Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Pork and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Pork and Sweet Potato Stew

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2012

      This turned out AMAZING. As others suggested, I added carrots, beans and a can of diced tomatoes with chiles. Delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      This was very good. The cinnamon really makes this dish interesting. I didn't have any poblanos so used about 1.5 chipotles in adobo minced finely. I think next time I will use a bit more. Like others I also added a can of black beans. The directions are a little strange (add in the sweet potatoes in 2 different places, there is no way my sweet potatoes could cook in that little time) but that was a minor issue. Thanks for posting. I'll make this often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2014

      Sooo yummy. I love this. It was quick and easy. Def keeping this on hand for busy nights.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      Excellent one dish meal. I would have given it 5 stars except the cooking times are way off. The pork needs more than 7 minutes, unless you want trichinosis. And the sweet potatoes take at least 20 minutes (more like 30 minutes) to reach even al dente. I added extra hot peppers so it had great heat. The cumin adds good flavor. I skipped the cinnamon as I am not a fan. I also added a few beans to add fiber and protein. My husband says it is definitely a "make-again" recipe. Maybe even for deer camp or dinner company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      Very hearty, tasty, and easy to make. I'll make it again and maybe add some different vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      Yummy! Was a big hit with toddlers and adults. Added a can of diced tomatoes and black beans, and we eased off the spicy stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Absolutely loved this dish! I cut down on the poblano peppers, and it was still pretty spicy, but so delicious! I also added sliced carrots with the onion, peppers, and potatoes. This is definitely a keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      This is a great stew for our cold winters. The only change that I made was to use 2 cans of chopped chile peppers instead the poblano, as that is what I had. The flavors blend wonderfully. The next time I 'll add a can of beans, just to try it out. This recip , as is, is wonderful and the family really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Perfect fall comfort food! The only change I made was to substitute a can of pinto beans for the corn. Can't wait for dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Awesome recipe! I first made it as a "one pot meal" while camping. Today I made it today for a pumpkin carving party. Perfect fall recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      We really enjoyed the titled combo ~ Pork & sweet potatoes are common fare around here, though not in this particular form! Although I pretty much followed the recipe, I did change a couple of things: I didn't peel the potatoes & I did use just 1 poblano pepper! This is definitely on my to-make-again list & the recipe is a great keeper! Thank you for sharing it! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Gimme 5 tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This was really good and super easy! We don't eat a lot of pork in my household so this was a nice surprise! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      I've been on Core for 18months now and love this website! This recipe is delicious I 've made it three times in the past five weeks and the whole family loves it. I made it with pork the first time but have done it with chicken the other times and prefer it. Thanks for a great recipe I'm sharing it with my friends...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      My boyfriend LOVED this. I was not such a fan, but I did like it. If I do make this with pork again, I would probably cook it BEFORE dicing it, to make prep easier, or, I would forego the meat and just use a couple of types of beans. I made this with a can of drained black beans and canned green chiles in place of the poblano peppers. I also used canned "fiesta corn" in place of frozen. This recipe could also use some more tomato flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      This was so yummy Toni, you have to try it....DH is not a sweet potatoe fan so I wasn't sure when I tagged this recipe if he'd complain. Well he LOVED this. I made just as stated, except used a small loin rost that I cubed. Perfect blend of flavors. Will make this again and maybe add some beans as suggested or serve over brown rice. Very good, fairly quick, and with bread and salad, filling meal. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      This recipe was easy and delicious! Instead of pork, I made it with some chicken that I had on hand. I also added a can of black beans (drained) for an extra boost of fiber/protein. Will definitely make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Pork and Sweet Potato Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (425 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 330.0
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    18%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 61.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 786.9 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 25.4 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes