin rice instead of long grain. I added southwestern corn because that is what I had on hand. I also add taco seasoning instead of chili powder. Still tasted great. Served it with tortillas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Good. I added a halapeno, and used brown rice that I make huge batches of and keep in the freezer. I also replaced the chili powder with taco seasoning. Good with a nice kick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      This recipe was okay. I made it according to the recipe, but added a can of black beans and ground cumin. My family thought the recipe was bland. This was lacking something, but I haven't figured out what. Possibly some cilantro would have added more flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      this was very good - i used ground chicken breast (because i didn't have the ground beef), but, i think i'd prefer the ground beef because it would spread more evenly in the casserole - i used a black bean/corn salsa...thinking of adding a can of black beans next time as well...this is definitely a keeper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      This turned out great! I used brown rice, La Victoria brand salsa (half mild, half medium), and low fat cheese. I served it with corn tortillas and a dollop of low fat sour cream. YUM! Next time I make it I think I'll experiement by replacing the beef with some chorizo and smashed pinto or black beans, just for something different, and I'll add some chives and olives for zip. This is a very versatile recipe - it would probably taste great with chicken as well. Thanks - this will be put straight into my regular recipe rotation :) A note to make the leftovers yummier - use brown rice instead of white (I used the kind that steams in the bag in your microwave in about 5 minutes). It just seems to hold up better. I also threw a couple of heaping spoonfuls into a skillet, then mixed in two eggs and scrambled the whole thing for an aweseome breakfast this morning!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

    • on October 30, 2012

      Easy, quick to fix and everyone enjoyed it! I used frozen corn so added another teaspoon of chili powder. Also topped with sharp cheddar cause that's what I had on hand. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      I made this recipe on 9/10/11 for the " Kitchen Cupboard " Event in the Food Photo Forum,and most importantly mine and my SO's dinner.Since there was just the two of us,this recipe was cut in half.I did change a couple of things to this dish, first I cooked the ground beef in the dish that was going to used to serve it in. And instead of mixing everything into a bowl, I just mixed everything together in the dish that I cooked the beef in ( one less dish to wash). And I didn't have time to bake it in the oven,so I just sprinkled cheese over the top before serving.The only thing that I did wrong to the recipe,was not adding enough salsa to the mixture.We both enjoyed this served over tortilla chips. Thank you for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This was just alright for us - even with some of the recommended additions. I really didn't enjoy it at all - just ate it not to waste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Excellent and easy meal - definitely a keeper! We ate this with lime tortilla chips - so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      I have made this twice now- and loved it!! My DH likes it as well, its so easy to make- you can even make it a few hours, or a day ahead of time! Mix it up a bit..add your own stuff... I just really like how EASY, and YUMMY this is-without even trying! ;) 5 stars!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Good quick supper, but I mainly just used this for a base.Won't leave stars since I made several changes. I had half lb beef, some leftover refried beans and leftover rice from a mexican restaurant, so chose to make this to use it up! I sauteed some onion with the beef, then added some taco seasoning with a little bit of water, then added in all the other stuff (used frozen corn). Just cooked it together on the stovetop since I didn't want any more dishes and it worked fine. My version wasn't too pretty, but it tasted pretty good. DH and I both ate it inside a flour tortilla with a small salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      what a great, quick recipe. There's not a bite left!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      This is absolutely fabulous! I loved every bite of it! I make my own salsa, so I used that. It is spicy so it definitely gave this dish a "kick". I didn't have mexicorn, so I used regular can corn. I also used taco seasoning instead of the chili powder. My kids liked eating this inside a tortilla shell, like a soft taco for them. I will be making this often, as I always have these ingredients on hand. Thanks for sharing this wonderful dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      Great meal for the kids and I. My husband wasn't a huge fan but the kids had seconds and thirds. (They almost never do that!) I'm thinking that this will be great for putting in a heated thermos for the kids for lunch during the school year. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      We loved it! My whole family gobbled it up in no time at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Rice Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 411.6
     
    Calories from Fat 164
    39%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 71.1 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1005.9 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 23.3 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites