49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

You can dry roast your rice in a frying pan. Oil is not necessary. The idea is to convert the starch thus making the rice more fluffy and less of a carb threat. Just dry fry until most of the rice is a white color or opaque. As a Mexican family, we do not use tomato products in our Spanish rice or enchilada sauce. We use chile powder, cumin, broth and a little oregano and sometimes some fried onions. Tomato sauce is very acidic and retards the cooking of the rice. You may have to lengthen the time required to cook the rice if you use it. This dish is supposed to be a little bland and served in conjuction with other spicy dishes. It acts as a buffer to the other more spicy dishes and is, therefore, more complimentary. Some families mix carnitas, or other meat with the rice to make a one dish family dinner. Of course, this rice can be add to almost any type of burrito.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I_Fortuna April 30, 2013

I love this recipe! We can have a great side dish and then I make soup out of the leftovers. Add chicken broth, chopped onions and tomatoes, a can of chili beans, some chopped cooked chicken, and simmer until vegetables are tender. Add hot sauce, cajun seasonings or cayenne if you want it hotter ~ a great lunch soup!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee November 07, 2010

Instead of the plum tomatoes I added a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilies to give it a little more pizzaz. We LOVED it! Had along with Linda's Mexican Meatloaf and we really enjoyed them both! We will have this again soon with my modifications. Thanks Jessica for this great rice recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuJuBeJen May 20, 2008

Loved this! I did make a couple of modifications. I added a can of rotel with green chilies instead of the plum tomatoes because I like some extra spice. I also added some EXTRA green chilies I had left over from the enchiladas I made. Added extra garlic (as I do to everything!) and it was great! My husband and 2 year old ate it up!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texastornado22 August 17, 2010

Yumm! Excellent mexican rice and easy to make. This is so much better than the packaged mexican rice. I will definitely make this again. I made this to accompany Kittencal's Garlic Beef Enchiladas Garlic Beef Enchiladas. I added a tsp of cumin at the other reviewers' suggestion. I highly recommend this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 June 12, 2008

Made this rice tonight and it was DELICIOUS. I've gone through many Mexican rice recipes and this is by far the best and the most satisfying I've come across. It's exactly the flavor I was looking for all this time. Thank you so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JDeezy July 20, 2009

Fantastic! Came out perfectly fluffy. Did not add salt because chili powder mix already had salt. Tossed in a little cumin as well. Thanks for posting, Jessica.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaJuneBug July 01, 2007

Looks like the makings for Spanish Rice not Mexican Fried rice. But if that's what you like, go for it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B P. April 30, 2014

This was good, added some taco seasoning to it and put it inside enchiladas

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cthompsonut April 06, 2014

I cut the tomato sauce in half and increased the chicken broth by that amount. With or without my modification, this dish is simply excellent. Simply delightful, thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
George J. January 29, 2014
Mexican Red Rice