Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Rice

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2003

      Excellent. My husband loved this rice!!!! Thanks, it's a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      Great, Great Great..... didnt have pepper, so added 1C corn and it was a great side to my spanish chicken skillet! Thnx for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      Fabulous recipe! I used EVOO instead of bacon grease and didn't have rotel, so I used a can of diced tomatoes (drained) and a can of diced green chilis. I also added 1/2 tsp of cumin as another reviewer suggested and it added a great flavor. I only put in 1/2 tsp of salt to start, but it needed the full tsp as suggested in the recipe. I used 1 1/2 cups of rice because the ratio on my rice is 1 1/2 to 2 cups of water, but then I needed an extra half cup of water. I also didn't add the extra tomato. This was SO good! Better than the boxed stuff and much healthier. Thanks so much for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      This was really good! I used EVOO instead of the bacon grease to suit a vegetarian. I used 1 can diced tomatoes (instead of Rotel)and the (almost) 2 cups water. I served Crockpot Santa Fe Chicken "411969" from this site over the rice & it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      So good and so easy! Loved by all. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      This is GREAT...and a wonderful side for any mexican dish!! I usually do not use bacon fat...veggie oil instead....and I have cut the salt back to 1/2 tsp because I found my first batch to be SUPER SALTY!! Have made this several times...and just now getting around to reviewing! Thanks for a FABULOUS dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      I sauteed the onions in olive oil instead of bacon fat, for health reasons and followed the rest of the directions! We loved this rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      I have to say..this is the first non-authentic mexican rice that we all really loved!!! I omitted the bacon fat and sautee'd the onion (along with 4 cloves of garlic) in olive oil. I didn't have Rotel so I used zesty diced tomatoes (jalapeno style) and added a 4 ounce can of diced mild green chili's. I used 2 tomatoes and followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. Really tasty. Kinda spicy my way so my kids weren't in love with it...but my husband and I loved it. Thanks for a great rice dish. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      We LOVED this rice. Was quick and easy like you said. Did add diced green chilies and 1/4 tsp cumin as BBQ Man suggested. I also let the skillet sit for 5 minutes with the lid on after I removed it from the heat after 20 minutes. The rice came out perfect....lots of flavor. Thanks so much for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      Just wonderful! Used rotel with chili peppers, shredded cheese is a must, marvelous reheated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      easy to make. I sauted the onions and bacon fat then added the rice till translucent and tranferred everything into my rice cooker. Added the other ingrdients (except the cheese). Then i had the rice wating for me not ne waiting for the rice. Once it was done I stirred in some cheese and served. A definate keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      This was Fantastic! Love the flavor of the bacon grease in this rice. I didn't have Ro-Tel tomatoes so I used a can of diced tomatoes drained. I served this with Ground Beef and Texas Bean Enchiladas and topped the rice with some Mexican Shredded Cheese before serving. YUM! this is a keeper. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • Quick and easy plus delicious makes this a winning recipe in my house! We really enjoyed it along with some Southwestern Stuffed Bell Peppers we were having. The only thing I changed was that I omitted the bacon fat and used the Rotel tomatoes with green chilies. Oh, and I didn't add the tomato. I thought it was tomatoey enough with the Rotel tomatoes. We will be having this again for sure! Sally

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      Too spicy for my taste, would cut back on chili powder and use MILD Ro-Tel. I have yet to see where the chopped tomato is used in the recipe. Everything cooked up lovely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Used Mexican Fiesta Ro-Tel and a 4 oz. can of green chilies instead of the green pepper. The flavor was really good, but my water evaporated after 10 minutes and the rice was still hard. I added more water and cooked some more but it still was very crunchy. I am going to try again, adding a little more water at the start and making sure the temp is not too high and then will come back to rate. I will also decrease the salt to 1 teaspoon because it was a bit salty, but overall had a nice spicy flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      This rice is awesome! I was looking for a quick and easy recipe to make mexi-rice for my bottomless pit of a 16 year old boy and found this. He loved it and polished off 75% of the batch by himself. the bacon fat is what makes that great smokey flavor so it's a very necessary ingredient. Thanks TwinTwo821 for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      This rice was fantastic. A friend is planning to make it a meal by adding seasoned and steamed shrimp. Sounded good to me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      Hubby and kids really loved this!!!!!!!!!! Will be a standard Mexican side dish for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      Great recipe, a nice flavour, very quick and easy to prepare. Will be a regular on our menu plan, thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      I made this tonight for dinner. My dh like it very much, the kids thought it was too spicy. Next time I would use mild Ro-Tel. I left out the green pepper (didn't have any) and didn't add the additional tomato (it had enough). Overall, I was pleased and would use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All White Rice Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 83.2
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    78%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 947.6 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    bacon fat

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites