34 Reviews

Excellent. My husband loved this rice!!!! Thanks, it's a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meanie Queenie March 25, 2003

Great, Great Great..... didnt have pepper, so added 1C corn and it was a great side to my spanish chicken skillet! Thnx for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 'Diva Divine January 25, 2011

Fabulous recipe! I used EVOO instead of bacon grease and didn't have rotel, so I used a can of diced tomatoes (drained) and a can of diced green chilis. I also added 1/2 tsp of cumin as another reviewer suggested and it added a great flavor. I only put in 1/2 tsp of salt to start, but it needed the full tsp as suggested in the recipe. I used 1 1/2 cups of rice because the ratio on my rice is 1 1/2 to 2 cups of water, but then I needed an extra half cup of water. I also didn't add the extra tomato. This was SO good! Better than the boxed stuff and much healthier. Thanks so much for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz July 20, 2010

This was really good! I used EVOO instead of the bacon grease to suit a vegetarian. I used 1 can diced tomatoes (instead of Rotel)and the (almost) 2 cups water. I served Crockpot Santa Fe Chicken "411969" from this site over the rice & it was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adopt Pets February 17, 2010

So good and so easy! Loved by all. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ November 23, 2009

This is GREAT...and a wonderful side for any mexican dish!! I usually do not use bacon fat...veggie oil instead....and I have cut the salt back to 1/2 tsp because I found my first batch to be SUPER SALTY!! Have made this several times...and just now getting around to reviewing! Thanks for a FABULOUS dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slkendrick August 26, 2009

I sauteed the onions in olive oil instead of bacon fat, for health reasons and followed the rest of the directions! We loved this rice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maine E Ack! July 07, 2009

I have to say..this is the first non-authentic mexican rice that we all really loved!!! I omitted the bacon fat and sautee'd the onion (along with 4 cloves of garlic) in olive oil. I didn't have Rotel so I used zesty diced tomatoes (jalapeno style) and added a 4 ounce can of diced mild green chili's. I used 2 tomatoes and followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. Really tasty. Kinda spicy my way so my kids weren't in love with it...but my husband and I loved it. Thanks for a great rice dish. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl June 18, 2008

We LOVED this rice. Was quick and easy like you said. Did add diced green chilies and 1/4 tsp cumin as BBQ Man suggested. I also let the skillet sit for 5 minutes with the lid on after I removed it from the heat after 20 minutes. The rice came out perfect....lots of flavor. Thanks so much for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slickchick May 27, 2008

Just wonderful! Used rotel with chili peppers, shredded cheese is a must, marvelous reheated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
833205 May 05, 2008
Mexican Rice