Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Rice

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2009

      This was a good side dish for our Cinco de Mayo celebration. I sauteed the onion in olive oil until it was soft and then added the rice for just a few minutes. I used brown rice so I simmered this at a very low temperature for 45 minutes to get the consistency I like. It was creamy but not soupy. I especially liked that was was flavorful without being spicy. I'll definitely make this again. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      I used the olive oil and salt free chicken broth and salt free tomato sauce(my husband is on a low salt diet). I did not add the green chilies since I wanted my kids to eat this. The flavor was good (even with the low salt) but the rice was pretty sticky. I would make it for adults but not for my kids. They did not like the consistency, it was not like the restaurant rice. It turned out more red and sticky than what our restaurant serves. This was very good with grilled chicken on a tortilla with all the fixings. Thanks but I am still looking for a recipe the kids will eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2006

      We did not care for this rice; it just didn't have very good flavor. I'm not sure why, after all the other reviews sounded so good!? And I almost ruined the whole thing by trying to follow the directions in step 3: 20 minutes was too long to not stir the rice and about 1/4 of it stuck to my pan and was unusable. Sorry, but I won't be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      HOLY WOW...this is AWESOME!! I can not stop sneaking bites...there may not be any left by the time the rest of dinner is ready! I used 2 tablespoons olive oil, and added 3 slices raw bacon with the rice (left in the entire time) and I would not change a thing!...”

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      Thought I would try a different recipe for spanish rice...glad I picked this one...it was great...I did add a couple things, a fresh tomato cut up, a little chili sauce and about 1 T. of brown sugar...it turned out great...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      I love this rice! I've made it twice and it's just the perfect compliment to enchiladas. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I'll never have to make Mexican rice from a box again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2006

      Excellent! Very nice flavor, and everyone remarked how much they liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2006

      The flavor of this is right-on. DH and I loved it. This is now my "go-to" recipe for Mexican rice. Delicious! (I used olive oil).Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.2
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    30%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 9.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 709.8 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.8 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    25%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes