Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Penne Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Penne

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2002

      How can so few ingredients yield such a delicious meal? This is almost magical. A bit of time browning ground beef and boiling noodles, and just toss in the rest! Ole' Mexican flavored pasta! Not only is this a great tasting dish, but very a very eye-pleasing one as well; textural.... I just made this tonight, and as I speak (type?), my family is sitting in front of the television now, rubbing their full bellies! We will have this again soon, but next time I'll be sure to have a carton of sour cream ready. This dish nearly begs for a dollop of sour cream. Thanks Karen for a perfectly delicious dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2002

      What a great dish that's easy and has only a few simple ingredients. The quick prep time and great flavor make this a super dish for busy week nights. Like several other reviewers, I added a dollop of sour cream when serving. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2002

      This was very simple & tasty! Didn't change anything, and served with sour cream and shredded lettuce on the side. Since there's only two of us, I had plenty to take for lunch the next day. Thanks, Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2003

      This is great! We had some left over and I think it tasted even better the next day! I added some pinto beans (about 1/2 a can) just because I like lots of beans and I also stirred in a small carton of plain yogurt as a substitute for the sour cream that other reviewers recommended! Thanks for a great recipe that I will make over and over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2003

      Excellent! Simple to make, few ingredients and tasted great! What more can you ask for? It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2003

      5 stars for flavor, appearance & ease of preparation. I used cottage cheese & ricotta as the layer cheese and Leerdammer for sprinkling on top. This is an excellent recipe that I will make again Thanks Karen for a repeater! Added Comments - I froze leftovers and had them tonight - 2 weeks later , the dinner was as delicious as the first night. First I defrosted in the fridge over night then I covered the dish with foil and baked in a 350F oven for 30 minutes - It would be even easier to Zap it, Thanks again Karen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2003

      This was great! I followed nmjunko's suggestion and used only one jar of salsa and a can of diced tomatoes. It was perfect for our tastes. I also tried assembling and then freezing it (without the top layer of cheese). It cooked up just fine and I added the top layer of cheese at the end of cooking time. I was able to assemble it while cooking dinner on another night and use it later on a night I knew I wouldn't have time to cook. Keepin' this recipe close at hand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2005

      This is now one of my family's favorite dishes! Very tasty! We were fighting over left-overs! I added a little bit of garlic powder to the beef as it was browning, a dollop of sour cream to the top of each plateful, and black olives. Very, very delicious! I actually had this for a couple years in my recipebook I printed from Recipezaar, just unpacked it, because we moved down here to Georgia. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2003

      A very simple, yet filling meal. I didn't have 2 jars of salsa, and instead used one jar and a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies. I also sauteed onion with the ground beef. Husband loved his with a dollup of sour cream on top. Easy meal for a week night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      Great recipe Karen! Very easy and quick to make, especially on a weeknight. My family loved this one, and I will be keeping it in my files for future busy days...or even not busy days, lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2003

      This was so easy and the whole family liked it! I only had 1 jar of salsa, and two would have made it too hot for the kids anyway, so I added a can of diced tomatoes, some oregano, onion, garlic, salt and cumin. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      Kids ate it! I added a teaspoon of cumin and 3 cloves of garlic to the meat. I also topped it with jalapeno pepper jack cheese. Very yummy! Simple to make and a real family pleaser. Will be making this again. Cheers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2003

      Delicious! I used 1 jar of picante and 1 can of petite diced tomatoes. I also added some ancho powder, garlic powder and corn kernels. I made one pan with meat and one pan without meat. Both were good, but my husband said he actually preferred it without the meat! Obviously this is a quick and versatile dish. Thanks for sharing this one Karen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2014

      This turned out great. We added some Franks hot sauce only bc we like a little spice to our food. It was very simple and easy to make for a week night meal! Will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2014

      I made this for dinner and hubby and I loved it. I did add a can of corn and some onions. I did end up with so.much of the meat mixture that I ended up freezong some of it before I added to the pasta. Will definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2014

      I wanted to try this recipe, but I did not have all the ingredients as listed. I substituted quite a bit. I thought if it did not turn out good, I would not review it. Even with the substitutions, it was AWESOME! I used breakfast sausage because I hadn't defrosted my ground beef. I also used pinto beans because my husband isn't crazy about black beans. As far as cheese goes, I used half cheddar and half provolone (that's what I had and it needed to be eaten!) Lastly, I used elbow macaroni because that's what I had on hand. Delicious! I halved the recipe and had plenty for dinner for two and more for lunch tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      Pumped it up with cumin, garlic and some chilies. Good midweek dinner. DH said sour cream on the side improved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      I made this recipe with one jar of salsa and one can of Rotel. I also used sharp cheddar cheese. It turned out really good. I had leftovers the next day for lunch and even better! I think next time I'll use just a little more cheese, but that's only because my family really likes cheese. Honestly I don't think I'll ever use regular spaghetti sauce because my husband isn't too thrilled about the acidity and sweetness of it. This is a great alternative! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      I Love simplicity... Its not easy for me to get around, and when I do I tire very quickly, This one dish meal is ideal for my children, they will be thankful that its not another frozen meal.... Thank you for sharing...<br/><br/>Chrissy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      Wow this is great. I never thought pasta and salsa would work together, but it does. I used homemade extra spicy salsa, and the heat in the dish was magnificent. I didn't end up mixing the cheese in with the salsa though, and just sprinkled a small amount on top. I'm thinking I might skip the cheese altogether next time, because it didn't add much flavor to the dish. I also used whole wheat pasta, and ground chicken breast instead of ground beef. With the changes I made, I ended up cutting the amount of calories per serving in half. Healthy, spicy, and delicious - my favorite combo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Penne

    Serving Size: 1 (360 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 856.0
     
    Calories from Fat 348
    40%
    Total Fat 38.7 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 19.5 g
    97%
    Cholesterol 146.4 mg
    48%
    Sodium 2184.5 mg
    91%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.6 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 16.5 g
    66%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 49.7 g
    99%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes