Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Red Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Red Rice

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2010

      I love this recipe! We can have a great side dish and then I make soup out of the leftovers. Add chicken broth, chopped onions and tomatoes, a can of chili beans, some chopped cooked chicken, and simmer until vegetables are tender. Add hot sauce, cajun seasonings or cayenne if you want it hotter ~ a great lunch soup!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      Instead of the plum tomatoes I added a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilies to give it a little more pizzaz. We LOVED it! Had along with Linda's Mexican Meatloaf and we really enjoyed them both! We will have this again soon with my modifications. Thanks Jessica for this great rice recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      Loved this! I did make a couple of modifications. I added a can of rotel with green chilies instead of the plum tomatoes because I like some extra spice. I also added some EXTRA green chilies I had left over from the enchiladas I made. Added extra garlic (as I do to everything!) and it was great! My husband and 2 year old ate it up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      Made this rice tonight and it was DELICIOUS. I've gone through many Mexican rice recipes and this is by far the best and the most satisfying I've come across. It's exactly the flavor I was looking for all this time. Thank you so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Yumm! Excellent mexican rice and easy to make. This is so much better than the packaged mexican rice. I will definitely make this again. I made this to accompany Kittencal's Garlic Beef Enchiladas Garlic Beef Enchiladas. I added a tsp of cumin at the other reviewers' suggestion. I highly recommend this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      Fantastic! Came out perfectly fluffy. Did not add salt because chili powder mix already had salt. Tossed in a little cumin as well. Thanks for posting, Jessica.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2014

      This was good, added some taco seasoning to it and put it inside enchiladas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      I cut the tomato sauce in half and increased the chicken broth by that amount. With or without my modification, this dish is simply excellent. Simply delightful, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2013

      Great flavor and texture and a great side for tacos. I cooked this up the day before and just reheated before serving and it worked out great. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      So fluffy and just right for a Mexican fiesta. This recipe easily served 8 adults without skimping on serving size. My only change was to add 1/2 cup chopped green pepper, which I sauteed with the onions and garlic. It was visually appealing to have the specs of green throughout the red rice. I used Chicken Broth since I have served it with chicken dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      You can dry roast your rice in a frying pan. Oil is not necessary. The idea is to convert the starch thus making the rice more fluffy and less of a carb threat. Just dry fry until most of the rice is a white color or opaque. As a Mexican family, we do not use tomato products in our Spanish rice or enchilada sauce. We use chile powder, cumin, broth and a little oregano and sometimes some fried onions. Tomato sauce is very acidic and retards the cooking of the rice. You may have to lengthen the time required to cook the rice if you use it. This dish is supposed to be a little bland and served in conjuction with other spicy dishes. It acts as a buffer to the other more spicy dishes and is, therefore, more complimentary. Some families mix carnitas, or other meat with the rice to make a one dish family dinner. Of course, this rice can be add to almost any type of burrito.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

    • on February 15, 2013

      This is my go to recipe for rice. I found this recipe probably 6 months ago, and I've made it least once or twice a week since then. I know it by heart now, I love it! Anytime I make anything with a Mexican flavor, I now always make Mexican Red Rice and Englert Charro Beans as a staple. I prefer to use beef broth when making mine, there's just something about the flavor it creates. Each time I make it my husband pipes up, "what's for dinner, that smells good." From hubby who doesn't say too much about anything, that's a HUGE compliment! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      I liked it however hubby and children thought it was just ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      Dinner is not even ready yet and I took a sampler taste of this rice. Dang its good! Came out so perfect! I did not put the tomatoes in it (hubby does not like tomatoes) and the taste and texture still came out excellent. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      This is now my go-to Spanish rice recipe. I use tomatoes from my garden, El Pato tomato sauce, and water instead of broth! So easy & delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2012

      Truly a great mexican rice. I liked how easy it was to make and how great it tasted. It was so much better than the rice from my local restaurant. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      Yum! I'm never again buying mexican rice in a box from the grocery store to accompany our mexican meals at home. Easy to make - the only thing that takes a bit of time is browning the rice. I used all of the juice and 3/4 of the tomatoes from a 15 oz jar of diced tomatoes (instead of the tomato sauce and whole tomato), it worked GREAT! The only thing I would do differently is mince the onions so my kids wouldn't complain they could see them. I did have a problem with the rice sticking to the pan, but may have just overcooked it. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

    • on September 06, 2010

      Yum!!! This was so good. I liked the technique of toasting the rice before cooking it and I think it came out with a nice texture that way. I followed the recipe but added 2 jalapenos and used cherry tomatoes. I will certainly be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Red Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.0
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    25%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 638.8 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites