10 Reviews

A really great rice recipe. The spices were present, but not overpowering, and there was some colour in it, in the form of green bell pepper. This is definetely a keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef August 07, 2012

I used red pepper instead of green and brown rice instead of white. It was still great tasting and I'll be making this one again. Made for PAC Spring 2011.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty March 17, 2011

We really enjoyed this! I like that it was milder because we had it with a spicier main course and veggie side. The tomato paste made it kind of creamy too. I left out the salt because I found that it was salty enough with the chicken broth. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway January 30, 2010

This was very good, and it is so easy to prepare. We all loved it. I didn't opt for the extra heat (using jalapeno and cayenne), but will try that the next time I make this. Yum. Thank you for sharing your recipe, IngridH. Made for ZWT8 ~ Mexico.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal August 06, 2012

Delicious Mexican rice. I really enjoyed the Mexican flavors and thought the rice turned out perfectly. I did cook mine a bit longer, but I think it was because I had the heat source turned lower. Other changes: I used brown jasmine rice and put in 1/2 C onions instead of 1/4 C. Yummy! Made for Zaar Stars tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood May 24, 2012

A very good and simple recipe, another good way to enjoy rice, with some vegetables thrown in for good measure! I'm sure the jalapeno would also be good, but I stuck to the recipe this time. Followed exactly and much enjoyed, thank you Ingrid! Made for I Recommend tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth November 24, 2011

Great little recipe for turning plain ole rice into something special! I made this as a side dish to Garlic Beef Enchiladas (Garlic Beef Enchiladas)and it was delicious!!! I didn't have long grain rice, so I used brown rice instead. I also didn't have any tomato paste on hand, the only tomato product I had was ketchup, so I used it and it turned out fine! Great recipe, thanks for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robingracejohnson September 06, 2011

This month in the kitchen I seem to be cutting more & more recipes down, & did the same thing with this one ~ Cut in half for just the 2 of us & made it as given for a very nice tasting rice dish that we thoroughly enjoyed! The chili powder give just enough 'hot' for me! Easy-to-make, too, so that gives it all the more status as a keeper of a recipe! Thanks for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars Tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 16, 2011

Really delicious, and so simple! I did use a jalapeno instead of the green pepper, and really enjoyed the kick it gave to the rice. I will probably always make it this way. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily H. May 02, 2011

Thanks Ingrid, this was good. I love cooking rice this way. Made this for ZWT5 (Cooks with Dirty Faces Team). As you said, it's purposely not spicey. I think it was fine as-is for a side dish to other more flavourful things. If it was more of a main attraction, I'd definitely add some more heat. And I would add garlic next time regardless. I did make some subs, brown rice instead of white, veg broth so it was vegetarian and olive oil instead of butter. I doubled the recipe except for the salt, which seems like a lot if you're using salted butter and salted broth. With brown rice of course it took 50 mins instead of 20, but otherwise no change. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner May 11, 2009
Mexican Rice