60 Reviews

Simply the best. Very rich and creamy. The cheeses make this incredible but the cumin is really the star of this dish. Deserves more than 5-stars in my opinion. My family loved it as well. Thanks for a most delicious recipe.

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower July 18, 2002

Hands down, this is the best rice dish I have ever made. Didn't have any sour cream, so I substituted homemade buttermilk ranch dressing, which was about the same consistency. Absolutely delicious. Thanks so much for posting.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom July 07, 2002

Another great one. I made this to go with your chicken enchiladas. The perfect side dish. Very cheesy and the cumin flavor was a real stand-out along with the green chilies. Easy to make too. Thanks Nurse Di. We sure do like your stuff.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gladys58 October 26, 2002

This was a hit with my family! We aren't really crazy about celery so I used cream corn and extra sour cream!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Niki D August 21, 2002

This is an excellent rice dish that I served with our sizzling fajitas. Rich and creamy, yes, but also zesty with the flavor of cumin. Would go great with any mexican entree. Good to the last bite and there weren't any left-overs.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gretchengr February 16, 2003

This made a quick main dish by using leftover rice and baked chiken. I'll be using this recipe a lot.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martha Pitts September 28, 2002

I was skeptical about the amount of rice not being enough to feed 4 people but it was plenty and the dish was simply wonderful. The flavor of the seasonings and the cheeses are great. Very easy to make too. I used this as a side to Larry's Black Bean Tacos #575121 and it was a 5 star meal. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW July 28, 2003

I made this rice dish as an afterthought for our Mexican menu. It turned out to be the most talked about and raved over dish. I liked it because it is more creamy-cheesy, and has no tomato sauce in it like the kind you usually get in restaurants. The cumin and garlic gave this a perked up flavor, too. Thanks Nurse Di.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marileamills July 19, 2003

zug September 09, 2002

I made this, as a side dish to go along with our chicken tortilla soup, on Christmas Day. It was very creamy and enjoyed by all. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juenessa December 27, 2013
Mexican Rice