10 Reviews

I have made this many times and have failed to review it. It is awesome. Typically I use a boneless pork sirloin roast, rub it well and allow it to rest in the refrigerator for several hours. Prior to cooking the meat it is removed from the refrigerator and allowed to come to room temperature before roasting. The rub is awesome and I can see myself using it on bone in chicken or ribs. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 22, 2012

Excellent rub mixture. Very quick to assemble; used a large ziplock with 3 lbs of beef ribs to spread the rub quickly and apply pressure to loose rub for penetration. The ribs sat for 30 minutes and were placed into a 250 degree oven for 2 hours. Fantastic flavor. Thank You!COMING BACK TO ADD:Made this again, Mean, and we rubbed it on boneless pork ribs. Put them in the oven at 225° for about an hour and 15 minutes. The flavor is amazing. We had them with yellow rice and homemade refried beans. My husband wants me to thank you for such a great recipe. He wants to put it on everything, lol.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao June 19, 2003

mixed up to let everything meld together. doubled recipe but halved the cumin, it smelled overpowering at first. will come back and rate when we use it! smells wonderful though!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes June 23, 2012

Absolutely fantastic! I usually make chicken mole in the oven with homemade mole sauce, but it will be awhile before I do it again! Great for grilling chicken. I served it with cilantro rice salad and grilled pineapple slices. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mareesme July 10, 2007

This is now a staple ingredient in our home. We often use it as a coating for chicken wings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thespian February 27, 2006

Very nice. Much simpler than the wet moles to put together. While you say 'ancho' pepper, the real ones are only in Mexico. In the States, anchos are usually called pasillas. While the Mexican pasilla is often called a negra in the States. Confusing nomenclature differences, but should work just fine using anything with any of those names.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Comedie June 07, 2005

This was just what I was looking for TY so much. Hubby thinks next time we should use more choc but I loved just as was Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
koala03 April 10, 2005

I'm not going to give this any stars because I didn't use this as a rub. I made it a long time ago and never rubbed anything with it. We recently made tacos and enchiladas and used this to spice those, and it leant a terrific flavor. Although the spice combo was great, I think I might like a little bit more chocolatey-ness- I thought it the undercurrant was a tad *too* faint. Thanks for posting. Someday I will try this as a rub- I swear!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie September 13, 2004

Wow, I thought the Mexican Smoked Chile Marinade was my favorite, but this one makes it a tough call(a bit less preparation time for busy days, too). I brined about 2 lbs of boneless chicken breast with your All-Purpose Mild Brine for Poultry and Pork, rubbed it with the Mole Rub, and indoor-grilled it. Incredible! Now I just need to heist my parents' outdoor grill before the summer's over, because I think barbecuing this chicken would simply put it over the top. I'd venture to say that this would do wonderful things for pork sirloin cutlets as well (a project for another day, perhaps). BTW, this attained "second request status" in my house - DH will eat almost anything once, but if he requests it again, I KNOW it's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess July 30, 2003

Used this rub on Pork cutlets and was very tasty. Perhaps a little hot for my taste but still enjoyable. Trying it with large, breakfast pork sausages tonight to add some zing. I highly recommend trying this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Romany The Cat June 19, 2003
Mexican "Mole" rub