14 Reviews

Easy to make and very good to eat. I served them at a Fiesta Party last night - delicous! Several asked for the recipe. I used 3 chilis and it was just enough heat. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLashier March 18, 2012

Wish I could say this dish was great after reading all the great reviews. Made it for our Christmas Eve and none of us thought it was anything special. Followed the recipe exactly and was greatly disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyofromTx December 25, 2012

As a fan of meatballs, would only suggest the following: use one pan, as all of the flavors will mend together into one beautiful unit and remember that braising longer than 30 minutes not only won't hurt, it's perfect. Think of this as a variation for a wonderful Italian Sunday Sauce. The slower and lower you cook something...the better. I used cumin in the meat mix as well. do what you like. Next time I'm adding cumin spiked short ribs to it and letting it simmer all day. Maybe add some chorizo to the mix as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deedee.delozier May 22, 2012

These were good. Needed more spices added to the meatballs. I used less tomatoes than it called for. (3cans) Be careful chilis are hot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest April 23, 2010

Served this as a main dish w/ Spanish rice. The only changes I made was less chicken broth, maybe 1/2 cup total, I pureed some of the cilantro w/ the sauce as well as served some on top. I also baked the meatballs at 375 for 20. mins. I got at least 50 meatballs out this. Can't wait for leftovers today. Enjoyed by everyone even my husband who is Mexican.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefWendyMG January 28, 2010

I made this for an appetizer while having a get together. These went over fabulous and were so easy to throw in a crockpot. I added the full can of chipolte peppers which made for a very spicy meatball. This would be great for a football party. The men really enjoyed them. They went great with their beer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetkitty December 08, 2008

Made these for a shower with a mexican theme, thought the meatballs were bland. Baked instead of fryiing. Followed recipe, don't know if I would make again, but if I did would definitely add more garlic to the meatballs and also some cumin or taco seasoning. The sauce was good, but probably would use 3 chipolte chiles the next time (I used 2).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Groundhog Gal April 20, 2008

I made these for a Christmas party recently and there are absolutely wonderful!! I made the full recipe even though there were only going to be 8 people at the party. 6 people asked if they could take home the leftovers. I served it with authentic Mexican rice and we couldn't get enough! Very easy to make. I didn't have any ground pork, so I just used all ground beef. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arkbbw2001 February 04, 2008

I needed a recipe for an office party that my DH didn't tell me about until the night before. Discovered this one on 'Zaar and decided to give it a try. As another reviewer suggested, I browned the meatballs in the oven (350 about 12 minutes). Since DH needed to take them in a crockpot to stay warm, I mixed up the sauce and put the browned meatballs in there. He plugged it in at his office in the morning and by the time the party started they were ready. Everyone raved about them, and even though there were only 16 people at the party (and I did make 40 meatballs) not a single one came home. I can't tell you if they're good or not personally, but the number of requests I've had for the recipe since makes me think they must be. I'll be making them again soon just so *I* can find out myself!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VenomousKate January 01, 2008
Mexican Meatballs