Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Rice

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2012

      A really great rice recipe. The spices were present, but not overpowering, and there was some colour in it, in the form of green bell pepper. This is definetely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      I used red pepper instead of green and brown rice instead of white. It was still great tasting and I'll be making this one again. Made for PAC Spring 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      We really enjoyed this! I like that it was milder because we had it with a spicier main course and veggie side. The tomato paste made it kind of creamy too. I left out the salt because I found that it was salty enough with the chicken broth. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      This was very good, and it is so easy to prepare. We all loved it. I didn't opt for the extra heat (using jalapeno and cayenne), but will try that the next time I make this. Yum. Thank you for sharing your recipe, IngridH. Made for ZWT8 ~ Mexico.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      Delicious Mexican rice. I really enjoyed the Mexican flavors and thought the rice turned out perfectly. I did cook mine a bit longer, but I think it was because I had the heat source turned lower. Other changes: I used brown jasmine rice and put in 1/2 C onions instead of 1/4 C. Yummy! Made for Zaar Stars tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      A very good and simple recipe, another good way to enjoy rice, with some vegetables thrown in for good measure! I'm sure the jalapeno would also be good, but I stuck to the recipe this time. Followed exactly and much enjoyed, thank you Ingrid! Made for I Recommend tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      Great little recipe for turning plain ole rice into something special! I made this as a side dish to Garlic Beef Enchiladas (Garlic Beef Enchiladas)and it was delicious!!! I didn't have long grain rice, so I used brown rice instead. I also didn't have any tomato paste on hand, the only tomato product I had was ketchup, so I used it and it turned out fine! Great recipe, thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      This month in the kitchen I seem to be cutting more & more recipes down, & did the same thing with this one ~ Cut in half for just the 2 of us & made it as given for a very nice tasting rice dish that we thoroughly enjoyed! The chili powder give just enough 'hot' for me! Easy-to-make, too, so that gives it all the more status as a keeper of a recipe! Thanks for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars Tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      Really delicious, and so simple! I did use a jalapeno instead of the green pepper, and really enjoyed the kick it gave to the rice. I will probably always make it this way. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Thanks Ingrid, this was good. I love cooking rice this way. Made this for ZWT5 (Cooks with Dirty Faces Team). As you said, it's purposely not spicey. I think it was fine as-is for a side dish to other more flavourful things. If it was more of a main attraction, I'd definitely add some more heat. And I would add garlic next time regardless. I did make some subs, brown rice instead of white, veg broth so it was vegetarian and olive oil instead of butter. I doubled the recipe except for the salt, which seems like a lot if you're using salted butter and salted broth. With brown rice of course it took 50 mins instead of 20, but otherwise no change. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (199 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.9
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    16%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 896.5 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites