Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Rice

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on July 18, 2002

      Simply the best. Very rich and creamy. The cheeses make this incredible but the cumin is really the star of this dish. Deserves more than 5-stars in my opinion. My family loved it as well. Thanks for a most delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2002

      Hands down, this is the best rice dish I have ever made. Didn't have any sour cream, so I substituted homemade buttermilk ranch dressing, which was about the same consistency. Absolutely delicious. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2002

      Another great one. I made this to go with your chicken enchiladas. The perfect side dish. Very cheesy and the cumin flavor was a real stand-out along with the green chilies. Easy to make too. Thanks Nurse Di. We sure do like your stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2002

      This was a hit with my family! We aren't really crazy about celery so I used cream corn and extra sour cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2003

      This is an excellent rice dish that I served with our sizzling fajitas. Rich and creamy, yes, but also zesty with the flavor of cumin. Would go great with any mexican entree. Good to the last bite and there weren't any left-overs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2002

      This made a quick main dish by using leftover rice and baked chiken. I'll be using this recipe a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2003

      I was skeptical about the amount of rice not being enough to feed 4 people but it was plenty and the dish was simply wonderful. The flavor of the seasonings and the cheeses are great. Very easy to make too. I used this as a side to Larry's Black Bean Tacos #575121 and it was a 5 star meal. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2003

      I made this rice dish as an afterthought for our Mexican menu. It turned out to be the most talked about and raved over dish. I liked it because it is more creamy-cheesy, and has no tomato sauce in it like the kind you usually get in restaurants. The cumin and garlic gave this a perked up flavor, too. Thanks Nurse Di.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

    • on December 27, 2013

      I made this, as a side dish to go along with our chicken tortilla soup, on Christmas Day. It was very creamy and enjoyed by all. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

    • on January 20, 2012

      Nice dish. Made it exactly as written. Reminded me of a Mexican-style risotto - yum! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      This was simple; a bit bland but an excellent side for a fully flavored main course. Next time I might add 1/4 cup cream to make it creamier! I topped it with a drizzle of salsa before I put it in the oven the first time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      Very addicting. Kept taking more bites. Had to cook mine longer but very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      Loved this with Linda's Mexican Meatloaf! This was thick and cheesy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

    • on May 03, 2010

      Simply delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      well based on the reviews i'm reluctant to post this review, but the three of us who had this recipe, all agreed it was very bland and left a lot to be desired, other than enjoying the extra cheese :) We did follow the recipe to a 'T' , so i'm not sure why our results were so different from others. Hopefully others will continue to have better luck :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Delicious!!!!! I followed the recipe exactly as posted and there was not a grain of rice left after dinner....It was so good..I will definitley make this again and again...THANK YOU for posting!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      I have been wanting to try this rice for awhile and tonight was the night. It was very easy to make and tasted wonderful - just what I was hoping for! I ended up using 3 cups of cooked basmati rice instead of 2 since that is what I had and also used cream of chicken soup instead of celery. Love it! Will definitely make again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Rice Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.9
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    46%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 33.7 mg
    11%
    Sodium 382.2 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes