19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was excellent. I used small red bean and used turkey bacon instead of pork. Also added a little bit of smoked paprika for a little more smoky flavor. I could eat a bowl for breakfast, lunch then dinner. Will definitely be making again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelley May 03, 2013

Instead of adding meat, I just put in a couple tablespoons of bacon grease. I also doubled the water and the salt, and they turned out perfect. Easy, cheap and yummy. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keykidder January 10, 2009

This was a very scrumptious recipe. I added a smoked Turkey leg and wing instead of the bacon. Overall I will be adding this recipe to my rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amcneil79 January 13, 2013

Hmmm!! These beans were very good. Made it just as written. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn Buffington April 25, 2009

I am making these for lunch tomorrow and I just tasted them. I had to come on and give my 5 stars for this delicious recipe! I can't wait for tomorrow. I did use lean salt pork instead of the bacon, and cut back to 1/2 tsp. of the red pepper flakes. Plenty hot enough for me! Thanks for sharing this recipe Paula.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
idaframe January 15, 2008

These tasted wonderful and nearly everyone loved them. However, we cut back on the red pepper by quite a bit, and they were still super spicy. That was fine, because we like spicy, but it would have been too much even for us with the full amount! We'll definitely make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook August 02, 2007

These were great! I made them to go with taco salad for a dinner party with friends and everyone loved them. Right before serving I mashed the beans coarsely with a potato masher right in the crockpot and topped it with cheese. Made great refried beans!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akgrown February 12, 2007

I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. It is soooooo delicious and so easy to make. I did leave out the bacon and added 2 ham hocks. The lady at the meat counter where I shopped said that's how here mom always did it. This will become one of our favorites. Thanks PaulaG.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slickchick November 05, 2006

I love this recipe! I have made it 3 times now and each time I am blown away at how good it is! It is also one of the easiest recipes to make and tastes great cold! Thanks for such a great recipe! It is officially a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nemo October 09, 2006
Mexican Red Beans (Crock Pot)