Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2012

      Easy to make and very good to eat. I served them at a Fiesta Party last night - delicous! Several asked for the recipe. I used 3 chilis and it was just enough heat. Will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      Wish I could say this dish was great after reading all the great reviews. Made it for our Christmas Eve and none of us thought it was anything special. Followed the recipe exactly and was greatly disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      As a fan of meatballs, would only suggest the following: use one pan, as all of the flavors will mend together into one beautiful unit and remember that braising longer than 30 minutes not only won't hurt, it's perfect. Think of this as a variation for a wonderful Italian Sunday Sauce. The slower and lower you cook something...the better. I used cumin in the meat mix as well. do what you like. Next time I'm adding cumin spiked short ribs to it and letting it simmer all day. Maybe add some chorizo to the mix as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      These were good. Needed more spices added to the meatballs. I used less tomatoes than it called for. (3cans) Be careful chilis are hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Served this as a main dish w/ Spanish rice. The only changes I made was less chicken broth, maybe 1/2 cup total, I pureed some of the cilantro w/ the sauce as well as served some on top. I also baked the meatballs at 375 for 20. mins. I got at least 50 meatballs out this. Can't wait for leftovers today. Enjoyed by everyone even my husband who is Mexican.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Made half a recipe and it is delicious. Served it with Mexican Rice and Chile Rellenos Casserole. It was a great meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      I made this for an appetizer while having a get together. These went over fabulous and were so easy to throw in a crockpot. I added the full can of chipolte peppers which made for a very spicy meatball. This would be great for a football party. The men really enjoyed them. They went great with their beer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Made these for a shower with a mexican theme, thought the meatballs were bland. Baked instead of fryiing. Followed recipe, don't know if I would make again, but if I did would definitely add more garlic to the meatballs and also some cumin or taco seasoning. The sauce was good, but probably would use 3 chipolte chiles the next time (I used 2).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      I made these for a Christmas party recently and there are absolutely wonderful!! I made the full recipe even though there were only going to be 8 people at the party. 6 people asked if they could take home the leftovers. I served it with authentic Mexican rice and we couldn't get enough! Very easy to make. I didn't have any ground pork, so I just used all ground beef. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I needed a recipe for an office party that my DH didn't tell me about until the night before. Discovered this one on 'Zaar and decided to give it a try. As another reviewer suggested, I browned the meatballs in the oven (350 about 12 minutes). Since DH needed to take them in a crockpot to stay warm, I mixed up the sauce and put the browned meatballs in there. He plugged it in at his office in the morning and by the time the party started they were ready. Everyone raved about them, and even though there were only 16 people at the party (and I did make 40 meatballs) not a single one came home. I can't tell you if they're good or not personally, but the number of requests I've had for the recipe since makes me think they must be. I'll be making them again soon just so *I* can find out myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Fantastic! We actually ate ours as a main meal, served with Mexican Stlye Rice and a side salad...YUM! I made half the sauce n all the meatballs then 1/2 the meatballs went in the freezer for another time. The meatballs hold together great and could be used with many other sauces. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      This is wonderful! I was a bit concerned when the meatballs were quite bland straight out of the oven. So I thought there might be a lack of spices. While building the sauce, I added 1/2 tsp dried sweet basil and 1 tsp. dried parsley. But no worries! Once the meatballs simmer in the sauce for an hour, they absorb all the fabulous flavors!!...and the texture of the balls stay very firm hours later- perfect! Kids could enjoy the "heat" with only 1/2 or 1 chipotles. This recipe made 2 full 17" pans of meatballs for baking - about 100 for me! Yum...leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      The meatballs are delicious and perfect for parties. The addition of the chipotle chiles gives it some smokey spiciness that makes it not your ordianary meatball recipe - definately a keeper!!! PS - Because they are a bit on the spicy side, be careful when serving to children.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2005

      Absolutely delicious! Put in couple of more chilis and baked the meatballs in the oven (400 F) for 30 minutes (no space on the stove), otherwise followed the recipe to the tee. DH asked me to make sure I didn't lose the recipe as he wants me to make more of these! Full five star recipe, many thanks for submitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.4
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    55%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 66.2 mg
    22%
    Sodium 529.6 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 15.0 g
    30%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites