49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum!!! This was so good. I liked the technique of toasting the rice before cooking it and I think it came out with a nice texture that way. I followed the recipe but added 2 jalapenos and used cherry tomatoes. I will certainly be making this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristy D. September 06, 2010

The flavor was excellent but we weren't wild about the texture. Some of the rice was cooked while some wasn't so I continued cooking but it never seemed to change and just became mushy. However it was still eaten up because the flavor was super good. Thanks so much & I will probably try again...not sure what I could do differently or if I just jacked it up somewhere along the line but definitely worth another try. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious August 27, 2010

This dish was easy to prepare and the directions were written well. I made exactly as stated, but we were a little dissapointed with the flavor. It just wasn't what we were looking for. I probably wont make this again, but thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hunny bunny December 21, 2009

Wow, this was great! I made it in my frying pan, along putting Weight Watchers Mexican Chicken Breasts on top of it, then simmered for about 40 mins. Everything came out perfectly. Thanks for sharing this winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl November 21, 2009

Unbelievable! My husband and I couldn't get enough. We will make this one often. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ccpake November 09, 2009

I have tried making this twice now and each time the rice did not get done. I followed the directions to a t so what to do now?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spence4 October 30, 2009

I have been trying Mexican rice recipes for years. I had given up and thought that I would always have to buy the junk in a box. This is excellent!!! It was almost as quick as opening a box and way better tasting. I did use a can of diced tomatoes in place of the plum tomatoes. YUMM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Silly Goose October 18, 2009

Excellent rice recipe...just like you would get an authentic mexican restaurant..will definitely be using again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HUNGRY_HOUND July 21, 2009

I will not give this a star rating as I seem to be the only one with the issue I had. I found cooking the rice for so long prior to boiling made it very chewy and hard to cook all the way. Perhaps there should be a time estimate on how long to do it. I was under the impression you should not brown your rice for more than 20-30 seconds, but these instructions lead me to believe I needed to brown my rice for a few minutes. I will try this again without this step, though, as the dish did have good flavor (even though I couldn't eat more than a bite..)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
somebodys_sweet_pea February 21, 2009

This recipe is a favorite in our house. I add a small can of corn after the onions have simmered a bit. Tastes wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. S #2 November 21, 2008
Mexican Red Rice