Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Pinwheels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Pinwheels

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2008

      These are very good, and I've made them at least a dozen times now. I always combine all the filling ingredients together and then spread the mix on my tortillas, instead of spreading once and sprinkling 4 different ingredients. I've also tried many different flavors of wraps/tortillas and the filling goes well with all of them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Wow--these are going to be a mainstay when I have to bring something to a potluck. I made these for Christmas Eve and they were fab! I couldn't find the pimentos, so I substituted roasted red peppers (chopped). Also, I accidentally bought chopped olives instead of sliced, but they worked fine. I didn't add the chives and just mixed all the ingredients together to spread on the tortillas. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      these are some pretty tasty little guys! i used ranch dressing (to taste) instead of the mix, chopped olives, sweet-hot red pepper relish (replacing pimentos and chilies), and added some taco-seasoned shredded chicken! i also added some sliced green onion tops. i mixed the cream cheese/dressing with the cheddar, relish, and olives, topped with the chicken, sprinkled the green onions, and gave 'em a roll! i did a taste test, without the chicken, and that was very tasty as well. i just wanted to add a bit more bulk!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      Very good appetizer. Even though I forgot the cheese, they were very good. Be sure to chill them as the flavors meld nicely. Served with a cheese quesadilla, Mexicali Salad With Avocado Dressing and Oaxacan Grilled Shrimp.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      This rating is based more on what others said about it then my personal opinion. I've been gluten free for almost a year and therefore never got the chance to really try them! I could have used nongluten wraps, but I didn't- maybe next time. <br/>Anyway, I made them for a party and those that ate them loved them! Especially my husband! I made two batches- the first I followed the recipe as written but added a dash of taco seasoning spices. The second batch made spicier with hot green chilies, jalapeno flavored tortillas, more taco seasoning and added some chopped up cilantro. Both were a hit!<br/>Super easy to make and to eat, I will be making these again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2012

      Very tasty! Used this filling to make "diploma rolls" for my niece's graduation (instead of cutting, wrapped a ribbon around them like a diploma.) Used some suggestions from fellow reviewers. Substituted minced red and yellow peppers for the pimientos, and chopped olives-pretty!. Used green onion & tops-made them kind of onion-y, but that's OK with my family. Added two tablespoons of salad dressing to smoothe it out. Mixed the filling up the night before, then made the rolls the next day. Good melding for flavor! Thank you very much, I hadn't ever made pinwheels before and didn't know what filling I would use. Funny thing, my mother found a pinwheel recipe from the 80's she remembered liking and-guess what?-an earlier version of this recipe! (Used jalepenos instead of canned green chiles...no thank you....and no ranch dressing mix :-( )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      loved being able to make this a day ahead. served as part of a buffet for 20 people and everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      I made these with nonfat cream and cheddar cheese and left out the pimentos, and they went over well. I personally thought they were better at room temperature, even if that meant they'd be a bit gooey. Definitely one of the better pinwheels we've made either way, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      I made these for my daughter's 1st birthday party after reading the reviews. I wanted something easy to make since I already took on the task of making the cake too. These were a hit and super easy. I made them the night before, allowed them to chill in the refridgerator and cut the day of the party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      I thought these were good, not great. Make sure you put ample filling on the tortillas and roll them up tight, so they won't fall apart when cut. I think the filling is best on crackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I served this for a Monday night Football get together and needless to say, they were all gone, FAST! I've been begged to bring them over for a Superbowl Party. This is the BEST recipe on Mexican Pinwheels I have ever found, EVER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      I actually printed this off a long time ago and then couldn't find it. We had a BBQ to go to yesterday so I whipped these up the night before. They were big hit!!! Everyone loved them including me and my hubby. We couldn't get enough of them!! Will make these again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe! I omitted the pimentos and green chilies. I added a layer of cajun roast beef from my local deli. I served the black olives on the side. I also used the onion and chive cream cheese. Me and my friend brough in the new year (08) munching on these little yummies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      I made a double batch of these for Christmas, and they were ok. I would have liked a little more seasoning in the cream cheese. I also kinda felt like I was just eating cream cheese. they looked beautiful (I used red and green tortillas) but it did not have as much pizazz as I expected. I think this recipe would be more to my taste if it had some texture like crumbled up bacon or small diced chicken and maybe a little taco seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Easy to make and a big hit. I used onion and chive cream cheese and 10" tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      I made these for a mexican-themed lunch at work the other day. Everyone really liked them -- including me! Thanks for the delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      I used these for a couples baby shower and they went over equally as well with the men as the women. Very good taste, but nothing that would stand out and cause someone to 'dislike' somethiing mixed it. I plan to serve them again to a large crowd of Sports-Fans showing up to our house this weekend b/c I know that they will be universally liked, easy to make and look great on a plate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      These were fantastic! I used sun dried tomato basil and jalapeno tortillas. Just make sure you roll them as tight as possible. Yum, Yum, Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      I mixed it up with flavored tortillas. The basil and olive oil flavored were gone first, tomato second, and plain was last.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      What a great find! I went out of state to attend my Grandsons graduation. This was the perfect appetizer to make; easy, tasty and everyone thought Grandma was so "Cool" to whip it up. (I did take some fresh chives from home and added them with the dressing mix) Thank you Carla for making me look so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Pinwheels

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 42

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 81.9
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    60%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 14.7 mg
    4%
    Sodium 158.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hidden valley ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites