Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Night Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Night Salad

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2014

      I had my doubts about this dressing, but this was a great salad!! I threw in just enough cinnamon and cumin to taste good. In the salad I tossed romaine, tomatoes, bell pepper, corn, and onions. Perfect with enchiladas!<br/>...And after making this 4 times, I find out my hubby doesn't like the dressing. Too bad! I really liked it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      Great little salad to go with our tostada. I used mango instead of the avocado but was still great. Loved the sweet and sour flavors together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      This was a nice complement to a chili supper. Not your same old salad. The cinnamon seemed strong when I tasted the dressing, but it blended well with the salad ingredients. A tablespoon of lime juice made it a bit too acidic to my taste, but it may be because I used reduced fat mayo and sour cream. The thicker body of the full-fat counterparts probably a better balance. I added a pinch more sugar and a dash of salt to compensate. Due to household allergies, I substituted toasted almonds for the pecans, which seemed to work well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      What a nice, different salad for a Mexican themed dinner. Everyone thought it was fabulous! We made it exactly as written. The dressing seemed too thick to mix in, but enough tossing mixed it in beautifully. We didn't have any leftover dressing, but we did have some salad left over. Thinking we could always throw it out later, we saved it. Guess what? It was terrific again tonight!! Thank you so much for such a treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I have to confess that no one liked the dressing sorry!!! I had the BF made the dressing, so he immediately nixed the pecans. We just thought that the cinnamon overwhelmed the entire dish. The salad however was fantastic and a great way to mix it up from the same old same old. Served this for four people for a Mexican night and there was just enough for us using roughly two roman hearts. I'll be making the salad again, and I'll try the dressing again per the recipe and hopefully we'll enjoy it more. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Oh so good!!! Made this for a Superbowl party with a Mexican theme. I doubled up the recipe as I had to make enough for 15 people. And we had some left-over too!!! I really think that this recipe makes enough for 10, not 3-6. The flavors just dance together in your mouth. I had some doubts about the dressing....but boy was I wrong!!! The cinnamon adds an interesting twist...don't leave it out!! Thank you for posting, Brooke the Cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      This really surprising combination of ingredients created a delicious salad for my granddaughter's 2nd Birthday party with a Mexican flair. I made mine in the food processor and everyone guessing what the "nutty" flavor was but because the pecans ground up so nicely even the people who claimed not to like nuts loved this salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Absolutely delicious and different! I have used both regular and lowfat mayo and sour cream, and it is equally delicious. Last time I added cubed turkey, and it made a great main course salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      This recipe worked so perfectly for what I needed it for tonight. We have so much lettuce in our garden this year that I am constantly looking for new salad recipes. Tonight I made a three-bean burrito bake in the crockpot which was rather hot. This salad had just the right coolness to it to help ease the burn from the main dish. I am allergic to some nuts, so I substituted almonds in it. They seemed to go well in it. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Very nice salad, loved the dressing. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      What a wonderful combination here! I don't know that I've tried anything quite like it before. I especially enjoyed fresh lime juice combined with the cinnamon - so unusual. I'm pretty sure I haven't ground up nuts for a salad dressing either, but it was really great. Took me more like 10-15 minutes to get the dressing made and everything chopped and thrown together. I did use the orange and thought it was a fine addition. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      I am always looking for somehting to serve with my "Tex-Mex Corn Squares" and this is a perfect accompaniment. A wonderfully refreshing salad..and a great flavour combination!!!! Thanks puppitypup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This is a wonderful salad. The mixture of flavours is perfect. I love the lime coming through in the dressing along with the crunch of the nuts (in my case cashews). I am hoping that the avocado will hold up in the salad leftovers until tomorrow because my plan is to take it for lunch. Thanks for sharing this terrific salad recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      A very nice salad with a nice twist of orange. Thank you puppitypup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      This is a perfect complement to Mexican food. Light tasting, and a little different. Perfect with fajitas. Easy to make too. I used the romaine bagged salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      Oh this was sooooo good!!! And I would definitely recommend adding the orange, cuz the flavor combinations were fantastic. After making the dressing, I didn't think it was very special. But atop this salad...phenomenal!!! Thanks PPP!!!! Made for Spring 2007 PAC!! Editted to add, I thinned the dressing down with a little milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      This was a wonderful salad to start our valentine dinner. The dressing was creamy and thick with a hint of cinnamon flavor.The pecans give it a bit of crunch. I used my immersion blender which made it really easy to put together. Thanks Puppitypup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Night Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 265.7
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    73%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 6.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 243.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 9.9 g
    39%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites