Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Polenta Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Polenta Pie

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2010

      I also substituted veggie crumbles from Morningstar for the turkey. We only had enough polenta for the top, it was still delicious! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      WOW! WOW! I halved this recipe and cooked it in a 9" round casserole dish and made it Vegetarian... AWESOME! I changed a few things- Instead of green pepper, I chopped 2 Jalepenos, Regular oil instead of Olive, No Turkey, No diced tomatoes, just 1 thing of Medium salsa instead, and there was no need for cayenne pepper since I subbed the salsa and jalepenos for heat. Also, I didnt do the fresh tomatoes on top, and I used a Cheddar/Jack Mexican mix cheese and my Boyfriend and Mom LOVED it! I will definately make again! Thanks so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      This was a surprisingly tasty dish! When I looked at the ingredients it didn't seem as though the end result would be anything special. I did make a few changes--so minor that I don't think it would matter. I used ground pork instead of turkey, only used 2 TB of cumin and added 1/4 tsp of ground Jalapeno powder and I left out the green pepper. I topped it with the tomato called for but also added green onions. It came out with lots of flavor and I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      I made this using Microwave Polenta, microwave polenta. I chilled 1/2 the polenta directly in the pie plate & 1/2 in another pan...same as Chia did. Worked really well. This recipe makes so much, I froze 1/2 for a busy night & it worked out really well. Just put 1/2 the meat/bean/spices mix in a freezer bag. After thawing, the beans were a bit more mushy but otherwise tasted great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2014

      A dish the kids will eat always deserves five stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      This was a lovely, healthy meal and we really enjoyed it. I only put cheese on the top rather than between each layer and used low fat cooking spray rather than oil. We'll definitely make this again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2012

      My family likes all these ingredients so I tried it. But it's WAY too much polenta for our tastes and I didn't even use both tubes. Next time I would make thin 1/4" slices for the bottom layer, leave the polenta off the top and I would double the amount of meat from 1 pound to 2. I used ground chicken instead of turkey. Lots of leftovers from our family of 4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      This was absolutely wonderful~!! I followed this recipe to a "T" except I subsituted the meat with Morningstar meal starter because I am a vegetarian. This had so much flavor, my daughter even liked it and she is super picky. I have tons left over and will eat it for lunch and dinner until it's gone! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      This was excellent! Very flavorful, easy,unique, and uses one of my favorite ingredients, polenta. I will add this to my regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      I agree with levicah, it is a surprisingly tasty dish. My family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

    • on June 13, 2007

      This was a filling and easy weeknight dinner. I halved the recipe and had more than enough for my hubby and myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      this was delicious and my kids loved it. i made my own polenta and poured half of it into the 13x9 pan to set. otherwise i followed your directions, but i did substitute basil for the cilantro, we enjoyed this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Polenta Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 480.0
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    26%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 42.8 mg
    14%
    Sodium 286.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.6 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes