Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Restaurant Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Restaurant Salad

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2013

      I'm not a big fan of salads, but this was pretty good and very much enjoyed by everyone this Thanksgiving. I tweaked the dressing a bit because it tasted strangely bitter, but otherwise it had good flavor. The queso fresco and pepitas were perfect in this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      Absolutely awesome! Love the creamy cilantro dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      This salad is great exactly as written. Spectacular flavour - we loved this. I've also made this substituting sunflower seeds for the pumpkin seeds and that was delicious as well. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      Very nice!!! Served with taco burgers...it was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Great salad. The dressing is nicely seasoned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      SO delish! Thanks for sharing! (I omitted the jalapeno, personal preference)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Uh Oh, I forgot to review this one...I ADORE THIS SALAD. It is so different and yummy and i LOVE the dressing and the combo of ingredients. I use green onion instead of red and in a pinch, i've used sunflower seeds if I can't make it to the right store for the pumpkin seeds. Thank you SOOOO much for posting. I plan Mexican and Tex Mex nights just so I can have this salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      I made half a recipe and thought it was great. Served the salad with Oaxacan Grilled Shrimp, 7 Layer Bean Dip and a cheese quesadilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      Super salad! Definitely 5 star. A bit higher than my usual low fat fare, though I did reduce the oil to less than 1 tablespoon and subbed water for the rest of the oil and used low fat yogurt instead of sour cream and oil based low fat mayo. BF even ate some avocado although he claims he hates it, and instead of pumpkin seed I used toasted sunflower seeds (easier to find and I happened to have some). We cut the recipe in half and ate all of it. Thanks! Very pleased, made for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      Yum! I cut the recipe in half and added some olives and red bell pepper. Loved it! Thanks! Made for the Epicurean Queens-ZWT 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      I made this for the Epicurean Queens for ZWT 5 and it is fantastic. Serve this with your next southwest meal and you'll have a wonderful dinner. I found pumpkin seeds at my grocery store already roasted and salted so that made putting the salad together even easier. This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Made as posted using a Mexican Super Mevi avocado, a nice Spanish olive oil, and a Gran Queso 4-oz mini. Super good, and will make again but will add another avocado, yep, I like them that much. Made for the Bodacious Brickhouse Babes, ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Yummy. I wouldn't change a thing. Well, ok I did find if you let the salad dressing blend for at least 4 hours - the taste is better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Yum, good hit! Followed the directions exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      This was AMAZING!!! It is my new favorite salad!! I will be making again and again! :O) Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      Added Tomatoes. It was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      I'd give this more stars if I could! At first I thought the dressing was a little on the sour side -- but after I left it sit in the refrigerator for a while, the flavors really blended together and it was wonderful! I didn't use the queso fresco -- I didn't see it at the grocery store, so I used some crumbled goat cheese and it was awesome. The pumpkin seeds really add to the salad. I forgot to buy the jalapeno chili -- but I had a jar of sliced jalapenos in the fridge and used about 5 slices. It was just right -- not too spicy, but the "kick" was still there. This is an excellent salad and will go with all kinds of meals -- not just Mexican. I'm really glad I tried this, Cookiedog -- it's a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Hi Cookiedog! we loved this salad, I omitted the pumpkin seeds and used cheddar cheese in place of the queso fresco (I have never used that cheese lol!) we really enjoyed the dressing, I plan on making this again soon, thanks!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      This was incredibly easy to make, I was able to throw this together within ten minutes of walking in the house from work as I had all the ingredients already. Okay, just two substitutions: I used lemon juice instead of lime, and I used a local white cheese instead of queso fresco (tzfatit cheese, for any Israelis wanting to make this). I whipped up the dressing with my hand blender. Bing, bang, supper! Thanks, now I just have to convince myself that since it's salad, it's diet food, right?????

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      I was really wondering about that jalapeno, worried that the dressing would end up too spicy for the wussy tastebuds at dinner, but it really did not. I used something more than 1/2 a head of romaine and that was enough for the two of us, but I went ahead and made the entire dressing recipe, used all the pumpkin seeds and an entire avocado. I forgot the tortilla chips, even though they were sitting right there in the kitchen. Even without them, the salad was excellent. I'm thinking this dressing might be nice drizzled over cold chicken in a sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Restaurant Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 359.7
     
    Calories from Fat 282
    78%
    Total Fat 31.4 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 4.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 114.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    queso fresco

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes